skip navigation links 
 Search Options 
Index | Site Map | FAQ | Facility Info | Reading Rm | New | Help | Glossary | Contact Us blue spacer  
secondary page banner Return to NRC Home Page
Nuclear Reactors
Regulated Reactors
Power Reactors
Research and Test Reactors
Regulated Activities
Operating Reactors
Operator Licensing
New Reactors
Operator Licensing for New Reactors
Specific Plants of Interest
Quick Links
Nuclear Reactors Quick Links
Maintenance Effectiveness
Mutiple/Repetitive Degraded Cornerstone Column
PWR Sump Performance
Reactor Coolant System Weld Issues

Technical Specifications
Power Uprates
Digital I&C

Power Reactors

The NRC regulates commercial nuclear power plants that generate electricity. There are several types of these power reactors. Of these, only the Pressurized Water Reactors (PWRs) and Boiling Water Reactors (BWRs) are in commercial operation in the United States. Select a type from the list below to view a description and diagram of each.

There are currently 104 licensed to operate nuclear power plants in the United States (69 PWRs and 35 BWRs), which generate about 20% of our nation's electrical use. For more information about operating reactors, see the location map, list of power reactors, and NRC Project Managers.

As part of operational experience monitoring, the agency will periodically encounter certain reactor systems or management areas that could be improved. For additional information on areas related to safety that the agency is working to improve and upgrade, see Reactor Safety Focus Areas.

Privacy Policy | Site Disclaimer
Friday, August 01, 2008