WINDandSEA Index |  Previous page |  Next page |  Current Topics |  Teachers and Students Corner |  NOAA Photosites | 

Government Agencies

Agencies with Environmental Information

Canada - Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the oceanic agency of the Canadian government
http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/index.htm

National Archives and Records Administration
http://www.archives.gov/index.html

National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) - descendant of the Defense Mapping Agency/National Imagery and Mapping Agency - CIA mapping and imagery, etc.
http://www.nga.mil/

National Institute of Standards and Technology, Technology Administration, U.S. Department of Commere
http://www.nist.gov/

National Science Foundation - supports environmental research through many programs
http://www.nsf.gov/

National Sea Grant - a partnership between the nation's universities and NOAA - links to information about Sea Grant programs, publications, the National Sea Grant Library, etc.
http://www.seagrant.noaa.gov/

Office of Naval Research
http://www.onr.navy.mil/default.asp (Home)
http://www.onr.navy.mil/sci_tech/32/322/default.asp (Ocean, Atmosphere, and Space Research page)

Smithsonian Institution
http://www.si.edu/

United States Army Corps of Engineers
http://www.usace.army.mil/
http://www.usace.army.mil/information.html#CX (Centers of Expertise)

United States Coast Guard
http://www.uscg.mil/default.asp

United States Environmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov/

United States Federal Emergency Management Agency - flood data, flood plain maps, etc. as well as many joint publications and programs with NOAA
http://www.fema.gov/ (Home)
http://www.fema.gov/business/nfip/mscjumppage.shtm (flood maps)

United States Fish and Wildlife Service, U. S. Department of the Interior
http://www.fws.gov/

United States Geological Survey, U. S. Department of the Interior - many ocean, coastal, and mapping programs
http://www.usgs.gov/

United States Geological Survey Biological Resources
http://www.usgs.gov/network/#biology

United States Geological Survey Center for Coastal & Watershed Studies (St. Petersburg, Florida) - mapping, current, estuary studies, some deepsea
http://coastal.er.usgs.gov/index.html

United States Geological Survey Coastal and Marine Geology (Woods Hole, Massachusetts) - mapping, current, estuary studies, some deepsea, climate studies, etc.
http://woodshole.er.usgs.gov/ (USGS Woods Hole Field Center)
http://marine.usgs.gov/ (Coastal and Marine Geology Program)

United States Geological Survey Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Data Center - satellite images of the Earth and aerial photos of the U.S.
http://eros.usgs.gov/

United States Geological Survey Western Region Coastal and Marine Geology Program (Menlo Park, California) - mapping, current, estuary studies, some deepsea
http://walrus.wr.usgs.gov/
 

Links to Federal and State Government Agencies and Information

E-gov - improved Internet-based technology for better access to government information. Also search the site to link to NOAA and other government sites (U.S. Office of Management and Budget).
http://www.whitehouse.gov/omb/egov/

Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR)
http://acquisition.gov/comp/far/index.html

Federal Register - the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/index.html

Federal statistics from many federal agencies
http://www.fedstats.gov/index.html
http://www.stat-usa.gov/  (statistics from the U.S. Department of Commerce)

FedLaw - Federal laws and regulations on line - searchable database of U.S. Code and related material
http://www.thecre.com/fedlaw/default.htm

FedWorld - a program of the U.S. Department of Commerce for locating government information (site maintained by National Technical Information Service)
http://www.fedworld.gov/

Google U.S. Government Search - search all .gov and .mil sites
http://www.google.com/ig/usgov

Government Information Locator Service (GILS) - helps identify, locate, and describe publicly available Federal information resources
http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/gils/index.html

GPO Access - a service of the U. S. Government Printing Office that provides access to information products produced by the Federal Government. Link to Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, U.S. Government Online Bookstore, Federal Depository Library Program, Ben's Guide to U.S. Government, etc.
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/index.html

National Technical Information Service - the nation's largest central source for government-sponsored scientific, technical, engineering, and related business information. NTIS has more than 3 million titles in its collection.
http://www.ntis.gov/index.asp
http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.aspx  (search the NTIS collection of products for sale, 1964-present)

The U. S. House of Representatives
http://uscode.house.gov/  (United States Code published by the U. S. House of Representatives Office of the Law Revision Counsel)

U.S. Office of Personnel Management - Hiring, firing, retiring...
http://www.opm.gov/index.asp

Science.gov - The U.S. Government's Science Web Portal
http://www.science.gov/

USA.gov - The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal
http://www.usa.gov/

Great Lakes

Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
http://www.glerl.noaa.gov/

Great Lakes Information Network - maintained by the Great Lakes Commission
http://www.great-lakes.net/

Great Lakes Program of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov/glnpo/

Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway System - information on the maritime route from the Great Lakes to the Atlantic Ocean
http://www.greatlakes-seaway.com/en/home.html

Great Lakes Science Center of the U. S. Geological Survey
http://www.glsc.usgs.gov/

Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement between the United States and Canada
http://www.on.ec.gc.ca/glwqa/

Maritime History of the Great Lakes from the Halton Hills Public Library in Ontario
http://www.hhpl.on.ca/greatlakes/

Our Great Lakes from Environment Canada
http://www.on.ec.gc.ca/greatlakes/
 

History of Oceanic and Atmospheric Science

NOAA Historical Image Collections - thousands of photographs and images of operations of the Coast and Geodetic Survey, National Weather Service, and National Marine Fisheries Service/NOAA Fisheries
http://www.photolib.noaa.gov/

NOAA History Page - writings and collections from the Coast and Geodetic Survey, National Marine Fisheries Service/NOAA Fisheries,  and National Weather Service.  Includes institutional histories and also pertinent writings concerning the atmospheric and oceanic sciences from such luminaries as Benjamin Franklin and Louis Agassiz.  This site has diaries, biographical sketches, speeches, autobiographies, and personal accounts of individuals associated with the above bureaus as well as links to historical image collections.
http://www.history.noaa.gov/

Biographical Information

Agassiz, Louis - picture and biographical note from the University of California Museum of Paleontology
http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/history/agassiz.html

Audubon, John James - biography of the naturalist and painter from the National Audubon Society
http://www.audubon.org/nas/jja.html

Bigelow, Henry Bryant - biography of a founder of oceanography
http://www.bigelow.org/hbbigelow.html

Carson, Rachel - picture and biographical sketch of the great ecologist
http://www.rachelcarson.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=bio

Benjamin Franklin: Glimpses of the Man from the Franklin Institute
http://sln.fi.edu/franklin/

Henry, Joseph - first Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution and a major personality in the development and evolution of American science.  This is a comprehensive site that includes a special section on Joseph Henry's contribution to the formation of a national weather service.
http://siarchives.si.edu/history/jhp/jhenry.html

Hooke, Robert - English biologist, early microscopist, physicist, inventor, and experimental scientist
http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/history/hooke.html

Hopper, Grace Murray - the great U. S. Navy computer scientist
http://www.cs.yale.edu/homes/tap/past-women-cs.html#Grace%20Hopper

Kane, Elisha Kent  -  nineteenth century American naval officer and explorer who captured the imagination of the American public with his quest for the Open Polar Sea.  A Master's Thesis from the University of Texas at Austin.
http://www.ekkane.org/sawin/sawin.htm

MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive - biographies, topics, chronologies, bibliography.  Biographies of hundreds of mathematicians including Benjamin Peirce, Charles Peirce, William Ferrel, Gauss, and Bessel. The "Mac" is the genuine article as this site has been developed by the  School of Mathematical and Computational Sciences, University of St. Andrews, Scotland.
http://www-history.mcs.st-andrews.ac.uk/history/index.html

Peirce, Charles Sanders - arguably the most important of all American philosophers.  He had and continues to have a profound influence on the Philosophy of Science.  The Peirce Edition Project, Arisbe, and the Peirce Organization sites all have different thrusts concerning his life and influence on American science.
http://www.iupui.edu/~peirce/  (Peirce Edition Project from the University of Indiana)
http://www.cspeirce.com/  (Arisbe - home of the International Peirce Telecommunity)
http://www.peirce.org/

Seattle - Chief Seattle of the Northwest coast - many famous environmental quotes
http://www.powersource.com/gallery/people/seattle.html

Women in science - 4000 Years of Women in Science from the University of Pennsylvania Museum in Philadelphia
http://www.astr.ua.edu/4000WS/

Women mathematicians - biographies from Agnes Scott College
http://www.agnesscott.edu/lriddle/women/women.htm
http://www.agnesscott.edu/lriddle/women/alpha.htm  (Alphabetical Index of Women Mathematicians)

Women of Science at the Marine Biological Laboratory at Woods Hole - highlights early women marine biologists
http://www.mbl.edu//publications/women_index.html

General Historical Information

American Memory website at the Library of Congress - photos, biographies, and more.  Civil War photos of Dorr-Donn tripod at Chattanooga, topographers at Yorktown, George Wise, Amos Kendall, Levi Woodbury, etc.
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

Archives II - researcher information for those wishing to access records at Archives II, the National  Archives and Records Administration facility at College Park, Maryland
http://www.archives.gov/dc-metro/college-park/researcher-info.html

Astronautics History from NASA - includes history of development of meteorological and oceanographic satellites and also provides insight into the evolution of environmental science from space
http://www.hq.nasa.gov/office/pao/History/astronautics.html

Astronomy, History of - a site from the University of Bonn containing many links to history of astronomy and history of science
http://www.astro.uni-bonn.de/~pbrosche/astoria.html

Beyond Discovery - The Path from Research to Human Benefit from the National Academy of Sciences - includes case histories of such things as the global positioning system, ozone depletion studies, and biological breakthroughs
http://www.beyonddiscovery.org/

The Center for History of Physics
http://webster.aip.org/history/

Explorers - series on Antarctic explorers from Antarctic Philately
http://www.south-pole.com

Jefferson's Legacy: A Brief History of The Library of Congress
http://www.loc.gov/loc/legacy/

Sea History: Maritime History on the Internet from National Maritime Historical Society
http://www.seahistory.org/html/maritimeinternet.htm

World Wide Web - The Birthplace of the Web from the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (V. 19, No. 16/Friday, August 16, 1996 of Fermi News)
http://www.fnal.gov/pub/ferminews/FermiNews96-08-16.pdf
 

History of Fisheries and Fisheries Science

Baird's Legacy: The History and Accomplishments of NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service, 1871-1996
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/history/stories/legacy/legacy2.html

NOAA Fisheries Historical Information - also includes many photos and a timeline of the National Marine Fisheries Service from 1870 on
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/history/
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/history/stories/whistory.html (Woods Hole: The Early Years)

West Coast Salmon History a Canadian Fishing Company history site
http://www.goldseal.ca/wildsalmon/history.asp
http://www.goldseal.ca/wildsalmon/salmon_history.asp?article=6 (a pictorial history of the Gulf of Georgia Cannery - one of the largest salmon and herring canning facilities in the world. A Parks Canada historic site)
http://www.goldseal.ca/wildsalmon/salmon_history.asp?article=3 (A Turbulent Industry: Fishing In British Columbia)
 

History of Mapping, Charting, and Surveying

Channel Islands cultural and natural history from the - Santa Cruz Island Foundation - an organization devoted to preserving the heritage and environment of the Channel Islands with particular emphasis on Santa Cruz Island
http://www.west.net/~scifmail/

Charting History from the Federal Aviation Administration's National Aeronautical Charting Office
http://www.naco.faa.gov/index.asp?xml=naco/history

Coast and Geodetic Survey - Bibliography of the Appendices to the Reports of the Superintendent from 1844 to 1910
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/edocs/cgsreports.html

Coast and Geodetic Survey Historical Photo Collection - more than 3200 images covering most aspects of C&GS work
http://www.photolib.noaa.gov/  (NOAA Photo Library Home Page)
http://www.photolib.noaa.gov/cgs/index.html (C&GS album)

Discoverers Web - a compendium of websites compiled by Andre Engels that chronicles exploration through the ages - site includes biographies, journals, routes, etc.
http://www.win.tue.nl/cs/fm/engels/discovery/

Exploring the West from Monticello: A Perspective in Maps from Columbus to Lewis and Clark from the University of Virginia - images of maps, discussions of surveying and navigation instruments, etc.
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/speccol/exhibits/lewis_clark/exploring/

Historical Map and Chart Collection of NOAA's Office of Coast Survey: more than 20,000 maps and charts from the late 1700s to present day - collection includes some of the nation's earliest nautical charts, hydrographic surveys, topographic surveys, geodetic surveys, city plans, and Civil War battle maps (select Image Catalog to view the collection)
http://chartmaker.ncd.noaa.gov/csdl/ctp/abstract.htm

Historical maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin - historical maps of the world and links to historical maps on other web sites
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/historical/index.html

Mississippi River Commission - a short history from the Army Corps of Engineers concerning the organization responsible for guiding the mapping, charting, and improving the Mississippi River
http://www.mvd.usace.army.mil/mrc/index.php?pid=history

New England - The Cartographic Creation of New England from the University of Southern Maine at Portland (primarily English and French maps) - includes 1605 Samuel de Champlain charts of Maine coast that possibly contain the first recorded soundings on the east coast of North America
http://www.usm.maine.edu/~maps/exhibit2/sec1.htm

New York State historical maps dating from the 16th Century to the Nineteenth Century
http://www.sunysb.edu/libmap/nymaps.htm
http://www.sunysb.edu/libmap/contents.htm (Long Island maps and their makers)

The Northwest Coast -  A history of the exploration and settlement of the Northwest Coast including excerpts from works describing Spanish expeditions, Captain Cook's touching at Nootka Sound, and early fur trading expeditions
http://www.hallman.org/indian/.www.html

Northwest of the West: The Frontier Experience on the Northwest Coast from the University of Washington
http://www.lib.washington.edu/exhibits/FRONTIER/Local/

The Southwest United States - Maps of the Pimeria: Early Cartography of the Southwest - a collection from the University of Arizona detailing the mapping of the American Southwest from the 16th through 19th Centuries
http://parentseyes.arizona.edu/pimeriamaps/

The United States Coast Survey 1807-1867 -  an on-line book that details the science, politics, and Civil War experience of the first science agency in the United States
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/edocs/CONTENTS.htm
 

History of Meteorology

Air Force Weather History
https://afweather.afwa.af.mil/about/history/history1.html

Aircraft Operations Center history
http://www.aoc.noaa.gov/history.htm

Aristotle's Meteorology - full text translation of Aristotle's view of meteorology
http://classics.mit.edu/Aristotle/meteorology.html

Arrhenius on global warming - the classic 1896 paper by Nobel prize-winning Swedish chemist Svante Arrhenius relating the rise in carbon dioxide from fossil fuel burning in the atmosphere to increasing global temperatures
http://web.lemoyne.edu/faculty/giunta/ARRHENIUS.HTML

The Cooperative Weather Observer Program history
http://www.srh.noaa.gov/oun/coop/history.php

Daily historical weather events in the United States: a daily summary of historical weather events
http://www.srh.noaa.gov/oun/wxhistory/gethistory.php

Hurricane Research Division history
http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd/hrd_sub/beginning.html

Hydrometeorological Prediction Center - a brief history
http://www.hpc.ncep.noaa.gov/html/historyNMC.shtml

International Commission on History of Meteorology - established at the 2001 International Congress of History of Science
http://www.meteohistory.org/

Military meteorology bibliography - works developed at the University of North Carolina
http://www.ibiblio.ogr/pub/academic/history/marshall/military/mil_hist_inst/w/weather.asc

National Weather Service history
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/pa/history/index.php

National Weather Service river forecasting - A short history
http://www.floodplain.org/jan17.htm

Storm Prediction Center - a brief history
http://www.spc.noaa.gov/history/early.html

Tornado Forecasting: 50 Years of Service to the American People - from a joint page of Tinker Air Force Base and NOAA Storm Prediction Center
http://www.nssl.noaa.gov/GoldenAnniversary/
http://www.nssl.noaa.gov/GoldenAnniversary/tornadow.html (First broadcast tornado warning)

United States Early Radio History by Thomas H. White - includes a special section about broadcasting weather information
http://EarlyRadioHistory.us
http://EarlyRadioHistory.us/1916impt.htm#safeguard  (a timeline for the use of wireless as a safeguard to life at sea)

Weather vanes - a brief history of weather vanes
http://www.denninger.com/history.htm
http://www.denninger.com/biblio.htm#Bibliography (bibliography of weather vanes)
 

History of Oceanography

Coast and Geodetic Survey - Bibliography of the Appendices to the Reports of the Superintendent from 1844 to 1910.
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/edocs/cgsreports.html

Cumulative Bibliography on the History of Oceanography, 1987-
http://repositories.cdlib.org/sio/techreport/44/

Historical Map and Chart Collection of NOAA's Office of Coast Survey: over 20,000 maps and charts from the late 1700s to present day. The collection includes some of the nation's earliest nautical charts, hydrographic surveys, topographic surveys, geodetic surveys, city plans and Civil War battle maps. Select Image Catalog to view the collection.
http://chartmaker.ncd.noaa.gov/csdl/ctp/abstract.htm

History of Ocean Exploration from NOAA's Ocean Explorer
http://oceanexplorer.noaa.gov/history/history.html
http://oceanexplorer.noaa.gov/library/historicaldocs.html (Historical documents)
http://oceanexplorer.noaa.gov/ (Ocean Explorer home page)

Leuckart -- Diagrams and images of various invertebrates drawn by Rudolph Leuckart, famous zoologist  and parasitologist.  These images were produced as Wandtafeln -- Wall Charts between 1877 and 1892.   Site produced by Woods Hole Marine Biological Laboratory.
http://www.mblwhoilibrary.org/exhibits/leuckart/wall_charts/slide_index.html

Longitude -- English attack on the longitude problem.
http://www-groups.dcs.st-and.ac.uk/~history/HistTopics/Longitude2.html

Longitude -- Longitude and the Academie Royale - history of attempts to discern longitude to the 18th  Century.
http://www-groups.dcs.st-and.ac.uk/~history/HistTopics/Longitude1.html

Oceanography - A history of Coast Guard oceanography associated with the Coast Guard International Ice Patrol.
http://www.uscg.mil/lantarea/iip/pdf/OceanographyInTheCoastGuard.pdf

Tide predicting machines - discussion of Lord Kelvin's tide prediction machine, William Ferrel's Coast  Survey No. 1, the Fischer-Harris Coast Survey No. 2, and tide-predicting machines from other countries (National Ocean Service's Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services/NOAA)
http://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/predmach.html
http://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/predma1.html (William Ferrel's Tide-predicting Machine)
http://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/predma2.html (Tide-predicting Maching No. 2)
http://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/predma3.html (Tide-predicting machines from other countries)
http://www.Math.sunysb.edu/~tony/tides/machines.html  (State University of New York at Stonybrook)

The Titanic Disaster, Steamship Lanes, and the Establishment of the Ice Patrol: The 1912 Report of the Hydrographer, U.S. Navy
http://www.history.navy.mil/faqs/faq94-1.htm
http://seawifs.gsfc.nasa.gov/OCEAN_PLANET/HTML/titanic_faq.html (The Titanic FAQ page)
http://www.titanicarchive.com/ (Titanic Newspaper Archive)
http://www.lva.lib.va.us/whoweare/exhibits/titanic/titanic1.htm (newspaper coverage of the sinking from the University of Virginia's Virginia Newspaper Project)

U.S. Naval Oceanographic Office History
https://www.navo.navy.mil/nipr_2006/history.html

History of Organizations

Scripps Institution of Oceanography - bibliographies on the history of Scripps and the history of oceanography, oral histories, a timeline, etc.
http://www.ucsd.edu/portal/site/Libraries/menuitem.346352c02aac0c82b9ba4310d34b01ca/
?vgnextoid=64d90c1a622d4110VgnVCM10000045b410acRCRD

United States Coast and Geodetic Survey - Volume I, 1807-1867.
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/edocs/CONTENTS.htm

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution history.
http://www.whoi.edu/home/about/about_history.html
 

Libraries

NOAA Libraries

NOAA Central Library
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/

Directory of NOAA Libraries - includes telephone numbers, links to library sites, e-mail addresses, descriptions of collections, etc.
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/docs/lib_network.html
 

Other Libraries

British Library - National library of the United Kingdom. Includes an environmental information service, historical manuscripts, a collection of maps, atlases and globes of all parts of the world dating back to the 15th century, etc.
http://www.bl.uk/

The Center for Ocean-Atmosphere Prediction studies (COAPS) Library. This Center is located at Florida State University.
http://www.coaps.fsu.edu/lib/

Federal Depository Libraries: locate a Federal Depository Library in the U.S. and in the U.S. Commonwealths & Territories
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/libraries.html

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - David Lubin Memorial Library.
http://www.fao.org/library/_info_services/Index.asp

International Maritime Organization Library (see Information Resources)
http://www.imo.org/home.asp

The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution, and it serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world.
http://www.loc.gov/index.html
http://catalog.loc.gov (The Library of Congress Catalog)

Libweb - links to pages from libraries in over 135 countries (site maintained by Thomas Dowling of OhioLINK)
http://lists.webjunction.org/libweb/

Lib-web-cats - a directory of libraries throughout the world
http://www.librarytechnology.org/libwebcats/

Marine Biological Laboratory/Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Library contains one of the world's most complete collections of biological, ecological and oceanographic literature. It is operated jointly by the Marine Biological Laboratory and the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. The library also supports research at NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service, the U.S. Geological Survey (Atlantic Branch), and the Sea Education Association.
http://mblwhoilibrary.mbl.edu/

National Agricultural Library of the Department of Agriculture. Source of aquaculture and fisheries information.
http://www.nalusda.gov/

National Center for Atmospheric Research Library
http://www.ucar.edu/library/

National Sea Grant Library located in the Pell Marine Science Library of the University of Rhode Island (searchable database of 40,000 records)
http://nsgd.gso.uri.edu/

National Transportation Library, U.S. Department of Transportation. The NTL was established in 1998 through the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century and serves as a repository of materials from public, academic and private organizations. It is administered by the Bureau of Transportation Statistics in cooperation with its federal, state, and local partners.
http://ntl.bts.gov/

Navy Department Library - in addition to naval role in United States' wars contains historical references to the Coast Survey, explorations, etc.
http://www.history.navy.mil/library/

Northwestern University Transportation Library
Northwestern University Transportation Library Environmental Impact Statement Database.  Nearly all of the EISs issued by federal agencies since 1969 are held, usually in draft as well as final form.
http://www.library.northwestern.edu/transportation/index.html
http://www.library.northwestern.edu/transportation/searcheis.html

Ohio State University Libraries  Includes a searchable database with many geodetic citations.
http://www.lib.ohio-state.edu/

Pell Marine Science Library at the Graduate School of Oceanography, University of Rhode Island
http://www.gso.uri.edu/pell/pell.html

Scripps Institution of Oceanography Library - has searchable catalogs through ROGER and MELVYL systems, oceanography online, etc.
http://scilib.ucsd.edu/sio/

United States Geological Survey Library.  A searchable database of many geoscience titles.
http://library.usgs.gov/

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency National Library Network
http://www.epa.gov/natlibra/

University of South Carolina Thomas Cooper Library. Particularly good on-line marine science resources page.
http://www.sc.edu/library/tcl.html
http://www.sc.edu/library/science/scibooks.html#Marine%20Science (Marine science books online)

University of Washington Fisheries-Oceanography Library
http://www.lib.washington.edu/Fish/

Virginia Institute of Marine Science Library
http://www.vims.edu/library/
 

Lighthouses

WWW Virtual Library - The World's Lighthouses, Lightships and Lifesaving Stations.
http://www.vl-lighthouses.org/
 

Mapping and Charting

Aeronautical and Nautical Charts

Aeronautical Charts - Federal Aviation Administration's National Aeronautical Charting Office (NACO)
http://www.naco.faa.gov
http://www.naco.faa.gov/index.asp?xml=naco/ordering_info (ordering aeronautical charts from NACO's Distribution Division)

Nautical Charts - NOAA Office of Coast Survey, the Nation's nautical chartmaker.
http://chartmaker.ncd.noaa.gov/staff/charts.htm
http://chartmaker.ncd.noaa.gov/nsd/states.html (ordering nautical charts)
 

Careers in Mapping and Charting

Geodesy and Land Surveying

NOAA National Geodetic Survey (NGS) - defines and manages the National Spatial Reference System (NSRS) - the framework for latitude, longitude, height, scale, gravity, orientation and shoreline throughout the United States. NGS products include aerial photographs, latitude and longitude values for triangulation and GPS stations, elevations for bench marks, state plane coordinates, etc.
http://www.ngs.noaa.gov/index.shtml
http://www.ngs.noaa.gov/products_services.shtml (products and services)
http://www.ngs.noaa.gov/INFO/Publications_Booklet.pdf (Geodetic and Charting Publications)
 

Geographic Information

Geography, Geographic Information Systems and Remote Sensing linking sites from the University of  Utrecht, Netherlands.  These sites are very complete, are organized alphabetically, and include links from around the world including academic sites, government sites, and professional organizations. 
http://www.frw.ruu.nl/nicegeo.html (geography sites)
http://www.frw.ruu.nl/nicegeo.html#gis (GIS and remote sensing sites)

Geographic Information Systems from U.S. Geological Survey

 

Global Positioning System

United States Coast Guard Navigation Center Global Positioning System page.
http://www.navcen.uscg.gov/gps/default.htm
http://www.navcen.uscg.gov/dgps/default.htm  (Differential GPS)
 

Hydrography

Argentina - Argentinian Naval Hydrographic Service
http://www.hidro.gov.ar

Australia - Australian Hydrographic Service
http://www.hydro.gov.au/

Automated Wreck and Obstruction Information System (AWOIS). The Office of Coast Survey's Automated Wreck and Obstruction Information System contains information on approximately 10,000 submerged wrecks and obstructions in the coastal waters of the United States. Information includes latitude and longitude of each feature along with brief historic and descriptive details.
http://chartmaker.ncd.noaa.gov/hsd/hsd-3.html

Brazil - Directorate of Hydrography and Navigation
https://www.mar.mil.br/dhn/

Canada - Canadian Hydrographic Service
http://www.charts.gc.ca/pub/en/

Chile - Hydrographic and Oceanographic Service of the Chilean Navy
http://www.shoa.cl

China - Maritime Safety Administration of China (People's Republic of)
http://www.hydro.gov.cn
http://www.hydro.gov.cn/cheng/module/default.aspx (English version)
http://www.ngd.gov.cn/htm/index.html (The Navigation Guarantee Dept. of the Chinese Navy Headquarters)
http://www.hydro.gov.hk/main.htm (Hong Kong Hydrographic Office)

Columbia - Columbian Hydrographic Service
http://www.dimar.mil.co/VBeContent/home.asp

Croatia - Hydrographic Institute of the Republic of Croatia
http://www.hhi.hr/

Denmark - Royal Danish Administration of Navigation and Hydrography
http://www.fomfrv.dk/
http://www.fomfrv.dk/en/index.php (English version)

Ecuador - Hydrographic Department of the Oceanographic Institute of the Ecuador Navy
http://www.inocar.mil.ec/

Estonia - Estonian Maritime Administration
http://www.vta.ee/atp/
http://www.vta.ee/atp/?lang=en (English version)

Finland - Finnish Maritime Administration
http://www.fma.fi/e/

France - French Hydrographic Service
http://www.shom.fr/

Germany - Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency
http://www.bsh.de/de/index.jsp
http://www.bsh.de/en/index.jsp (English version)

Greece - Hellenic Navy Hydrographic Service
http://www.hnhs.gr/
http://www.hnhs.gr/en/enindex.htm (English version)

Guatemala - Ministry of the National Defense Maritime Department
http://www.deptomaritimo.gob.gt/

Hong Kong - Hong Kong Hydrographic Office
http://www.hydro.gov.hk/main.htm

Iceland - Icelandic Coast Guard Hydrographic Department
http://www.lhg.is/
http://www.lhg.is/english/hydrographic_department/ (English version)

India - Indian Naval Hydrographic Department
http://www.hydrobharat.nic.in/

International Hydrographic Organization - an intergovernmental consultative and technical organization that was established in 1921 to support safety in navigation and protection of the marine environment.
http://www.iho.shom.fr/
http://www.iho.shom.fr//MEM_STATES/IHO_Member_States.htm (IHO Member States)

Italy - Italian Hydrographic Institute
http://www.marina.difesa.it/idro/index.asp

Japan - Hydrographic & Oceanographic Department, Japan Coast Guard
http://www1.kaiho.mlit.go.jp/jhd-E.html
http://www.jodc.go.jp/index.html (Japan Oceanographic Data Center)

Korea - National Oceanographic Research Institute
http://www.nori.go.kr/
http://www.nori.go.kr/english/index.asp (English version)

Kuwait - Kuwait Navigation Services
http://www.mockw.net/mariners/
http://www.mockw.net/mariners/english/default.htm (English version)

Netherlands - Hydrographic Service of the Royal Netherlands Navy
http://www.hydro.nl/pgs/en/index_en.htm

New Zealand - National Hydrographic Authority of New Zealand
http://www.linz.govt.nz/core/hydrography/index.html

NOAA Office of Coast Survey - conducts and manages hydrographic surveying for NOAA
http://chartmaker.ncd.noaa.gov/
http://chartmaker.ncd.noaa.gov/hsd/hydrog.htm Hydrography and Hydrographic Surveys. Hydrographic surveys are used to compile the nautical charts produced by NOAA and provide greater depth detail than is available on the nautical chart.
NOAA's Electronic Navigational Charts (NOAA ENCs)
http://nauticalcharts.noaa.gov/mcd/enc/index.htm

Norway - Norwegian Hydrographic Service
http://www.statkart.no/IPS/

Peru - Directorate of Hydrography and Navigation
http://www.dhn.mil.pe

Poland - Hydrographic Office of the Polish Navy
http://bhmw.mw.mil.pl/
http://hopn.mw.mil.pl/ (English version)

Portugal - Portuguese Hydrographic Institute
http://www.hidrografico.pt/hidrografico/

Singapore - Hydrographic Department of the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore
http://www.mpa.gov.sg/

Slovenia - Slovenian Maritime Administration
http://www.up.gov.si/
http://www.up.gov.si/en/ (English version)

South Africa - South African Navy Hydrographic Office
http://www.sanho.co.za/

Spain - Spanish Hydrographic Institute
http://www.armada.mde.es/ihm/
http://www.armada.mde.es/ArmadaPortal/appmanager/ArmadaPortal/ArmadaPortal?
_nfpb=true&_pageLabel=ap_page_home&locale=en (English version)

Sri Lanka - Sri Lankan National Hydrographic Office
http://www.nara.ac.lk/nho/about/

Sweden - Swedish Maritime Administration
http://www.sjofartsverket.se/
http://www.sjofartsverket.se/default____603.aspx (English version)

Thailand - Hydrographic Department of the Royal Thai Navy
http://www.navy.mi.th/hydro/
http://www.navy.mi.th/hydro/eng/hydroindex.htm (English version)

Turkey - Turkish Navy Office of Navigation, Hydrography, and Oceanography
http://www.shodb.gov.tr/default.html
http://www.shodb.gov.tr/english.html (English version)

United Kingdom - United Kingdom Hydrographic Office
http://www.ukho.gov.uk/

Uruguay - Uruguayan Naval Hydrographic Service
http://www.armada.gub.uy/sohma/web/index.html

Venezuela - Venezuelan Naval Office of Hydrography and Navigation
http://www.dhn.mil.ve/

Maps and Mapping

Bathymetry and Topography of NOAA's National Geophysical Data Center
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/mgg/bathymetry/relief.html

Data Explorer of NOAA's National Ocean Service offers access to many products, including bathymetry, coastal maps, environmental sensitivity index maps, aerial photographs, and more.
http://oceanservice.noaa.gov/dataexplorer/welcome.html

Environmental Sensitivity Index Maps of NOAA's Office of Response and Restoration
http://response.restoration.noaa.gov/topic_subtopic_entry.php?RECORD_KEY%28
entry_subtopic_topic%29=entry_id,subtopic_id,topic_id&entry_id(entry_subtopic_topic)
=74&subtopic_id(entry_subtopic_topic)=8&topic_id(entry_subtopic_topic)=1

Google Earth. A 3D interface to the planet: global imagery and other geographic information
http://earth.google.com/

Rare map collection of the  Hargrett Library of  the University of Georgia.  Many digitized images of  maps of Georgia and South Carolina dating back to the 1500s.
http://www.libs.uga.edu/darchive/hargrett/maps/maps.html

Historical Map and Chart Collection of NOAA's Office of Coast Survey: more than 20,000 maps and charts from the late 1700s to present day. The collection includes some of the nation's earliest nautical charts, hydrographic surveys, topographic surveys, geodetic surveys, city plans and Civil War battle maps. Select Image Catalog to view the collection.
http://chartmaker.ncd.noaa.gov/csdl/ctp/abstract.htm

MapMachine. National Geographic's interactive atlas
http://plasma.nationalgeographic.com/mapmachine/

Maps and directions. Street maps, aerial imagery, physical maps from Ask.com
http://maps.ask.com/maps

National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA). Descendant of the Defense Mapping Agency/National Imagery and Mapping Agency. CIA mapping and imagery, etc.
http://www.nga.mil/

The National Map. The Nation's Topographic Map for the 21st Century (U.S. Geological Survey)
http://nationalmap.gov/

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection of the University of Texas. Current interest, general interest, historical map collection.
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/index.html

TopoZone. Interactive USGS topographic maps of the entire United States
http://www.topozone.com/

United States Geological Survey. The major mapping agency for the United States.
http://www.usgs.gov/

World War II Cloth Maps
http://www.silkmaps.com/index.html

Photography and Photogrammetry

Aerial photography - National Aerial Photography Program, U.S. Geological Survey.  High-quality aerial photos covering the conterminous U.S. and Hawaii on five- to seven-year cycles (established in 1987)
http://edc.usgs.gov/guides/napp.html

Aerial photography - NOAA Photogrammetry - to order aerial photographs of coastal regions and in the vicinity of airports throughout the United States. This is an element of the office of the National Geodetic Survey.
http://www.ngs.noaa.gov/PC_PROD/Catalog/aerial_photos.htm

Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Data Center - U.S. Geological Survey satellite images of the Earth and aerial photos of the U.S.
http://eros.usgs.gov/

Next Page
Back to Index