June 7, 2002

Keith Klein, Manager U.S. Department of Energy, Richland Operations P.O. Box 550 (A7-50) Richland, WA 99352

Subject: Long Term Stewardship

Dear Mr. Klein,

The Hanford Advisory Board (Board) is looking forward to the issuance of the Hanford Long Term Stewardship Plan. In partnership with the Institutional Controls Plan, the Long Term Stewardship Plan is expected to provide basic guidelines and plans for near- and long-term management of the Hanford Site.

In addition, the Board expects that the Long Term Stewardship Plan will reflect several ongoing efforts: the Cleanup Constraints and Challenges Team (C3T), the Hanford Solid Waste Environmental Impact Statement review and comment, Tri-Party Agreement negotiations, review of the Performance Management Plan for Accelerated Cleanup of the Hanford Site, and the Hanford Advisory Board Exposure Scenarios Task Force.

The planned September 30, 2002 date for issuance of the Long Term Stewardship Plan is too early to include appropriate information from the important, abovementioned efforts and engage the public as was done during the initial development of the plan's draft.

We believe it is unrealistic to expect that the initial Long Term Stewardship Plan will be the final plan in view of the target date for closure of all waste sites for Hanford. We suggest that the plan be issued as Rev. 0, after a public comment period, with the expectation that later revisions will certainly be necessary by the date for final closure at Hanford.

Sincerely,

Todd Martin, Chair Hanford Advisory Board This advice represents HAB consensus for this specific topic. It should not be taken out of context to extrapolate Board agreement on other subject matters.

John Iani, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 10 cc: Tom Fitzsimmons, Washington State Department of Ecology Wade Ballard, Deputy Designated Federal Official, U.S. Department of Energy

Michael Gearheard, Environmental Protection Agency Michael Wilson, Washington State Department of Ecology Martha Crosland, U.S. Department of Energy Headquarters The Oregon and Washington Congressional Delegations

#### U.S. Senators (OR)

Gordon H Smith Ron Wyden

#### U.S. Senators (WA)

Maria Cantwell Patty Murray

## U.S. Representatives (OR)

Earl Blumenauer Peter DeFazio Darlene Hooley Greg Walden

## U.S. Representatives (WA)

Norm Dicks Jennifer Dunn Richard Hastings George Nethercutt

# State Senators (WA)

Pat Hale Mike Hewitt

#### State Representatives (WA)

Jerome Delvin **Shirley Hankins** 

HAB Consensus Advice #130 Subject: Long Term Stewardship Adopted: June 7, 2002

Page 2