WINDandSEA Index |  Previous page |  Next page |  Current Topics |  Teachers and Students Corner |  NOAA Photosites | 

Topics: Air Pollution thru Endangered Species

Note: These links lead to resources not on the NOAA Library website.

Air Pollution

IMPROVE - Interagency Monitoring of Protected Visual Environments
Program created in 1985 to help implementation of Federal and State plans for the protection of visibility in 156 national parks and wilderness areas as stipulated by the Clean Air Act.
http://vista.cira.colostate.edu/improve/Default.htm

Sulfur pollution from natural sources.  Full text paper from NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental  Laboratories.
http://www.pmel.noaa.gov/pubs/outstand/bate1229/abstract.shtml

Acid Rain

The National Atmospheric Deposition Program operates an acid rain observing network that is used to monitor the chemistry of precipitation  for geographical and temporal long-term trends.  Quality assured precipitation chemistry data (including acidity) and analyzed maps are available for viewing and downloading.
http://nadp.sws.uiuc.edu/

Carbon Dioxide

Ozone

Ozone depletion FAQ page developed by the University of Utrecht.
http://www.cs.ruu.nl/wais/html/na-dir/ozone-depletion/.html

NASA Earth Observatory article on Ozone
http://eobglossary.gsfc.nasa.gov/Study/Tango/tango.html

Stratospheric Ozone home page developed by EPA.
http://www.epa.gov/docs/ozone/

Aquaculture

Department of Agriculture Alternative Farming Systems Aquaculture information page.  Primarily pointers to other sources of information.
http://www.nal.usda.gov/afsic/afsaqua.htm

Department of Commerce/National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Aquaculture Information Center
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/aquaculture/docaqua/frontpage.htm

Directory of State Aquaculture Coordinators and Contacts.
http://www.marylandseafood.org/aquaculture/nasac.php

Text of Massachusetts White Paper on aquaculture. Although written for Massachusetts, has good biological and technical information.
http://www.mass.gov/czm/wptoc.htm

Astronomy, Time, Star-charts, etc.

Earth and Sky Radio Series features text and audio of all shows, Tonight's Sky, and more.
http://www.earthsky.com/

History of Astronomy - a site from the University of Bonn containing many links to history of astronomy and history of science.
http://www.astro.uni-bonn.de/~pbrosche/astoria.html

Hubble Space Telescope; Space Telescope Science Institute
http://www.stsci.edu/hst/

Hubble Space Telescope News
http://oposite.stsci.edu/pubinfo/PR.html

Internet Resources from Sky and Telescope magazine
http://skyandtelescope.com/resources/internet/

Yahoo! Top Science Site: Astronomy. Hundreds of links to other sites.
http://www.yahoo.com/Science/Astronomy/

Practical Astronomy - Navigation, Time, Sunrise-Sunset, etc.

Naval Observatory Home Page
http://www.usno.navy.mil/home.shtml

Naval Observatory: Sunrise/Sunset; Moonrise/Moonset for United States; time service
http://riemann.usno.navy.mil/AA/data/docs/RS_OneYear.html
http://tycho.usno.navy.mil/ (time service)

FAQ about time, sunrise/sunset, phases of moon, astronomic phenomena, calendars and historic events
http://aa.usno.navy.mil/AA/faq/

Bibliographies

Aquaculture - National Sea Grant aquaculture bibliography.
http://www.mdsg.umd.edu/NSGO/research/aquaculture/index.html

El Nino bibliography developed by Florida State University library.
http://www.coaps.fsu.edu/lib/elninobib/

Comprehensive Bibliography of The Institute for the Study of Society and Environment (ISSE) Publications
http://www.isse.ucar.edu/publications.jsp

EXXON VALDEZ Oil Spill Trustee Council   Topical Bibliographies cover all aspects of the Exxon Valdez Oil Spill.
http://www.evostc.state.ak.us/Monitoring/gemdocs.htm#l

Fisheries bibliography 1984-1995 from Sea Grant.  This is only searchable from a browser find function.
http://www.seagrant.wisc.edu/communications/publications/Bibliography/FisheriesBib.html

AlgaeBase searchable bibliography of over 17,500 references
http://www.algaebase.org/

The TITANIC. A bibliography of TITANIC literature.
http://www.keyflux.com/titanic/t_biblio.htm

World Ocean Circulation Experiment Bibliography - from US WOCE office.
http://woce.nodc.noaa.gov/wdiu/wocedocs/bibliography/

Career Information for the Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences

American Meteorological Society career page.
http://www.ametsoc.org/AMS/pubs/creers.html

Careers in marine biology and marine science - links to many sources from Stanford University.
http://www-marine.stanford.edu/HMSweb/careers.html

Careers in Oceanography  -  an on-line brochure produced by the Oceanography Society for the Office of Naval Research.  Edited by Dr. D. James Baker, the Administrator of NOAA.
http://www.onr.navy.mil/onr/careers/

Preparing for a Career in Oceanography from the Scripps Institute of Oceanography
http://www.siommg.ucsd.edu/slices/

Chesapeake Bay

Education

Government Programs

Chesapeake Bay Program
http://www.chesapeakebay.net/

Environmental Protection Agency Chesapeake Bay Program Home Page.
http://www.epa.gov/region03/chesapeake/

NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office Home Page.
http://noaa.chesapeakebay.net/

Observing System

Periodicals about the Bay and Surrounding Watersheds On-line

Maryland Marine Notes - an on-line publication from Maryland Sea Grant.
http://www.mdsg.umd.edu/MarineNotes/index.html

Potomac Reporter Information on the Potomac watershed from the Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin.
http://www.potomacriver.org/info_center/reporter.htm

Ecosystem Health and Land Loss in the Chesapeake Bay
http://www.ngs.noaa.gov/GRD/GPS/Projects/CB/bay.html

Research Centers

Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
http://www.pwrc.usgs.gov/

University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science - Links to Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, Horn Point Environmental Laboratory, and University of Maryland research vessels.
http://www.umces.edu

Climate

Data

Arctic Time Series: The Unaami Collection is an interdisciplinary, diverse collection of Arctic variables which represent different geographic regions and data types. The time series extend from 1970 to the present. From NOAA's Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory (PMEL).
http://www.unaami.noaa.gov/dataselect/index.html

Bering Climate
Sponsored by NOAA, hosts ecological and climatic indices for the Bering Sea which will serve as measures of climate and ecosystem status for the Bering Sea.
http://www.beringclimate.noaa.gov/index.html

Climatological Database for the World's Oceans 1750-1850
Sponsored by the European Union and developed by several international partners, this global database of climatic information uses British, French, Dutch and Spanish naval and merchant logbooks from the period 1750-1850.
http://www.ucm.es/info/cliwoc/
http://www.ucm.es/info/cliwoc/database.htm

EPIC was developed at NOAA's Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory (PMEL) to manage the large numbers of hydrographic and time series oceanographic in-situ data sets collected as part of NOAA climate study programs, such as EPOCS and TOGA in earlier years, WOCE and CLIVAR and others more recently.
http://www.epic.noaa.gov/epic/ewb/

Guide to Historical Resources in the Atmospheric Sciences: Archives, Manuscripts, and Special Collections in the Washington, D.C. Area
A guide to hitorical atmospheric science resources located in the Washignton, D.C. area. By Dr. James R. Fleming, originally published by the National Center for Atmospheric Research, and revised in 1997.
http://www.colby.edu/sts/97guide/index.html

IRI/LDEO Climate Data Library
Contains a wide variety of earth science data, primarily oceanographic and atmospheric datasets. From Columbia University's International Research Institute for Climate Prediction.
http://ingrid.ldeo.columbia.edu/

National Climatic Data Center - national repository for climate data
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/

National Climatic Data Center - Climate Monitoring: Reports and Products
Includes yearly and monthly State of the Climate reports, U.S. and Global Extremes reports, and much more.
http://lwf.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/research/monitoring.html

National Climatic Data Center - Climate and weather Links (This is an outstanding site.)
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/ol/climate/climateresourcesother.html

National Climatic Data Center Colonial Archive - Information on colonial era data sets residing within NCDC and the NOAA Library System
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/ghcn/colonial/colonial.archive.html
http://lwf.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/ghcn/colonial/africa/africa.html

National Climatic Data Center - NCDC Climate Data Online System
Provides new option for retrieving Daily Data (precipitation, temperature) for locations worldwide. Climatological Data for many U.S. stations available to beginning of digital record (in some cases 1948 or earlier) to present. Users can generate a printable web form in addition to ASCII text files.
http://cdo.ncdc.noaa.gov

National Weather Service Offices and Centers
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/organization.php#hq

NOAA Central Library Climate Data Imaging Project provides images from unique climatological data from the 1830s to the 1970s.
http://docs.lib.noaa.gov/rescue/data_rescue_home.html

NOAA Central Library U.S. Daily Weather Maps Project
http://docs.lib.noaa.gov/rescue/dwm/data_rescue_daily_weather_maps.htm

NOAA-CIRES Climate Diagnostics Center.  Selected climate parameters for many United States cities, Puerto Rico and a few other sites.
http://www.cdc.noaa.gov:80/USclimate/

NOAA's Climate Monitoring and Diagnostics Laboratory
The lab's mission is to observe and understand, through accurate, long-term records of atmospheric gases, aerosol particles, and solar radiation, the Earth's atmospheric system controlling climate forcing, ozone depletion and baseline air quality, in order to develop products that will advance global and regional environmental information and services.
http://www.cmdl.noaa.gov

NOAA Paleoclimatology
The Paleoclimatology Branch of the National Climatic Data Center provides the paleoclimatic data and information needed to understand the climate of the past, in order to assess the current and potential future climate in the context of natural climate variability.
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/paleo/paleo.html

North Pole Weather Data from NOAA's Arctic Weather Office.
http://www.arctic.noaa.gov/gallery_np_weatherdata.html

Drought

NOAA's Drought Information Center
http://www.drought.noaa.gov/

U.S. Palmer Drought Indices
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/research/prelim/drought/palmer.html

El Nino - La Nina

El Nino Theme Page - put out by PMEL.FAQ page, links to data sources, El Nino forecast, etc. Award-winning site as the Grand Champion winner of the best WWW Page in NOAA and Federal Showcase Award.
http://www.pmel.noaa.gov/toga-tao/el-nino/nino-home.html

El Nino- La Nina resource page developed by COAPS Library at Florida State University. This site has bibliographies, on-line publications, links to other pages, etc.
http://www.coaps.fsu.edu:80/lib/elninolinks/

El Nino bibliography developed by Florida State University library.
http://www.coaps.fsu.edu/lib/elninobib/#agr

El Nino/La Nino data and information from NOAA's Center for Climate Prediction
http://www.cpc.ncep.noaa.gov/products/analysis_monitoring/lanina/

Satellite Altimetry data from TOPEX/POSEIDON  processed by the NOAA Laboratory for Satellite Altimetry traces the evolution and continuation of the 1997 El Nino event.  In particular, check the Equatorial Pacific diagrams shown for each week since April 1997.
http://http://ibis.grdl.noaa.gov/SAT/near_rt/enso/regional_previous_years.html (Equatorial Pacific)

Review of the Causes and Consequences of Cold Events - A La Nina Summit from UCAR - includes many short papers on subjects related to and areas affected by La Nina.
http://www.ccb.ucar.edu/lanina/index.html

TAO-TRITON Data Display - Real-time data from moored ocean buoys for improved detection, understanding and prediction of El Niño and La Niña. From NOAA's Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory (PMEL).
http://www.pmel.noaa.gov/tao/jsdisplay/

Global Climate Change

NOAA Products

Climate Program Office
http://www.climate.noaa.gov/

Climate Prediction Center (CPC)
http://www.cpc.ncep.noaa.gov/

Coral Reef Watch Program
The NOAA Coral Reef Watch Program provides a variety of data and alert products such as Sea Surface Temperature Anomaly Charts, Degree Heating Weeks Charts, and Coral Bleaching Indices.
http://coralreefwatch.noaa.gov/

Earth System Research Lab (ESRL), Global Monitoring Division (GMD), Observatory Operations (OBOP)
ESRL GMD operates staffed atmospheric baseline observatories at Barrow, Alaska; Trinidad Head, California; Mauna Loa, Hawaii; Samoa; and the South Pole from which numerous in situ and remote atmospheric and solar measurements are conducted. The overall scientific programs and administrative functions of the five observatories are handled from Boulder with on-site station chiefs caring for day-to-day station activities.
http://www.esrl.noaa.gov/gmd/obop/

Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Lab, Climate Dynamics and Prediction Group, is charged with studying and modeling climate phenomena on seasonal to multi-century time scales. Website contains wealth of datasets, visualizations, research summaries, images, and more.
http://www.gfdl.noaa.gov/research/climate

Global Warming Frequently Asked Questions - From NOAA's National Climatic Data Center.
http://lwf.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/globalwarming.html

National Centers for Environmental Prediction (NCEP)
http://www.ncep.noaa.gov/

A Paleo Perspective on Global Warming - From NOAA's National Climatic Data Center Paleoclimatology Program
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/paleo/globalwarming/home.html

U.S. Federal Programs

U. S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP)
Interagency program supporting research on the interactions of natural and human-induced changes in the global environment and their implications for society.
http://www.usgcrp.gov/

U.S. Climate Change Science Program
http://www.climatescience.gov/default.php

U.S. Climate Change Technology Program
http://www.climatetechnology.gov/

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Climate Change page
http://www.epa.gov/climatechange/

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Sea Level Rise Reports
http://epa.gov/climatechange/effects/coastal/slrreports.htm

The Global Change Master Directory
http://gcmd.gsfc.nasa.gov/

USDA Forest Service - Northern Global Change Research Program
http://www.fs.fed.us/ne/global/

GLOBEC home page
GLOBEC (Global Ocean Ecosystem Dynamics) was initiated by SCOR and the IOC of UNESCO in 1991, to understand how global change will affect the abundance, diversity and productivity of marine populations comprising a major component of oceanic ecosystems.
http://www.pml.ac.uk/globec/
http://www.usglobec.org  (U.S. GLOBEC Program)

Global Change Research Information Office.  The information arm of the US Global Change Research Program. Links to all elements of this major program including science publications, Congress, budget information, etc.  Includes a searchable bibliography.
http://www.gcrio.org/

State, Regional, Local, Territory and Tribal Programs

NACo Climate Protection Program (National Association of Counties)*
http://www.naco.org/Template.cfm?Section=New_Technical_Assistance&Template=
/TaggedPage/TaggedPageDisplay.cfm&TPLID=88&ContentID=24143

Califiornia Climate Change Portal*
http://www.climatechange.ca.gov/

Oregon Department of Energy - Oregon: Meeting the Challenge of Climate Change*
http://egov.oregon.gov/ENERGY/GBLWRM/Portal.shtml

Western Climate Initiative*
The Western Climate Initiative is a collaboration launched in February 2007 between the Governors of Arizona, California, New Mexico, Oregon and Washington to meet regional challenges raised by climate change.
http://www.westernclimateinitiative.org/

What's Being Done in the States
from the Pew Center on Global Climate Change
http://www.pewclimate.org/what_s_being_done/in_the_states

Pacific Islands

American Samoa Coral Reef Advisory Group Local Action Strategies*
Issues include Global Climate Change, Overfishing, Land-Based Sources of Pollution, and Population Pressure

Climate Proofing: A Risk-based Approach to Adaptation*
These studies are designed to assist Pacific Developing Member Countries (PDMCs) to enhance their adaptive capacity and resilience to climate change and variability, including extreme events. The Climate Change Adaptation through Integrated Risk Reduction (CCAIRR) framework and methodology have been used to demonstrate a risk-based approach to adaptation and the mainstreaming of adaptation through risk assessment, adaptation planning, and policy development, by climate proofing infrastructure, and through community and other development initiatives. This report is the result of RETA 6064 funded under Climate Change, Renewable Energy, and Energy Efficiency (REACH) by the Canadian Cooperation Fund for Climate Change and published by the Asian Development Bank.
http://www.adb.org/Documents/Reports/Climate-Proofing/climate-proofing.pdf
http://www.adb.org/Documents/Reports/Climate-Proofing/main-report.asp

Community-level adaptation to climate change : action in the Pacific; Proceedings of the regional workshop on community-level adaptation to climate change, Suva, Fiji, 21-23 March 2005*
Published by the Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme(SPREP), Fiji. Dept. of Environment., and Canadian International Development Agency
http://www.sprep.org/att/publication/000431_CBDAMPIC.pdf

Implementing Climate Change Adaptation in the Pacific Islands: Adapting to Present Climate Variability and Extreme Weather Events in Navua (Fiji), 2006*
Published by the The AIACC Project Office (Assessments of Impacts and Adaptations to Climate Change), International START Secretariat
http://www.aiaccproject.org/working_papers/Working%20Papers/AIACC_WP34_Mataki.pdf

Kiribati Adaptation Program*
A Global Environment Facility (GEF) pilot/demonstration projects under the Special Program on Adaptation that shows how climate change adaptation planning and assessment can be translated into national policy and sustainable development planning and action.
http://www.worldbank.org/

National Adaptation Programme of Action (NAPA) for Samoa*
http://unfccc.int/resource/docs/napa/sam01.pdf

National Adaptation Programme of Action (NAPA) for Kiribati*
http://unfccc.int/resource/docs/napa/kir01.pdf

National Adaptation Programme of Action (NAPA) for Tuvalu*
http://unfccc.int/resource/docs/napa/tuv01.pdf

Not if but when: adapting to natural hazards in the Pacific Islands Region - a policy note*
Published by the World Bank, the goal of this Policy Note is to influence policy makers and development partners in the Pacific Islands region to undertake risk management of natural hazards and minimize the future impacts of natural disasters, climate change and sea level rise.
http://www.worldbank.org/

Pacific Islands Framework for Action on Climate Change 2006-2015, June 2005*
The Framework identifies broad priorities for the Pacific Island Countries and Territories (PICTs) to address the issues of climate change in an integrated, multi-stakeholder approach. The Framework embodies 6 principles: implementing adaptation measures, governance and decision making, improving our understanding of climate change, contributing to global greenhouse gas reduction, partnerships and cooperation.
http://www.sprep.org/att/publication/000438_PI_Framework_for_Action_on_Climate_Change_2006_2015_FINAL.pdf

Pacific Island Mangroves in a Changing Climate and Rising Seas*
http://www.unep.org/Documents.Multilingual/Default.asp?DocumentID=483&ArticleID=5312&l=en

Pacific Regional Environment Programme - Climate Change Portal*
http://www.sprep.org/climate_change/index.asp
Publications*

Pacific Island Developing Country Water Resources and Climate Change. In The World's Water: 2002-2003. *
http://www.pacinst.org/publications/worlds_water/worlds_water_2002_chapter5.pdf

Preparing for a Changing Climate: Pacific Islands Regional Assessment of the Consequences of Climate Variability and Change*
The Pacific Assessment was conducted as a regional contribution to the first U.S. National Assessment of the Consequences of Climate Variability and Change (the National Assessment). The National Assessment was organized by the agencies contributing to the U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) and the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.
http://www2.eastwestcenter.org/climate/assessment/report.htm

Surviving climate change in small islands : a guidebook*
Published by the Tyndale Centre for Climate Change Research, United Kingdom
http://www.tyndall.ac.uk/publications/surviving.pdf

Non-U.S. Country Programs

British Antarctic Survey Climate Change Research*
British Antarctic Survey (BAS) has for the past 60 years been responsible for most of the UK's scientific research in Antarctica and its current five-year research strategy is focussed on deepening our understanding of climate change.
http://www.antarctica.ac.uk/bas_research/our_research/topics/climate_change.php

Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Climate Change Impacts and Adaptation*
http://adaptation.nrcan.gc.ca/perspective/index_e.php

International Programs

United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change*
http://unfccc.int/2860.php

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations - Climate Change page*
FAO's programme on climate change includes the promotion of practices for climate change mitigation, the adaptation of agricultural systems to climate change, the reduction of emissions from the agricultural sector as far as it is carefully considered within the major objective of ensuring food security, the development of practices aimed at increasing the resilience of agricultural production systems to the vagaries of weather and climate change, national and regional observing systems, as well as data and information collection and dissemination.
http://www.fao.org/clim/

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) * established by the World Meteorological Association (WMO) and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) to access the risk of human-induced climate change.
http://www.ipcc.ch/

National Adaptation Programmes of Action (NAPAs) for Least Developed Countries*
NAPAs (national adaptation programmes of action) provide a process for Least Developed Countries (LDCs) to identify priority activities that respond to their urgent and immediate needs with regard to adaptation to climate change. The rationale for NAPAs rests on the limited ability of LDCs to adapt to the adverse effects of climate change. The NAPA takes into account existing coping strategies at the grassroots level, and builds upon that to identify priority activities. In the NAPA process, prominence is given to community-level input as an important source of information, recognizing that grassroots communities are the main stakeholders.
http://unfccc.int/national_reports/napa/items/2719.php

United Nations Environment Programme Climate Change Theme Page*
Portal created by the United Nations Environment Programme as a central source for substantive work and information resources regarding climate change.
http://www.unep.org/themes/climatechange

UNITAR (United Nations Institute for Training and Research) Climate Change Programme (CCP)*
Developing countries, called 'Non-Annex I' in the context of United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) negotiations, have experienced great difficulty in implementing decisions and policies at the country level. The objective of the UNITAR Climate Change Programme is to address these capacity constraints.

World Health Organization (WHO) Climate Change and Human Health Website*
http://www.who.int/globalchange/climate/en/

Pacific Regional Environment Programme - Climate Change Portal*
http://www.sprep.org/climate_change/index.asp
Publications*

Non-Governmental Organizations

Linking Climate Adaptation Network*
The objective of the Linking Climate Adaptation (LCA) Network is to help communities, policy-makers, practitioners and academics share experiences and knowledge about adaptation to climate change. It is based at the Institute of Development Studies (IDS) in the United Kingdom.
http://www.linkingclimateadaptation.org/

Pew Center on Global Climate Change*
The Pew Center on Global Climate Change was established in 1998 as a non-profit, non-partisan and independent organization. The Center's mission is to provide credible information and bring together business leaders, policy makers, scientists, and other experts to forge innovative solutions in the effort to address global climate change.
http://www.pewclimate.org/

Encylcopedia of the Earth - Climate Change*
The Encyclopedia is published by the Environmental Information Coalition (EIC), National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE), Washington D.C. The EIC, the governing body of the Earth Portal, is comprised of a diverse group of respected scientists and educators and the organizations, agencies, and institutions for which they work. The EIC defines the roles and responsibilities for individuals and institutions involved in the Coalition, as well as the editorial guidelines for Earth Portal content, including the EoE.
http://www.eoearth.org/by/topic/climate%20change

The National Academies Global Change page*
The National Academies bring together committees of experts in all areas of scientific and technological endeavor. These experts serve pro bono to address critical national issues and give advice to the federal government and the public. This web site is designed to provide an overview of global-change activities from throughout the National Academies organized by major topical area. Browse Topics to see lists of related reports, upcoming meetings, ongoing activities, and selected links to other global change resources on the web.
http://dels.nas.edu/globalchange/

Academic Organizations

Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research*
The Tyndall Centre brings together scientists, economists, engineers and social scientists, who together are working to develop sustainable responses to climate change through trans-disciplinary research and dialogue on both a national and international level - not just within the research community, but also with business leaders, policy advisors, the media and the public in general.
http://www.tyndall.ac.uk/

National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) - Climate Research*
http://www.ncar.ucar.edu/research/climate/

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute (WHOI) Ocean and Climate Change Institute*
http://www.whoi.edu/page.do?pid=7399

University of Maryland Center for Integrative Environmental Research (CIER)*
http://www.cier.umd.edu/index.html

Conferences

4th Global Conference on Oceans, Coasts, and Islands: Advancing Ecosystem Management and Integrated Coastal and Ocean Management by 2010 in the Context of Climate Change, April 7-11, 2008, Hanoi, Vietnam*
Organized by the Global Forum on Oceans, Coasts, and Islands and Hosted by the Government of Vietnam, Ministry of Fisheries. this conference will mobilize high-level policy attention, topical working groups, analytical papers, and other contributions to provide a review of progress achieved (or lack thereof) in advancing ecosystem management and integrated coastal and ocean management by 2010 at national and regional (transboundary) levels, and in the 64% of the ocean beyond national jurisdiction, and on the allied goals of reducing marine biodiversity loss by 2010 and of establishing networks of marine protected areas by 2012 (goals adopted by the world's political leaders at the 2002 World Summit on Sustainable Development). These goals are considered in the context of climate change, which, as indicated in the 2007 report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), will have profound effects on ecosystems and coastal populations around the world.
http://www.globaloceans.org/globalconferences/2008/index.html

Climate Change: Science and Solutions: 8th National Conference on Science, Policy, and the Environment January 16-18, 2008, in Washington, DC.*
Hosted by the National Council for Science and the Environment, the confernce will focus on expanding substantive dialogue with leading scientists, policy makers, industry leaders, educators, and other solutions-oriented innovators to develop comprehensive strategies for protecting people and the planet against the threat of climate change.
http://ncseonline.org/2008conference/

Climate Policy, Vulnerability, and Adaptation (Joint between the Third Symposium on Policy and Socio-Economic Research and the 20th Conference on Climate Variability and Change)* during the American Meteorological Society (AMS) Annual Meeting
http://ams.confex.com/ams/88Annual/techprogram/session_21164.htm

Workshop: Global Climate Change and Extreme Weather Events: Understanding the Potential Contributions to the Emergence, Reemergence and Spread of Infectious Disease, 4-5 December 2007*
Hosted by the U.S. Institute of Medicine of the National Academies
http://www.iom.edu/CMS/3783/3924/45653.aspx

United Nations Climate Change Conference - Bali, 3 - 14 December 2007*
The Conference, hosted by the Government of Indonesia, brings together representatives of over 180 countries together with observers from intergovernmental and nongovernmental organizations, and the media. The two week period includes the sessions of the Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (NFCCC), its subsidiary bodies as well as the Meeting of the Parties of the Kyoto Protocol.
http://unfccc.int/meetings/cop_13/items/4049.php

Climate Information: Responding to User Needs 22-23 October 2007, University of Maryland*
The goal of the conference was to bring together two groups that have had too little contact in the past: providers of climate information and the diverse community that uses it. Providers were tol learn how users from different sectors of society are affected by climate change, and what specific products they require. Users were to hear what other organizations are doing to prepare for climate-change impacts and what sorts of information providers can produce now and in the future.
http://climateneeds.umd.govtools.us/

The Future in our Hands: Addressing the Leadership Challenge of Climate Change, UN High-Level Event on Climate Change, UN Headquarters, New York, 24 September 2007, at UN Headquaraters, New York*
To promote dialogue, highlight priority issues within four broad thematic areas, and mobilize support at the highest level for a strong political signal to the UN Climate Change Conference in Bali that Governments are ready to accelerate work under the UNFCCC
http://www.un.org/climatechange/2007highlevel/events.shtml

Mauritius International Meeting (BPoA +10): International Meeting for the 10-year Review of the Barbados Programme of Action, 10-14 January, 2005, Port Luis, Mauritius*
The Mauritius Declaration and the Mauritius Strategy, international efforts to recognize small islands’ vulnerabilities and to support their sustainable development, were approved at this conference.
http://www.sidsnet.org/MIM.html
http://www.un.org/smallislands2005/

Symposium on Climate and Extreme Events in Asia Pacific: Enhancing Resilience and Improving Decision Making - Executive Summary, 2004*
Published by the East-West Center in Honolulu
http://www.eastwestcenter.org/publications/search-for-publications/?class_call=view&pub_ID=1472&mode=view

Publications and Reports

Climate Change 2007: the Fourth Assessment Report (AR4) of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change*
http://www.ipcc.ch/

Abrupt Climate Change: Inevitable Surprises (2002)*
Online report published by the National Academy Press for the Committee on Abrupt Climate Change, National Research Council
http://www.nap.edu/books/0309074347/html/

Adaptation to climate change in agriculture, forestry, and fisheries: Perspective, framework and priorities*
Published by the U.N. Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
ftp://ftp.fao.org/docrep/fao/009/j9271e/j9271e.pdf

BUYING TIME: A User's Manual for Building Resistance and Resilience to Climate Change in Natural Systems*
Published by the World Wildlife Fund
http://www.panda.org/news_facts/publications/index.cfm?uNewsID=8678

Climate Change Research: Agencies Have Data-Sharing Policies but Could Do More to Enhance the Availability of Data from Federally Funded Research
Published by U.S. General Accountability Office (GAO), GAO-07-1172, September 28, 2007
http://www.gao.gov/docsearch/abstract.php?rptno=GAO-07-1172

Climate Change Science: An Analysis of Some Key Questions*
Published by the National Research Council, 2001
http://www.nap.edu/catalog.php?record_id=10139#toc

Coral Reefs and Global Climate Change: potential contributions of climate change to stresses on coral reef ecosystems*
Published by the Pew Center on Global Climate Change
http://www.pewclimate.org/docUploads/Coral_Reefs.pdf

Evaluating Progress of the U.S. Climate Change Science Program: Methods and Preliminary Results (2007)*
Online report published by the National Academy Press for the Committee on Strategic Advice on the U.S. Climate Change Science Program, National Research Council
http://books.nap.edu/openbook.php?isbn=0309108268
http://www8.nationalacademies.org/cp/projectview.aspx?key=209

Impacts of a Warming Climate: Arctic Climate Impact Assessment*
An assessment of the potential impacts of climate change on the Artic Region undertaken by the
International Arctic Science Committee and the Artic Council
http://www.amap.no/acia/index.html

Kyoto Protocol* - final authentic text of the Kyoto Protocol to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change.
http://unfccc.int/essential_background/kyoto_protocol/background/items/1351.php

Potential Impacts of Climate Change on U.S. Transportation: Special Report 290*
Online report published by the National Academy Press for the Committee on Climate Change and U.S. Transportation, National Research Council
http://www.nap.edu/catalog.php?record_id=12179

Preparing for Climate Change: A Guidebook for Local, Regional and State Governments*
Published by Climate Impacts Group, University of Washington, Washington King County, and ICLEI.
http://www.iclei.org/index.php?id=7066

Review of the U.S. Climate Change Science Program's Synthesis and Assessment Product 1.3: Reanalyses of Historical Climate Data for Key Atmospheric Features: Implications for Attribution of Causes of Observed Change*
Online report published by the National Academy Press for the Committee to Review the U.S. Climate Change Science Program's Synthesis and Assessment Product 1.3, National Research Council, 2008
http://www.nap.edu/catalog.php?record_id=12135

The Role of Coastal Zone Management Programs in Adapatation to Climate Change: Final Report of the CSO Climate Change Work Group*
From the Coastal States Organization (CSO)
http://www.coastalstates.org/

Stern Review on the Economics of Climate Change*
Report by Sir Nicholas Stern, Head of the Government Economics Service, United Kingdom, on the economics of climate change and development. Released 30 October, 2006
http://www.hm-treasury.gov.uk/independent_reviews/stern_review_economics_climate_change/sternreview_index.cfm

The U.S. Economic Impacts of Climate Change and the Costs of Inaction*
Published by the University of Maryland, Center for Integrative Environmental Research
http://www.cier.umd.edu/climateadaptation/

Decision Support Tools

Adaptation Policy Frameworks (APF) for Climate Change*
Published by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and the Global Environment Facility (GEF)), the APF is a structured approach to formulating and implementing adaptation strategies, policies and measures to ensure human development in the face of climate variability and change.
http://www.undp.org/gef/adaptation/climate_change/APF.htm

Pacific RISA Decision Support Tools and Technologies*
http://research.eastwestcenter.org/climate/risa/RISA-dec_support.htm

Forecasts and Planning Tools* from the University of Washington, Climate Impacts Group
http://www.cses.washington.edu/cig/fpt/ccscenarios.shtml

State Climatologists

Coastal Studies

Academic Organizations

School of the Coast and Environment, Department of Environmental Studies at Louisiana State University
http://info.envs.lsu.edu/

Coastal Data Information Program - A cooperative program between the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the Army Corps of Engineers, and the California Department of Boating and Waterways. Describes, monitors, and archives oceanographic data for the southern and central California coast.
http://cdip.ucsd.edu/

Coastal Resources Center of the University of Rhode Island.  This is a particularly good site for coastal management issues.  Many excellent links.
http://www.crc.uri.edu/

Land-Ocean Interactions in the Coastal Zone (LOICZ) from the Netherlands Institute for Sea Research.  Check out the newsletter and core research pages.
http://www.nioz.nl/loicz/

Coastal Ocean Institute and Rinehart Coastal Research Center of the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. Research emphasis on all phases of oceanography affecting the coast.
http://www.whoi.edu/institutes/coi/index.htm

Federal Organizations

Field Research Facility of the Army Corps of Engineers CERC at Duck, North Carolina. This facility is one of the most advanced facilities for studying coastal processes in the world. The virtual tour provides explanations of the facility and its research.
http://www.frf.usace.army.mil/

Fish and Wildlife Service Coastal Program of the United States Fish and Wildlife Service.
http://ecos.fws.gov/coastal/viewContent.do?viewPage=home/

National Estuary Program Home Page
http://www.epa.gov/owow/estuaries/

National Estuary Program - Gulf of Mexico
http://www.epa.gov/owow/estuaries/programs/gom.htm

National Estuary Program Northeast Region
http://www.epa.gov/owow/estuaries/programs/ne.htm

National Estuary Program South Atlantic Region
http://www.epa.gov/owow/estuaries/programs/se.htm

National Estuary Program West Coast Region
http://www.epa.gov/owow/estuaries/programs/pac.htm

NOAA Coastal Shoreline site - policy and science
http://www.csc.noaa.gov/shoreline/index.html

NOAA National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science
http://www.nccos.noaa.gov/

NOAA Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management
http://www.ocrm.nos.noaa.gov/welcome.html

NOAA's National Estuarine Research Reserves System (NERRS)
The National Estuarine Research Reserve System, a partnership between NOAA and coastal states, is a network of protected areas established for long term research, education and stewardship.
http://www.nerrs.noaa.gov/welcome.html

NOAA National Marine Sanctuaries Program
http://www.sanctuaries.nos.noaa.gov/welcome.html

United States Geological Survey Center for Coastal and Watershed Studies - St. Petersburg, Florida, field office. Mapping, current, estuary studies, some deepsea.
http://coastal.er.usgs.gov/

 United States Geological Survey Western Region Coastal and Marine Geology - Menlo Park, California. Mapping, current, estuary studies, some deepsea.
http://walrus.wr.usgs.gov/

United States Geological Survey Field Center for Coastal and Marine Geology in Woods Hole, Massachusetts - Woods Hole, Massachusetts, field program. Mapping, current, estuary studies, some deepsea.
http://woodshole.er.usgs.gov/

On-line Publications

Glossary of coastal terminology from the NOAA Coastal Services Center
http://www.csc.noaa.gov/shoreline/glossary.html

State Organizations

MCZM - Massachusetts Coastal Zone Management Office
http://www.state.ma.us/czm/czm.htm

Coral Reefs

Coral Bleaching hotspots derived from Sea Surface Temperature charts at NOAA/NESDIS.
http://www.osdpd.noaa.gov/PSB/EPS/SST/climohot.html

Coral Health and Monitoring Home Page (CHAMP) - NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratories.
http://www.coral.noaa.gov/

Coral Reef Transect from Cyberlearn Digital Studios.
http://www.cyberlearn.com/zones.htm

Global Coral Reef Monitoring Network
http://www.gcrmn.org

International Coral Reef Initiative
http://icriforum.org/

International Coral Reef Initiative -The International Coral Reef Information Network (ICRIN) is a communications and information project of the International Coral Reef Action Network (ICRAN). The website includes a library, photobank, education and outreach materials, newsletter, and more.
http://www.coralreef.org/
http://www.coralreef.org/resources/photobank.html

Marine Science on-line - an online introductory course in oceanography and marine biology. Features a Coral Reefs section.
http://www.biosbcc.net/ocean/marinesci/
http://www.biosbcc.net/ocean/marinesci/04benthon/crindex.htm

NASA Helps Researchers Diagnose Recent Coral Bleaching at Great Barrier Reef
http://www.nasa.gov/centers/goddard/news/topstory/2006/coral_bleach.html

NOAA Photo Library "The Coral Kingdom"
http://www.photolib.noaa.gov/reef/index.html

NOAA's Coral Reef Conservation Program - a wealth of information about coral reefs.
http://www.coralreef.noaa.gov/

NOAA's Coral Reef Information System (CoRIS) - provides access to NOAA's coral reef data and information products.
http://www.coris.noaa.gov

NOAA's International Year of the Coral Reef 1997
http://www.publicaffairs.noaa.gov/coral-reef.html

NOAA's Coral Reef "Degree Heating Weeks"
Degree Heating Weeks (DHWs) are an operational product designed to indicate the length of time that coral reefs experience thermal stress.
http://www.osdpd.noaa.gov/PSB/EPS/SST/dhw_retro.html

Satellite Coral Bleaching Monitoring Datasets (Google Earth Format)
from NOAA's Coral Reef Watch
Google Earth can be used to view NOAA Coral Reef Watch's satellite coral bleaching monitoring products, including curent SST, SST anomaly, HotsSpot, Degree Heating Week products, time series charts, and more.
http://coralreefwatch.noaa.gov/satellite/ge/

REEF - The Reef Environmental Education Foundation.
http://www.reef.org/

Reefbase, a global information system on coral reefs, from the World Fish Center and the International Coral Reef Action Network.
http://www.reefbase.org/

Status of Coral Reefs of the World: 2004
Documents how human activities continue to be the primary cause of the global coral reef crisis.
Written by the Global Coral Reef Monitoring Network (GCRM) and the International Coral Reef Initiative.
http://www.aims.gov.au/pages/research/coral-bleaching/scr2004/index.html

U.S. Coral Reef Task Force
The U.S. Coral Reef Task Force (CRTF) was established to lead the U.S. response to this growing, global environmental crisis.
http://www.coralreef.gov/

Diving

The Great American Fish Count - join the diving community in helping monitor America's underwater living resources.
http://www.fishcount.org/

Undersea and Hyberbaric Medical Society
http://www.uhms.org/

Underwater Science and Educational Resources from Indiana University.   Includes diving information, marine archaeology, artificial reef and marine biology information.
http://www.indiana.edu/~scuba/

Endangered Species

Endangered Species Program of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
http://endangered.fws.gov/

World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UK). Species, protected areas, forests, marine areas, national biodiversity profiles, WCMC Library catalog.
http://www.wcmc.org.uk/data/dat_main.html

Next Page
Back to Index