WINDandSEA Index |  Previous page |  Current Topics |  Teachers and Students Corner |  NOAA Photosites | 

Topics: Weather thru Wetlands

Note: These links lead to resources not on the NOAA Library website.

Weather

Arctic and Antarctic Meteorology

Arctic Climatology and Meteorology Glossary
Hosted by the National Snow and Ice Data, compiled by Nina A. Zaitseva for the Arctic Climatology Project Arctic Meteorology and Climate Atlas.
http://nsidc.org/arcticmet/glossary/

Byrd Polar Research Center, at the Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
Research at the Center focuses on the role of cold regions in the global climate system.
http://www-bprc.mps.ohio-state.edu

Cold Regions Bibliography Project
Hosted by the American Geological Institute (AGI), the Cold Regions Bibliography Project includes the Antarctic Bibliography and the Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology, covering Antarctic research and exploration and Cold Regions engineering and physical science information.
http://usgspubs.georef.org/

Polar pointers from Ohio State University.  A comprehensive listing of links to polar meteorology,  oceanography, and other earth sciences.
http://polarmet.mps.ohio-state.edu/cgi-bin/catSearch.cgi

ASOS (Automated Surface Observing System)

AWIPS (Advanced Weather Interactive Processing System)

Aviation Weather

Federal Meteorological Handbook No. 1. METAR-TAF information, weather codes, etc.
http://metar.noaa.gov/table_master.jsp?sub_menu=yes&show=text_handbook.jsp&title=title_handbook

Beaufort Scale for Wind

Careers in Meteorology

Clouds

Cloud and precipitation guide from the University of Illinois Urbana Campus.  Photographs with associated texts of many  different cloud types.
http://ww2010.atmos.uiuc.edu/(Gh)/guides/mtr/cld/home.rxml

Cloud climatology from NASA including links to various satellite global cloud sensors.
http://www.giss.nasa.gov/research/intro/rossow_01/

Cloud glossary from Texas A&M
http://www.met.tamu.edu/personnel/faculty/orville/Glossary.htm  (from Texas A&M)

Clouds and the Energy Cycle - a NASA developed page.
http://eospso.gsfc.nasa.gov/ftp_docs/Clouds.pdf

Houze's Cloud Atlas from the
University of Washington, Department of Atmospheric Sciences
http://www.atmos.washington.edu/gcg/Atlas/

Lidar research group at the University of Wisconsin.  Mapping cloud height and extent by volume imaging lidar.  Technically oriented site; however, many images of data products from various lidar systems.
http://lidar.ssec.wisc.edu/

Shuttle Views the Earth: Clouds from Space.
Hosted by the Lunar and Planetary Institute
http://www.lpi.usra.edu/publications/slidesets/clouds.html

Courses, Education and Training in Meteorology

Course in Atmospheric and Oceanic Science.  A nice set of lecture notes in Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences 100 from the University of Wisconsin.  Links to many images illustrating concepts.  Also check out the Outreach Index.  Really nice case studies of various weather events.
http://www.aos.wisc.edu/education/content/current.html

University of Illinois On-Line Guide to Meteorology.  Well-done tutorial with lots of diagrams and photographs.
http://ww2010.atmos.uiuc.edu/(Gh)/guides/mtr/home.rxml

Northern Latitude Meteorology Web site provides education and training materials on meteorological topics of interest to those in the northern latitudes, in particular those in Canada, Alaska, and states in the northern U.S.
http://meted.ucar.edu/norlat/

Penn State On-Line Courses, Tutorials and Lecture Notes
http://www.ems.psu.edu/Courses/Meteo200/tutorials.htm (Penn State Meteo 200 Tutorials)
http://www.ems.psu.edu/~diercks/meteo418w.html 

Fire Weather

National Interagency Fire Center
http://www.nifc.gov/

NOAA Fire Weather Information Center
A roundup of various NOAA Web sites and information on the latest weather forecasts, including satellite images and graphics.
http://w1.noaa.gov/fireweather/

NOAA's National Weather Service Fire Weather Page
Latest fire weather warnings, forecasts, and outlooks.

NOAA News - "NOAA WARNS NEW YEAR WILL BRING SERIOUS THREAT OF WILDFIRES"
http://www.noaanews.noaa.gov/stories2005/s2553.htm

National Weather Service Boise Fire Weather page
http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/boi/fwx.php

NOAA's Operational Significant Imagery Fire Events 2006 Index
http://www.osei.noaa.gov/Events/Fires

Flood

Flood plain management website  from the Flood Plain Management Association. Click on "Flood Basics" to access The Learning Center.
http://www.floodplain.org/

Flood information page from Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
http://www.fema.gov/hazard/flood/index.shtm

University Corporation for Atmospheric Research flood site including on-line documents, statistics, links, and other information. http://sciencepolicy.colorado.edu/socasp/floods.html

Forecasting

National Weather Service Offices
Provides links to all NWS regional offices, local forecast offices, river forecast centers, national offices, and regional climate centers.
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/organization.php#hq

UNISYS Weather Processor.  Current United States weather, forecasts for various meteorological parameters, archived meteorological data.
http://weather.unisys.com/

National Centers for Environmental Prediction http://aviationweather.gov/">Aviation Weather Center
Hydrometeorological Prediction Center (flooding events)
Ocean Prediction Center(Oceans and Great Lakes)
Storm Prediction Center (violent weather)
Tropical Prediction Center (tropical cyclones)

Forecasting hurricanes: this is the Dr. William Gray site at the Tropical Meteorological Project, Colorado State University.
http://typhoon.atmos.colostate.edu/Forecasts/

World weather five-day weather forecasts for cities on six continents, all continents and Pacific islands. Weather site maintained by USA Today.
http://www.usatoday.com/weather/basemaps/wworld1.htm

Hazard Statistics

Hurricane Damages in the United States: 1925-1995
http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd/Landsea/USdmg/

U.S. Natural Hazard Statistics provide statistical information on fatalities, injuries and damages caused by weather related hazards. Compiled by the Office of Services and the National Climatic Data Center.
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/om/hazstats.shtml

Heat

Urban forest effect on heat islands from NASA.
http://wwwghcc.msfc.nasa.gov/land/heatisl/heatisl.htm

Urban Heat Island from the University of Wisconsin at Madison.
http://cimss.ssec.wisc.edu/wxwise/heatisl.html

Climate of 2006: June in Historical Perspective
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/research/2006/jun/jun06.html

"First-ever observations of a live giant squid in the wild"
by T. Kubodera and K. Mori, Proceedings of the Royal Society B, 2005, available on-line.
http://www.pubs.royalsoc.ac.uk/proc_bio_home_link_3.shtml

Cephalopods at the National Museum of Natural History
Includes The "In Search of Giant Squid" on-line exhibit, "Squid Links," video and imagery of mystery squid previously taken in four ocean basins: Atlantic Ocean, Indian Ocean, Gulf of Mexico, and Pacific Ocean, and bibliographic information.
http://www.mnh.si.edu/cephs/

Discovery Channel Feature: Chasing Giants: On the Tail of the Giant Squid
http://dsc.discovery.com/convergence/giantsquid/giantsquid.html

NOAA Investigates Giant Deep-Sea ‘MYSTERY SQUID', 2001 news release
http://www.noaanews.noaa.gov/stories/s845.htm

Hurricanes and Typhoons

NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratories Hurricane Research Division.
http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd/

FAQ: Hurricanes, Typhoons, and Tropical Cyclones. This is an outstanding FAQ site put out by NOAA's Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratories.
http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd/tcfaq/tcfaqHED.html

Climate Prediction Center: 2006 Atlantic Hurricane Outlook
http://www.cpc.noaa.gov/products/outlooks/hurricane.shtml

Hurricanes - landfall maps, descriptionsof individual storms, etc. from the National Climatic Data Center hurricane information
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/ol/climate/severeweather/hurricanes.html

Canadian Hurricane Centre - besides concern with storms that pose threats to Canada's East Coast, this site provides U.S. warnings and advisories as well.
http://www.ns.ec.gc.ca/weather/hurricane/

Colorado State University Tropical Meteorology Project
http://typhoon.atmos.colostate.edu/

Federal Emergency Management Agency Tropical Storm Page. Primarily safety measures for actions before, during, and after a hurricane.
http://www.fema.gov/hazard/hurricane/index.shtm

Historical Hurricane Tracks from NOAA's Coastal Services Center
Interactive mapping application that allows search and display of Atlantic Basin and East-Central Pacific Basin tropical cyclone data.
http://hurricane.csc.noaa.gov/hurricanes/index.htm

Hurricane bibliography  and hurricane brochures (and other natural phenomena) from the Library of the NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratories.  The bibliography is organized for teachers and has age-range appropriate information while the brochures are a great source of meteorological information and practical advice.
http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/general/lib/lbi.html (bibliography)
http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/general/lib/hurricbro.html (brochures)

Hurricane Hunters' Home Page. United States Air Force Hurricane Hunters provide a virtual flight into the eye of a hurricane.
http://www.hurricanehunters.com/welcome.htm

Hurricane Katrina information
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/wind/katrina.html

NOAA Storm Watch page - Hurricane Rita
http://weather.gov/rita/

Hurricane Rita Storm Tide Quick Look
from NOAA's Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services
http://co-ops.nos.noaa.gov/rita.html

Hurricane tracking charts from NOAA's National Hurricane Center
Standard NOAA tracking charts for Eastern Pacific, Full Atlantic, and Western Atlantic.
http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/ (scroll to bottom of page)

Monthly Weather Review Annual Reviews of Atlantic Hurricanes from 1851-present from NOAA's Regional Miami Libraries website
http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/general/lib/lib1/nhclib/libpage13.htm

UNISYS Weather/Hurricane Data  index page.  Includes hurricane archives back to 1886 and includes tracks of each individual storm.  Includes tracks for eastern Pacific and western Pacific hurricanes and typhoons, Atlantic aviation forecasts showing pressure and wind fields,  and current satellite imagery for the Atlantic and Pacific.
http://weather.unisys.com/hurricane/

USA Today Guide to Hurricane Information.  An informative site with glossary, links, etc.
http://www.usatoday.com/weather/huricane/whur0.htm

Hydrology

The Hydrologic Cycle - Part of the University of Illinois online guide meteorology series.
http://ww2010.atmos.uiuc.edu/(Gh)/guides/mtr/hyd/home.rxml

National Hydrology Dataset from the
U. S. Geological Survey (USGS)and U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
A comprehensive set of digital spatial data that contains information about surface water features such as lakes, ponds, streams, rivers, springs and wells in the United States.
http://nhd.usgs.gov/

Office of Hydrologic Development
National Weather Service, NOAA
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/oh/

U.S.G.S. - Water Resources and information for major watersheds around the world.
Water Resources mission is to provide water information that benefits the Nation's citizens: publications, data, maps, and applications software.
http://water.usgs.gov/

Ice and Snow

Global Lake and River Ice Phenology from the National Snow and Ice Data Center
Databse contains freeze and breakup dates and other ice cover date for 750 lakes and rivers.
http://nsidc.org/data/lake_river_ice/

Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute, Russian institution
http://www.arcdev.neste.com/Aari/Aari.html

Blizzards of '96 from the National Snow and Ice Data Center
http://nsidc.org/snow/blizzard/

Coast Guard International Ice Patrol. This site includes a FAQ page, a history page, TITANIC information, pictures, mission statement, etc., etc. Really a fun page.
http://www.uscg.mil/lantarea/iip/home.html

Lake Effects Snow - The Veterans' Day Snowstorm of November 9-14, 1996.  A case study of a severe lake effect storm from the University of Illinois.  Personal accounts, news clippings, technical interpretations.
http://ww2010.atmos.uiuc.edu/(Gh)/arch/cases/961109/home.rxml

National Ice Center
http://www.natice.noaa.gov/

National Snow and Ice Data Center - World Data Center A for Glaciology
http://www-nsidc.colorado.edu/index.html

International Government Weather Service Sites

Journals

Lightning

Discover Lightning from the Vaisala Group's Thunderstorm Business Unit, specializing in lightning mapping and warning systems and services.
http://www.lightningstorm.com/ls2/discover/index.jsp

Langmuir Laboratory for Atmospheric Research - lightning, hail, and rain research.  Home of lightning attracting rockets.
http://www.ee.nmt.edu/~langmuir/
http://bat.nmt.edu/

Lightning: Background and more from the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR)
http://www.ucar.edu/communications/infopack/lightning/

Lightning Links from the
National Weather Service Nashville office
http://www.srh.noaa.gov/ohx/educate/lightning.html

Lightning Activity Level
Experimental product developed by Newport, NC, WSFO.
http://www.erh.noaa.gov/mhx/gfe/griddedfire.html

NASA lightning detection from space.  A site with numerous facets including discussions of early space-based lightning observations, sensors, plans for new sensors, etc.
http://thunder.msfc.nasa.gov/

National Weather Service Lightning Safety
http://www.lightningsafety.noaa.gov/more.htm

National Lightning Safety Institute. A non-profit organization involved with consulting engineering, education and research activities related to the hazards posed by lightning. 303-666-8817
http://lightningsafety.com/

Links

Local Washington Area Weather

CapitalWeather.com is a web portal dedicated to providing comprehensive weather information for the Washington, D.C. area.
http://www.capitalweather.com

Hagerstown Weather from Greg Keefer, Hagerstown Weather Observer.
http://i4weather.net/index.html

Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Lab Weather Home Page
http://www.jhuapl.edu/weather/apl/index.html

National Weather Service Forecast Office Washington/Baltimore. This office is located in Sterling, Virginia near Dulles International Airport.
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/er/lwx/

PRESTO: Precipitation Summary and Temperature Observations for the Washington, D.C. & Baltimore, MD Area, from the NWS Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services
http://205.156.54.206/om/presto

WeatherNet4 from NBC Channel 4 Weather District of Columbia, Virginia and Maryland. Current and historical weather conditions for many schools in and around the D.C. metro area.
http://www.instaweather.com/wrc/Default.asp?cid=9

Marine Weather

Links to marine weather forecasts through Ohio State University
http://twister.sbs.ohio-state.edu/textdata.html

Ocean Prediction Center of NOAA National Centers for Environmental Prediction.
http://www.opc.ncep.noaa.gov/

National Data Buoy Center
Real-time weather and sea conditions from various strategically placed oceanographic buoys in U.S. coastal and offshore waters.
http://www.ndbc.noaa.gov/

National Weather Service, Marine and Coastal Weather Services
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/om/marine/home.htm

Oceanweather Inc.  Description of products and services and hourly up-dated free products.
http://www.oceanweather.com/data/

USA Today ocean weather, wind, waves, etc.
http://www.usatoday.com/weather/wmarine0.htm

Monsoon

GEWEX/GAME - Homepage of Global Energy and Water-Cycle Experiment/GEWEX Asian Monsoon  Experiment  from Nagoya University, Japan.
http://www.hyarc.nagoya-u.ac.jp/game/

Monsoon On-Line from the
Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology
http://www.tropmet.res.in/~kolli/MOL/
http://www.met.rdg.ac.uk/cag/MOL/index.html (Mirror site)

SouthWest Area Monsoon Project - SWAMP.  A study of the monsoon in the southwestern United States.
http://www.nssl.noaa.gov/projects/swamp/

NEXRAD

USA Today report on completion of NEXRAD radar weather array within the United States.
http://www.usatoday.com/weather/wsr57.htm

Organizations

National Weather Association
http://www.nwas.org/

UCAR - the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research.  A consortium of over 60 universities involved in the atmospheric sciences plus other academic and corporate members.
http://www.ucar.edu/ucar/

World Meteorological Organization
http://www.wmo.ch/

Radio Weather Forecasts and Warnings

Safety

Rip Currents: Break the Grip of the Rip from NOAA's National Weather Service. Contains rip current overview, safety tips, forecasts, photos, headlines/saving lives , survivor stories, links, statistics, and glossary. Also available are our full color brochure on rip current safety and free artwork for a safety sign.
http://www.ripcurrents.noaa.gov

Safety Publications from the
NOAA Office of Climate, Water and Weather Services for
tornadoes, flash floods, floods, hurricanes, thunderstorm/lightning, and winter snowstorms from the
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/om/brochures.shtml

Safety tips for flood victims from the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission.
http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/pubs/fema/flood.html

Satellite Information

NESDIS Office of Satellite Operations Home Page. Links to polar orbiting and GOES sites.
http://www.oso.noaa.gov/

Severe Weather

Australian severe weather site - includes information on tornadoes, tropical cyclones, etc.
http://australiasevereweather.com/

Australian Sky and Weather
http://www.stormchasers.au.com

NOAA's National Severe Storms Laboratory, one of NOAA's research laboratories, ivestigates all aspects of severe weather.
http://www.nssl.noaa.gov
http://www.nssl.noaa.gov/papers/ (publications)

Weather Safety and Survival guide from the Norman, Oklahoma National Weather Service Forecast Office
http://www.srh.noaa.gov/oun/wxsafety/

Severe Storm Advanced Spotter's Guide with many photographs and diagrams from the University of Illinois.
http://ww2010.atmos.uiuc.edu/(Gh)/guides/mtr/svr/home.rxml

Storm Prediction Center, part of NOAA's National Weather Service (NWS) and the National Centers for Environmental Prediction (NCEP). Its mission is to provide timely and accurate forecasts and watches for severe thunderstorms and tornadoes over the contiguous United States.
http://www.spc.noaa.gov/

An Introduction to Storm Observation and Reporting, an illustrated guide to identifying severe storms.
http://www.srh.noaa.gov/oun/stormspotting/

Storm Track Online
http://www.stormtrack.org/

Thunderstorm page from USA Today.
http://www.usatoday.com/weather/wtsm0.htm

TORRO - UK Tornado and Storm Research Organization.  Interesting site that highlights UK and  other European tornado information.
http://www.torro.org.uk/

Tornadoes

SeverePlotv2: Historical Severe Weather Report Analysis Program
A graphical database of severe thunderstorm and tornado occurences in the U.S. atafiles are available from 1950 - 2002, with annual updates expected around July of each year. The program allows customized plots of severe weather reports
from NOAA's Storm Prediction Center (SPC)
http://www.spc.noaa.gov/software/svrplot2/

Storm Events Database
Search for tornado events by state and county from 1950-current.
from NOAA's National Climatic Data Center
http://www4.ncdc.noaa.gov/cgi-win/wwcgi.dll?wwEvent~Storms

Storm Prediction Center. This is an excellent site that discusses storm forecasting and also includes Severe Local Storm Statistics including a listing of tornadoes from 1950-1994 and then updates through the last month.
http://www.spc.noaa.gov
http://www.spc.noaa.gov/climo/ - Tornado Statistics

Tornado photos from the National Severe Storms Laboratory and the National Weather Service
http://www.photolib.noaa.gov/nssl/index.html  (NSSL collection)
http://www.photolib.noaa.gov/historic/nws/index.html (NOAA Weather Service collection)

Tornadoes statistics from
NOAA's National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/severeweather/tornadoes.html/

Warnings for areas in the United States

NOAA Radio Warnings
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/nwr/

Weather Map

An explanation of the surface weather map with description and meaning of various symbols. Produced by the University of Wisconsin.
http://www.meteor.wisc.edu/~hopkins/aos100/sfc-anl.htm

Reading Weather Maps from the University of Illinois
http://ww2010.atmos.uiuc.edu/(Gh)/guides/maps/home.rxml

Wind

Hurricane Preparedness: High Winds from the National Hurricane Center
http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/HAW2/english/high_winds.shtml

Climatic Wind Data for the United States
Summary for the period 1930-1998, including peak wind gust velocities
from NOAA's National Climatic Data Center
http://www5.ncdc.noaa.gov/documentlibrary/pdf/wind1996.pdf

Wind Research from the National Renewable Energies Laboratory
http://www.nrel.gov/wind/

Wind Chill Temperature Index, Wind Chill Chart, and FAQs from the National Weather Service
http://www.weather.gov/os/windchill/index.shtml

Wind Chill page for Educators from the
Annenberg/Corporation for Public Broadcasting Learning.org
http://www.learner.org/exhibits/weather/act_windchill/

Winds: Measuring Ocean Winds from Space from
NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Comprehensive site on winds including information on the use of scatterometry, images and anamation, education, FAQs, data, publications, and mission descriptions.
http://winds.jpl.nasa.gov/

Wind energy resources from the Department of Energy
http://www.energy.gov/energysources/wind.htm

Winter Weather

All About Snow from the National Snow and Ice Data Center
http://nsidc.org/snow/

The Blizzards of 1996 from the National Snow and Ice Data Center.
http://nsidc.org/snow/blizzard/

Ice Storm -  An occupational health and safety site from SAREC, a Canadian environmental and health consulting firm.  Includes information on hypothermia and carbon monoxide dangers among other topics.
http://www.sarec.ca/ice/

Snow - California Snow Surveys from the California Resources Agency, Department of Water Resources.
http://cdec.water.ca.gov/snow/

Snow - Lake Effect Weather Page from the Buffalo National Weather Service Office - this has lots of good information as well as current ratings of snow events by the "Lake Flake Scale."
http://tgsv5.nws.noaa.gov/er/buf/lakeffect/indexlk.html

Northeast Snowfall Impact Scale, or NESIS
Jointly developed by Paul Kocin of The Weather Channel and Louis Uccellini of the National Weather Service (Kocin and Uccellini, 2004), NESIS ranks the severity of an East Coast snowstorm based on snowfall amount and the population of the affected areas. NESIS allows scientists to quickly assess a snowstorm’s potential impact, compare it with a storm of the past and assign it one of five categories: Notable, Significant, Major, Crippling or Extreme.
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/research/snow-nesis/

Snow Data
Extensive snow information - monitoring, climatology, data - from National Climatic Data Center
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/research/monitoring.html#snow

Snow - Snow-Storm on Mount Shasta by John Muir.  A description by John Muir of being caught in a snowstorm on one of the highest mountains in California.  Originally transcribed and prepared by John Ono of the College of the Siskiyous in California.
http://pantheon.cis.yale.edu/~thomast/texts/snow/snow.html

FEMA Winter Storms and Extreme Cold
http://www.fema.gov/hazard/winter/index.shtm

Winter Storms (General) - The Greatest Storms of the Century , winter weather in DC, Virginia, and Maryland from the Sterling, Virginia, National Weather Service Forecast Office includes descriptions of many winter storms including blizzards, ice storms, and the the Ash Wednesday Storm of 1962.
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/er/lwx/Historic_Events/StormsOfCentury.html
http://www.erh.noaa.gov/er/lwx/Historic_Events/DC-Winters.htm  (D.C. winters)
http://www.erh.noaa.gov/er/lwx/Historic_Events/va-winters.htm  (Virginia winters)
http://www.erh.noaa.gov/er/lwx/Historic_Events/md-winter.html  (Maryland winters)

Winter Storms (General) - Pacifica, California, Police Department provides good advice on what to do and what to have ready in the event of a California coastal storm.
http://www.ci.pacifica.ca.us/POLICE/storms.htm

U.S. Climate Normals: Freeze/Frost Data from NOAA's National Climatic Data Center
http://cdo.ncdc.noaa.gov/cgi-bin/climatenormals/climatenormals.pl?directive=prod_select2&prodtype=CLIM2001&subrnum=

Winter Storms (General) - The Weather Channel Winter Storms page - much useful information.
http://www.weather.com/encyclopedia/winter/

Winter Storms (General) - Winter Weather Winter Weather Information (2006-2007) from the Illinois State Water Survey
http://www.sws.uiuc.edu/hilites/wx/

Wetlands

Association of State Wetland Managers.
http://www.aswm.org/index-alt.htm

Center for Watershed Protection -  major concern is protecting and restoring urban watersheds, particularly in reference to storm water runoff problems.
http://www.cwp.org/

Environmental Monitoring and Assessment Program (EMAP) from EPA.  The selected site is concerned only with estuaries although there are many additional EMAP locations.
http://www.epa.gov/emap2/html/dataI/estuary/

Estuarine Research Federation.
http://www.erf.org/

Florida wetlands and ecology links.
http://www.floridaplants.com/ecorest.htm

National Estuary Program from the Environmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov/owow/estuaries/

National Wetlands Inventory of the U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
http://www.fws.gov/nwi/

Wetlands from NOAA Fisheries Office of Habitat Conservation provides information on coastal wetlands.
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/habitat/habitatprotection/wetlands/index.htm

Society of Wetland Scientists.
http://www.sws.org/

A Different Type of Wetland in the South Bay, an article on wetlands in the South San Francisco Bay area, from the San Francisco Bay Bird Observatory.
http://www.stanford.edu/~rawlings/pool.htm

Wetlands education system from Purdue University and the EPA.  A nice educational site.
http://pasture.ecn.purdue.edu/agen521/epadir/wetlands/menu.html

    "The people of the United States are no longer strangers to that dreaded aerial monster, the TORNADO.  A single experience of this awful convulsion of the elements suffices to fasten the memory of its occurrence upon the mind with such a dreadful force that no effort can efface the remembrance of it.  The destructive violence of this storm exceeds in its power, fierceness, and grandeur all other phenomena of the atmosphere."  John P. Finley, 1887, in the introduction to his classic work, TORNADOES.

Previous Page
Back to Index