WINDandSEA Index |  Previous page |  Next page |  Current Topics |  Teachers and Students Corner |  NOAA Photosites | 

Topic: Oceanography

Note: These links lead to resources not on the NOAA Library website.

Academic Institutions

Dalhousie University
Department of Oceanography
Many good links and research project descriptions.
http://oceanography.dal.ca/index.html

Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institution Inc.
Not strictly an educational institution but primarily a non-profit research institution that has its own fleet of ships and submersibles.
http://www.hboi.edu/

Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University.
http://www.ldeo.columbia.edu/

Scripps Institution of Oceanography (home page)
http://scilib.ucsd.edu/sio/guide/megasites.html (linking page)
Links to much of the rest of the oceanographic world.
http://www-sio.ucsd.edu/

State Sea Grant Offices
Related organizations linking site. From this page, one can search the directory or view a list of contact information in each state.
http://www.nsgo.seagrant.org/other/sgdirectory.html

Texas A&M University Oceanography.
Links to much of the rest of the oceanographic world. Of particular interest are Gulf Links which is a linking site to information on the Gulf of Mexico, International research ship information, and UNOLS.
http://www-ocean.tamu.edu/
http://www-ocean.tamu.edu/Nav/links.html

University of California at Santa Cruz 
Full descriptions of undergraduate and graduate programs.
http://oceansci.ucsc.edu/

University of Hawaii
School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology.
http://www.soest.hawaii.edu/

University of Rhode Island, Graduate School of Oceanography
http://www.gso.uri.edu

University of Washington School of Oceanography
http://www.ocean.washington.edu

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
http://www.whoi.edu

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Deep Submergence Laboratory
http://www.dsl.whoi.edu/

Acoustic Ocean Thermometry

Acoustics

Antarctic and Southern Ocean

Antarctic Cooperative Research Center
University of Tasmania.
http://www.antcrc.utas.edu.au/antcrc/main.html

Atlas of the Southern Ocean.
Incorporates oceanographic information from the most recent German and Russian cruises to points south of Latitude 30. A high quality electronic product.
http://www.awi-bremerhaven.de/Atlas/SO/Deckblatt.html

Polar pointers
Ohio State University
A comprehensive listing of links to polar meteorology,  oceanography, and other earth sciences. (Click 'Polar Pointers' in left frame.)
http://www-bprc.mps.ohio-state.edu/

Arctic Ocean

Arctic Council
Arctic Council
High-level intergovernmental forum that provides a mechanism to address the common concerns and challenges faced by the Arctic governments and the people of the Arctic.
http://www.arctic-council.org/

Arctic Theme Page
NOAA
Links to Arctic related data from widely distributed national and international research institutions.
http://www.arctic.noaa.gov

Polar pointers
Ohio State University.
A comprehensive listing of links to polar    meteorology, oceanography, and other earth sciences. (Click 'Polar Pointers' in left frame.)
http://www-bprc.mps.ohio-state.edu/polarpointers/PolarPointers.html

Bering Sea Climate
NOAA Fisheries-Oceanography Coordinated Investigations 
Ecological and climatic indices for the Bering Sea which will serve as measures of climate and ecosystem status for the Bering Sea
http://www.beringclimate.noaa.gov/

Buoy and Drifter Oceanography

National Data Buoy Center
Part of the National Weather Service
http://seaboard.ndbc.noaa.gov/ (Home)
http://seaboard.ndbc.noaa.gov/faq.shtml (FAQ)

Global Drifter Buoy Centerand Data Assembly Center.
NOAA
http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/phod/dac/

Texas Automated Buoy System (TABS)
Texas General Land Office and Texas A&M. 
This system monitors offshore wind and currents and helps predict the trajectory of oil and chemical spills.
http://www.gerg.tamu.edu/Tglo/

Array for Real-time Geostrophic Oceanography (Argo)
Argo is a global array of 3,000 free-drifting profiling floats that will measure the temperature and salinity of the upper 2000 m of the ocean. This will allow continuous monitoring of the climate state of the ocean, with all data being relayed and made publicly available within hours after collection. View maps/get data at Argo Information Centre also: NOAA AOMLS's ARGO site, and NOAA PMEL's ARGO site
http://www-argo.ucsd.edu/

Careers in Oceanography and Marine Science

Careers in Oceanography, Marine Science & Marine Biology
Scripps Institute - UCSD
Very thorough list of links to many sources.
http://scilib.ucsd.edu/sio/guide/career.html

Careers & Jobs in Marine Biology & Oceanography
Stanford University.
More links to many sources.
http://www-marine.stanford.edu/HMSweb/careers.html

Careers in Marine Science
Contains interviews answers to FAQs and links. Also provides more of a Canadian perspective.
http://oceanlink.island.net/career/career2.html

Women in Marine Science
http://www.womenoceanographers.org/

Course in Oceanography

The Practical Oceanographer - A Guide to Working at Sea.
Johns Hopkins University
Not a course per se, but still a good read for chief scientists, principal investigators, post-docs, graduate students,  undergraduates who wish to conduct oceanography at sea, or just anyone curious about how oceanography is conducted from research vessels.  Much sound advice can be found in this work.  A personal view from Dr. Rick Chapman of Johns Hopkins University.
http://fermi.jhuapl.edu/book/index.html

Data Centers

British Oceanographic Data Centre
http://www.bodc.ac.uk/

Canada's Marine Environmental Data Service
http://www.meds-sdmm.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Deutsches Ozeanographisches Datenzentrum, Hamburg
Marine Environmental Database, North Sea and Baltic Sea by 1° rectangles Atlantic Ocean by 10° rectangles, stations of the Baltic Monitoring Programme, cruise inventories and North Sea oil spill information
http://www.bsh.de/Oceanography/Climate/Actual.htm

Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center
Automated numerical meteorological and oceanographic (METOC) analyses and predictions.
https://www.fnmoc.navy.mil/

French National Oceanographic Data Centre: IFREMER/SISMER
Catalogues, information and data request forms, and hyperlinks to other data sources
http://www.ifremer.fr/sismer/sommaire_e.html

Japan Oceanographic Data Center
http://www.jodc.go.jp/

Marine Information Service (MARIS), Netherlands
North sea research projects (oceanography, biology, hydrography, geology, chemistry, meteorology) Offshore oil and gas activities, sand and gravel extraction, and a European directory of marine Environmental Data
http://www.maris.nl/

NASA Physical Oceanography Distributed Active Archive Center.
http://podaac.jpl.nasa.gov/

ORDINAFRICA
Ocean Data and Information Network for Africa
http://www.odinafrica.net/

SADCO - South African Data Centre for Oceanography
http://fred.csir.co.za/ematek/sadco/

United States National Oceanographic Data Center
http://www.nodc.noaa.gov

El Nino-Southern Oscillation

El Nino Theme Page
PMEL
FAQ page, links to data sources, El Nino forecast, etc. Award-winning site as the Grand Champion winner of the best WWW Page in NOAA and Federal Showcase Award.
http://www.pmel.noaa.gov/tao/elnino/nino-home.html

El Nino resource page
COAPS Library at Florida State University
This site has bibliographies, on-line publications, links to other pages, etc.
http://www.coaps.fsu.edu:80/lib/elninolinks/

El Nino bibliography
Florida State University library
http://www.coaps.fsu.edu/lib/elninobib/

ENSO Experiment
NOAA Office of Global Programs.
Exploring links between ENSO and human health.
http://www.ogp.noaa.gov/mpe/csi/cvhh/ensoexp.htm

The ENSO SIGNAL
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Published four times a year by the Environmental and Societal Impacts Group with support from  NOAA's Office of Global Programs.
http://www.isse.ucar.edu/signal/index.html

1997-1998 El Nino page
NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
http://podaac.jpl.nasa.gov/el_nino/

Ocean Surface Topography from Space, El Nino/La Nina 1997-2001
NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
http://topex-www.jpl.nasa.gov/science/enso97/el_nino_1997.html

Satellite Altimetry data from TOPEX/POSEIDON
processed by the NOAA Laboratory for Satellite Altimetry
T traces the evolution and continuation of the 1997 El Nino event.  In particular, check the Eastern Equatorial Pacific diagrams shown for each week since April 1997.
http://ibis.grdl.noaa.gov/SAT/hist/index.html

Glossary

Global Ocean Observing System (GOOS)

Gulf of Mexico

Minerals Management Service Gulf of Mexico Region.
Check out the topic index.
http://www.gomr.mms.gov/index.html (home)
http://www.gomr.mms.gov/homepg/regulate/environ/env_pge2.html  (Environmental Program)

National Estuary Program - Gulf of Mexico
http://www.epa.gov/owow/estuaries/

Gulf Stream

Gulf Stream velocity
Delft University of Technology Institute of Earth-Oriented Space Research
Derived from satellite altimetry data. Map produced weekly.
http://www.deos.tudelft.nl/altim/gulfstream/

Hydrothermal Vents

International Ice Patrol

Joint Global Ocean Flux

Links

Cornell University Oceanography on the Web
http://www.geo.cornell.edu/geology/classes/Geo104/Oceanweblinks.HTML

Florida State University COAPS Program
Linking page to universities, organizations, etc.
http://coaps.fsu.edu/

Jet Propulsion Laboratory PODAAC linking page
F for oceanography, climate, and earth sciences.
http://podaac.jpl.nasa.gov/info/links.html#1

NASA Global Change Master Directory
Links to oceanographic data and information.
http://gcmd.gsfc.nasa.gov/Resources/pointers/pointwais.html

NOAA Environmental Information Services
Oceanography linking page.
http://www.esdim.noaa.gov/ocean_page.html

Ocean Drilling Program linking page.
http://www-odp.tamu.edu/odpwww.htm

Ocean Portal 
UNESCO
A high level directory of ocean data and information maintained by the International Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange Program of the International Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO.
http://oceanportal.org

COAPS (Center for Ocean-Atmospheric Prediction Studies) Data Products.
Florida State University.
http://coaps.fsu.edu/nav.php

Polar pointers
Ohio State University. 
A comprehensive listing of links to polar meteorology,  oceanography, and other earth sciences. (Click 'Polar Pointers' in left frame.)
http://www-bprc.mps.ohio-state.edu/

Scripps Institution of Oceanography linking page
http://scilib.ucsd.edu/sio/

OceanExpert (or the Global Directory of Marine (and Freshwater) Professionals
Contains over 10652 records added on voluntary basis. It is intended to be a tool for scientists, policy makers and anyone who needs to contact a marine or freshwater professional.
http://www.iode.org/oceanexpert/

Mapping the Seafloor

GLORIA sidescan sonar imagery
USGS
Covers Gulf of Mexico
http://coastalmap.marine.usgs.gov/gloria/index.html

National Geophysical Data Center
Bathymetry, topography, and global relief imagery.
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/mgg/mggd.html

NOAA Ship DISCOVERER and USGS sidescan and seismic profile mapping
Juan de Fuca Ridge area.
http://walrus.wr.usgs.gov/gordaridge/disco.html

NOAA Ship McArthur and USGS sidescan sonar mapping
Monterey Bay Marine Sanctuary.
http://walrus.wr.usgs.gov/mcarthur/index.html

Seafloor topography derived from satellite altimetry data
NOAA and Scripps Institution of Oceanography.
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/mgg/mggd.html
also: http://topex.ucsd.edu/marine_topo/mar_topo.html

Seafloor Mapping Surveys.
USGS Coastal and Marine Geology Program
http://coastalmap.marine.usgs.gov/regional/contusa/index.html

Ocean Drilling Program

Ocean Drilling Program linking page.
http://www-odp.tamu.edu/odpwww.htm

Ocean Modeling

OPA - Ocean General Circulation Model
Laboratoire d'Océanographie Dynamique et de Climatologie (LODYC)
http://www.lodyc.jussieu.fr/opa/

Parallel Ocean Program Simulation part of Arctic Modeling Effort
Naval Postgraduate School.
http://www.oc.nps.navy.mil/sbi/amodel.htm

Parallel Ocean Program (POP)
Los Alamos National Laboratory
http://www.lanl.gov/orgs/t/t3/codes/pop.shtml

Research Vessels

NOAA Research and Survey vessels.
http://www.moc.noaa.gov/

Research ship schedules
University of Delaware
This is the definitive listing of virtually all major research ship schedules.
http://www.researchvessels.org/

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution -
Includes their ships, the submersible ALVIN, and remotely operated vehicles.
http://www.whoi.edu/marops/index.html

RIDGE Program

Satellite Oceanography

OSCAR: Ocean Surface Current Analyses- Real time.
Presents viewable near-realtime ocean surface currents derived from satellite altimeter and scatterometer data
http://www.oscar.noaa.gov/.

Satellite Altimetry - European Remote-Sensing Satellite page includes discussion of satellite altimetry and links to oceanographic and geophysical uses of data.  Pages are from the Delft University of Technology Institute of Earth-Oriented Space Research,
http://www.deos.tudelft.nl/ (Home)
http://www.deos.tudelft.nl/signal/altim.shtml (discussion of altimetry method)
http://www.deos.tudelft.nl/altim/gulfstream/ (Gulf Stream studies)

Satellite Altimetry - Global seafloor topography from satellite altimetry from NOAA and Scripps Institution of Oceanography. http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov:80/mgg/image/seafloor.html

Satellite Altimetry - NOAA Laboratory for satellite altimetry.
http://ibis.grdl.noaa.gov/SAT/SAT.html

Satellite Altimetry - Sea-Level analysis using the European Remote-Sensing Satellite altimeter from the European Space Agency.
http://www.esa.int/esaCP/GGGOESF3AEC_Protecting_1.html

Satellite Altimetry - Topex/Poseidon oceanographic satellite home page.
http://topex-www.jpl.nasa.gov/

Satellite Oceanography
Naval Postgraduate School.
This is an educational page showing images of phytoplankton production, sea-surface temperature, wave height, sea-level change, etc., all derived from satellite imagery.
http://www.oc.nps.navy.mil/~icon/frames/satellite_frame.html

SeaWiFS Home Page
Satellite system determining ocean color, nutrients, temperature, etc.
http://oceancolor.gsfc.nasa.gov/SeaWiFS/

NOAA Center for Sponsored Coastal Ocean Research
Partner in the Ocean Color project.
http://www.cop.noaa.gov/

SeaWiFS Project Image Gallery at NASA.
http://oceancolor.gsfc.nasa.gov/FEATURE/gallery.html

Sea Surface Temperature

Sea Surface Temperature information
Navy Fleet Numerical Oceanographic Center.
Includes archival information that traces evolution of recent El Nino, ice information, and other parameters.
https://www.fnoc.navy.mil/PUBLIC/ (example) 

Near real-time sea surface temperature maps
NESDIS
Both regional and global extent. Black and white contour and colorized contour maps available.
http://www.osdpd.noaa.gov/PSB/EPS/SST/contour.html

Northwestern Atlantic Ocean, Gulf of Mexico, Chesapeake Bay regional images
Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory
Including Gulf Stream and archive for look-back ability.
http://fermi.jhuapl.edu/avhrr/sst.html

Periodically updated sea surface temperature global images
University of Wisconsin.
http://www.ssec.wisc.edu/data/sst/latest_sst.gif

SeaWiFS

SeaWiFS Project Satellite System
Ocean color, nutrients, temperature, etc.
http://oceancolor.gsfc.nasa.gov/SeaWiFS/BACKGROUND/

SeaWiFS Project image gallery at NASA
NASA
http://oceancolor.gsfc.nasa.gov/FEATURE/gallery.html

Space Shuttle Oceanography

Oceanography from the space shuttle
Photos and explanations of various observations made by the astronauts.
http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/gallery/index.html

TOPEX/POSEIDON Satellite

Tides and Sea Levels

National Tidal Centre
Flinders University of South Australia 
Provides tide predictions for Australia, Antarctica and the Pacific.
http://www.ntf.flinders.edu.au/

Tides Online
Immediate graphical and tabular water level and meteorological data from NOS water level stations located along the projected path of severe storms such as hurricanes
http://tidesonline.nos.noaa.gov/

Tides and Tide Prediction
Hyperlinks to online tide predictor Websites and tide prediction software
http://scilib.ucsd.edu/sio/tide/

NOAA's Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services (CO-OPS)
Oceanographic Products and Services Division of the National Ocean Service of NOAA.  This office is the source of tide predictions for the United States, tidal current information, real-time P.O.R.T.S information, and tidal bench mark information.
http://co-ops.nos.noaa.gov

CO-OPS Verified/Historical Water Level Data
http://www.co-ops.nos.noaa.gov/data_res.html

CO-OPS Tide Publications
NOAA, National Ocean Service, Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services
Includes the CO-OPS Tide Glossary in PDF format
http://co-ops.nos.noaa.gov/pub.html

CO-OPS Tide Predictions
Developed for the United States by the National Ocean Service of NOAA.
http://co-ops.nos.noaa.gov/tide_pred.html

CO-OPS Our Restless Tides
An explanation of the causes of tides by the National Ocean Service.
http://co-ops.nos.noaa.gov/restles1.html

NOAA Sea Levels Online
http://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/sltrends/sltrends.shtml

Admiralty EasyTide
UK Hydrographic Office (UKHO)
Tidal predictions for over 6000 ports worldwide. Tidal predictions for the current day and the next consecutive 6 are provided free of charge.
http://easytide.ukho.gov.uk/easytide/EasyTide/SelectPort.aspx/

WWW Tide and Current Predictor
University of South Carolina
http://tbone.biol.sc.edu/tide/sitesel.html

Tides.INFO
Tide predictions from around the globe.
http://www.tides.info/

TOGA-TAO

Tsunami

Science of Tsunami Hazards
Links to tsunami sites at NOAA, various other government agencies, and universities.
http://www.sthjournal.org/

Tsunami FAQ's from the Tsunami Museum
An informative FAQ page that discusses tsunamis in layperson's terminology. Concentrates on the Hawaiian Islands.
http://www.tsunami.org/faq.htm

Tsunami FAQ's from PMEL
Includes links to other sites expanding on various topics associated with tsunamis.
http://www.pmel.noaa.gov/toga-Tao/ThemePages/nws/tsunami-nws.html

National Tsunami Hazard Mitigation Program
Real-time data received from the tsunami early warning network of moored buoys
http://www.pmel.noaa.gov/tsunami-hazard/

Tsunami Warning System.
http://www.geophys.washington.edu/tsunami/general/warning/warning.html

Tsunami Data at the National Geophysical Data Center
The tsunami databases consists of two files: the event database and the runup database. The event database contains information on the tsunami such as the cause of the tsunami, the source location, the magnitude and intensity of the tsunami, etc. The runup database contains information on locations where tsunami effects occurred.
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/seg/hazard/tsu.shtml 

VENTS Program

Waves and Swell

California Swell Models
Scripps Institution of Oceanography.
http://cdip.ucsd.edu/?nav=recent&sub=nowcast

Global Wave Watch 3 (WW3) forecasts out to 120 hours.
Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center
https://www.fnmoc.navy.mil/PUBLIC/WW3/index.html

Global Significant Wave Height Map
Oceanweather Inc.
http://www.oceanweather.com/data/index.html

Surfing Information Center
Surfline
Links to surfing Web sites worldwide.
http://surfinfo.surfline.com/

NOAA NCEP worldwide wave predictions
http://facs.scripps.edu/surf/gblpac.html

Photos of waves
from the infamous Wedge.  Commercial site with beautiful photography.
http://www.romanoskyphoto.com/html/wild_wedge1.html

Marine Forecast Products from NOAA Ocean Prediction Center
include Regional and High Seas Text and Graphic Products for western Atlantic and eastern Pacific Oceans.
http://www.opc.ncep.noaa.gov/

Wave Modeling
Surfline 
Use of NOAA data to generate user friendly wave information for East Coast and Gulf of Mexico.  Good site for those wondering about surf conditions for a weekend trip to the shore.
http://surfinfo.surfline.com/html/wave.html

WOCE

http://www.soc.soton.ac.uk/OTHERS/woceipo/ipo.html (International Project Office)
http://oceanography.tamu.edu/Research/WOCE/uswoce.html (U. S. Project Office at Texas A&M)
http://woce.nodc.noaa.gov/wdiu/  (NOAA, Global Data Resource)

"Man stands with bowed head in the presence of nature's visible grandeurs, such as towering mountains, precipices, or icebergs, forests of immense trees, grand rivers, or waterfalls.  He realizes the force of waves that can sweep away light-houses or toss an ocean steamer about like a cork.  In a vessel floating on the Gulf Stream one sees nothing of the current and knows nothing but what experience tells him; but to be anchored in its depths far out of the sight of land, and to see the mighty torrent rushing past at a speed of miles per hour, day after day and day after day, one begins to think that all the wonders of the earth combined can not equal this one river in the ocean." John Elliott Pillsbury in the introduction to his 1891 classic work, "The Gulf Stream."

Next Page
Back to Index