Annex 1

Sub-Saharan African Countries Designated as Eligible for the Benefits of AGOA

as of October 2, 2000

Republic of Benin

Republic of Botswana

Republic of Cape Verde

Republic of Cameroon

Central African Republic

Republic of Chad

Republic of Congo

Republic of Djibouti

State of Eritrea

Ethiopia

Gabonese Republic

Republic of Ghana

Republic of Guinea

Republic of Guinea-Bissau

Republic of Kenya

Kingdom of Lesotho

Republic of Madagascar

Republic of Malawi

Republic of Mali

Islamic Republic of Mauritania

Republic of Mauritius

Republic of Mozambique

Republic of Namibia

Republic of Niger

Federal Republic of Nigeria

Republic of Rwanda

Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe

Republic of Senegal

Republic of Seychelles

Republic of Sierra Leone*

Republic of South Africa

United Republic of Tanzania

Republic of Uganda

Republic of Zambia

^{*} Effective date to be decided by USTR.

Sub-Saharan African Countries Designated as Eligible for the Benefits of AGOA and Considered "Lesser Developed Beneficiary Countries" under AGOA

as of October 2, 2000

Republic of Benin

Republic of Cape Verde

Republic of Cameroon

Central African Republic

Republic of Chad

Republic of Congo

Republic of Djibouti

State of Eritrea

Ethiopia

Republic of Ghana

Republic of Guinea

Republic of Guinea-Bissau

Republic of Kenya

Kingdom of Lesotho

Republic of Madagascar

Republic of Malawi

Republic of Mali

Islamic Republic of Mauritania

Republic of Mozambique

Republic of Niger

Federal Republic of Nigeria

Republic of Rwanda

Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe

Republic of Senegal

Republic of Sierra Leone*

United Republic of Tanzania

Republic of Uganda

Republic of Zambia

^{*} Effective date to be decided by USTR.

Sub-Saharan African Countries Eligible for GSP

Note: Countries with an "*" are considered "Least-Developed Beneficiary Developing Countries" under GSP.

Republic of Angola* Republic of Benin * Republic of Botswana

Burkina Faso*

Republic of Burundi* Republic of Cameroon

Republic of Republic of Cape Verde*

Central African Republic*

Republic of Chad*

Federal Islamic Republic of the Comoros*

Democratic Republic of Congo*

Republic of the Congo

Republic of Cote d'Ivoire

Republic of Djibouti*

Republic of Equatorial Guinea*

State of Eritrea*

Ethiopia*

Gabonese Republic

Republic of the Gambia*

Republic of Ghana

Republic of Guinea*

Republic of Guinea-Bissau*

Republic of Kenya

Kingdom of Lesotho*

Republic of Madagascar*

Republic of Malawi*

Republic of Mali*

Islamic Republic of Mauritania*

Republic of Mauritius

Republic of Mozambique*

Republic of Namibia

Republic of Niger*

Federal Republic of Nigeria

Republic of Rwanda*

Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe*

Republic of Senegal

Republic of Seychelles

Republic of Sierra Leone*

Republic of South Africa Kingdom of Swaziland United Republic of Tanzania* Republic of Togo*

Republic of Uganda*

Zambia*

Republic of Zimbabwe

Somalia*