Home Information Sharing & Analysis Prevention & Protection Preparedness & Response Research Commerce & Trade Travel Security & Procedures Immigration
About the Department Open for Business Press Room
Current National Threat Level is elevated

The threat level in the airline sector is High or Orange. Read more.

Homeland Security 5 Year Anniversary 2003 - 2008, One Team, One Mission Securing the Homeland

Holiday Travelers 311 for Carry-ons

Activities & Programs

get e-mail updates Get e-mail updates when this information changes

Activities and programs listed below include links from this web site and from Department of Homeland Security component agency Web sites.


Airline Security Screening  (TSA). Highly trained Security Officers operate at over 700 security checkpoints and nearly 7,000 baggage screening areas each day. They use the latest technology and equipment combined with continually improving screening techniques.

Advance Passenger Information System (APIS). Established for commercial airline and vessel operators, APIS enhances border security by providing officers with pre-arrival and departure manifest data on all passengers and crew members.

Secure Flight Program (TSA). Secure Flight is designed to conduct uniform prescreening of passenger information against federal government watch lists for domestic and international flights.

3-1-1 On Air Travel (TSA). Information for travelers on airline carry on restrictions.

Crew Member Self Defense Training Program (TSA). Available to any actively employed flight or cabin crew member.

Federal Air Marshal Service (FAMS/TSA). Promotes confidence in the nation’s civil aviation system through the effective deployment of Federal Air Marshals (FAMs) to detect, deter, and defeat hostile acts targeting U.S. air carriers, airports, passengers, and crews.

Back To Top


Rail Security (TSA).  Focusing on greater information sharing, increased training and public awareness, and providing greater assistance and funding for rail transit activities.

TSA Mass Transit Group. Protecting the nation's mass transit passengers, employees, and properties.

Back To Top


Homeland Security Traveler Redress Inquiry Program (DHS TRIP) is an easy to use, secure, online service to help legitimate travelers resolve travel issues related to identity.

Model Ports of Entry. In partnership with the private sector and State and local governments, the Departments of Homeland Security and State will introduce a pilot "model airport" program to ensure a more welcoming environment for foreign visitors. The pilot projects will be at Houston and Dulles airports.

Registered Traveler Program (TSA). The Transportation Security Administration and private industry are developing the Registered Traveler program to provide expedited security screening for passengers who volunteer biometric and biographic information.

US VISIT. A continuum of security measures that begins overseas and continues through arrival and departure from the United States to ensure that the person crossing our border is the same person who received the visa.

Visa Waiver Program. New passports issued by Visa Waiver Program countries must include a digital photo, or the traveler will be required to get a visa. A digital photo is one that is printed on the page, not a photo that is glued or laminated into the passport.

Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative. Will require all travelers to and from the Americas, the Caribbean, and Bermuda to have a passport or other accepted document that establishes the bearer’s identity and nationality to enter or re-enter the United States.

Trusted Traveler Programs

The Trusted Traveler Programs provide expedited travel for pre-approved, low risk travelers through dedicated lanes.

NEXUS Program (CBP). Provides expedited travel via land, air or sea to approved members between the U.S. and Canada border.

SENTRI Program (CBP). Provides expedited travel to approved members between the U.S. and Mexico border.

FAST Program (CBP). Provides expedited travel to approved commercial truck drivers between the U.S and Canada and U.S. and Mexico borders.

Global Entry Program (CBP). Expedited screening and processing for pre-screened International travelers entering the United States.

Back To Top

This page was last reviewed/modified on August 5, 2008.