Advanced Search

Emergency Information for ICE Employees

Hurricane Graphic

In Focus

IMAGE Program

Info Updates

National Threat Advisory


threat advisory
Significant Risk of Terrorist Attacks

Report Suspicious Activity:


Information for families of ICE detainees:

Contact Information

Public Information

ICE Performance Based National Detention Standards (PBNDS)

US Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) has spent the last eighteen months reviewing the INS National Detention Standards (NDS), redrafting them into a performance based format. Currently there are 38 NDS, which were initially developed and implemented in September 2000. Two standards were added over time. The new ICE Performance Based National Detention Standards (PBNDS) are comprised of 41 standards, which will be implemented over the next year to ensure that ICE continues to provide excellent care to those in custody.

The performance based standards, now common in the detention industry, allow reviewers to examine key indicators of a detention facility's level of compliance with a particular standard. They focus on expected outcomes and contain clear practices and outcome measures. Each outcome measure demonstrates how well a detention facility's protocols, procedures, and practices are achieving the desired result. The 2008 PBNDS represent a natural progression and build upon the 2000 NDS. The enhanced standards will take full effect in all facilities housing ICE detainees in January 2010.

For more information on detainees, detainee facilities, and standards of care, please follow these links:

  Last Modified: