skip navigation links 
 Search Options 
Index | Site Map | FAQ | Facility Info | Reading Rm | New | Help | Glossary | Contact Us blue spacer  
secondary page banner Return to NRC Home Page
Our Organization
The Commission
Committees and Boards
Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
Commission Staff Offices
Commission Appellate Adjudication
Congressional Affairs
General Counsel
International Programs
Public Affairs
Inspector General
Chief Financial Officer
Executive Director for Operations (EDO)
EDO Offices
New Reactors
Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
Nuclear Regulatory Research
Federal and State Materials and Environmental Management Programs
Nuclear Reactor Regulation
Nuclear Security and Incident Response
Region I
Region II
Region III
Region IV
Information Services
Computer Security
Human Resources
Small Business and Civil Rights
Additional Info
Organizational Abbreviations

NRC Organization Chart PDF Icon

Related Links
Direction-Setting and Policymaking Activities
Commission Documents

The Commission

The NRC is headed by five Commissioners appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate for five-year terms. One of them is designated by the President to be the Chairman and official spokesperson of the Commission.



Commissioner Kristine L. Svinicki
Commissioner Kristine L. Svinicki
Commissioner Gregory B. Jaczko
Commissioner Gregory B. Jaczko
Chairman Dale E. Klein
Dale E. Klein
Commissioner Peter B. Lyons
Commissioner Peter B. Lyons

Former NRC Commissioners


The Chairman is the principal executive officer of and the official spokesman for the NRC. As principal executive officer, the Chairman is responsible for conducting the administrative, organizational, long-range planning, budgetary, and certain personnel functions of the agency. The Chairman has ultimate authority for all NRC functions pertaining to an emergency involving an NRC license. The Chairman's actions are governed by the general policies of the Commission.

The Commission as a collegial body formulates policies, develops regulations governing nuclear reactor and nuclear material safety, issues orders to licensees, and adjudicates legal matters.


Commission Business Federal Intergovernmental Matters
Annette L. Vietti-Cook
Secretary of the Commission
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Mail Stop O-16G4
Washington, DC 20555-0001
Spiros C. Droggitis
Assoc. Dir. for Federal & External Affairs
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Mail Stop O-14E1
Washington, DC 20555-0001
(301) 415-1969

(301) 415-1776


Privacy Policy | Site Disclaimer
Friday, March 28, 2008