

NEWS MEDIA CONTACT: Jeff Sherwood, 202/586-5806

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Friday, November 5, 2004

Media Advisory

Lawrence Awards Ceremony on Monday, November 8

WASHINGTON, DC – On Monday, November 8, the seven winners of the 2004 E.O. Lawrence Award will each receive a gold medal, a citation and \$50,000. The Department of Energy award, to be presented by Secretary of Energy Spencer Abraham, is given in seven categories for outstanding contributions in the field of atomic energy, broadly defined. The recipients are:

- **Nathaniel Fisch** (nuclear technology category), Princeton University, Princeton, N.J., and Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory (PPPL);
- **Bette Korber** (life sciences category), Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL), Los Alamos, N.M.;
- Claire Max (physics category), University of California, Santa Cruz, and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL), Livermore, Calif.;
- Fred Mortensen (national security category), Los Alamos National Laboratory;
- **Richard J. Saykally** (chemistry category), University of California, Berkeley, and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory;
- Ivan Schuller (materials research category), University of California, San Diego; and,
- **Gregory W. Swift** (environmental science and technology category), Los Alamos National Laboratory.

WHO: Secretary of Energy Spencer Abraham

Acting Under Secretary of Energy David Garman

Seven Lawrence Award recipients

WHAT: 2004 E.O. Lawrence Awards ceremony and reception

WHEN: Monday, November 8, 4 p.m. Eastern

WHERE: State Department Diplomatic Reception Rooms

2201 C St., NW Washington, D.C.

The ceremony and reception that follows are open to the media. Reporters interested in attending the ceremony or having interviews with award winners before the ceremony should contact DOE's press office.

-DOE-