WINDandSEA Index |  Previous page | Next page |  Current Topics |  Teachers and Students Corner |  NOAA Photosites | 

Topics: Marine Archaeology thru NOAA, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Note: These links lead to resources not on the NOAA Library website.

Marine Archaeology

Steamboat BERTRAND collection of the United States Fish and Wildlife Service.
http://refuges.fws.gov/generalinterest/steamBoatBertrand.html

The EDMUND FITZGERALD site from CIMSS University of Wisconsin at Madison.  Weather interpretation of the sinking of this Great Lakes ore carrier.
http://cimss.ssec.wisc.edu/wxwise/fitz.html

Index of North American Maritime Museums - a privately maintained site with links to many museums and  maritime heritage information.
http://www.maritimemuseums.net/

Wisconsin's Great Lakes Shipwrecks
http://www.wisconsinshipwrecks.org/

Maritime Underwater Nautical Archaeology - this site is his site is an index to online information for maritime, underwater, and nauticalarchaeology developed by Robert Mutch.
http://www.munarchaeology.com

Nordic Underwater Archaeology - archaeology in the Baltic Sea.
http://www.abc.se:80/~m10354/uwa/

Underwater Archaeology from Florida State University
http://www.anthro.fsu.edu/uw/uw.html (home)
http://www.anthro.fsu.edu/uw/links/Links.html (many good links to other marine archaeology sites)

Marine Biology

Annelids - a.k.a. Worms

Ascidians - a.k.a. Tunicates

Tunicate bibliography  - searchable bibliography from G. Iazzetti at the University of Naples.
http://biol.dgbm.unina.it:8080/ascidians/bibliography.html

Bacteria

Cyanosite, a general webserver for cyanobacterial research
From Purdue University
http://www-cyanosite.bio.purdue.edu/

Cycling Through the Food Web
From the Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences
http://www.bigelow.org/bacteria/index.html

Introduction to Bacteria
From the Museum of Paleontology, University of California at Berkeley
http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/bacteria/bacteria.html

Bibliographies

Careers in Marine Biology

Cnidaria - a. k. a. - Sea Anemones, Jellyfish, etc.

Cnidaria Home Page
From the University of California, Irvine
http://www.ucihs.uci.edu/biochem/steele/default.html

Sea lice or "Sea Bathers Eruption" from Florida Atlantic University.
http://www.fau.edu/safe/sea-lice.html

Copepods

Crustaceans

Echinoderms

The Urchin Web
http://207.62.132.224/urchin/urchinweb.html-->

The Night of the Holothurians, a privately maintained site.
http://home.t-online.de/home/rothauscher/1invert.htm

Geographic Areas

Hawaiian marine life including plants, invertebrates, and fishes. Many fine photographs.
http://www.coralreefnetwork.com/marlife/default.htm

Rocky Shores - the marine biology of rocky shores. A well-illustrated site with mini-essays on various aspects of rocky shore marine biology. Covers both New England coast and western United States.
http://life.bio.sunysb.edu/marinebio/rockyshore.html

Glossaries

Harmful Algal Blooms (HAB)

Eyewitness account of death by toxic algal poisoning of member of crew of HM DISCOVERY while  surveying in the Puget Sound region of Washington in 1793.  From the Natural History Museum of Nova  Scotia.
http://museum.gov.ns.ca/poison/redtide.htm (red tide page)
http://museum.gov.ns.ca/poison/pspacct.htm  (death description)

Harmful Algal Blooms - NOAA Coastal Ocean Program.
http://www.cop.noaa.gov/Fact_Sheets/ECOHAB.html (project)
http://www.cop.noaa.gov/pubs/das10.html  (Decision analysis series publication)

Marine Biotoxins from Fisheries Western Australia
http://www.wa.gov.au/westfish/sf/broc/fhinfo/fhinfo04.html

Mote Marine Laboratory Phytoplankton Ecology, Red Tide Update, About Red Tide, and Gulf Coast Red Tide Chronology.
http://www.mote.org/~pederson/phyto_ecol.phtml
http://www.marinelab.sarasota.fl.us/~mhenry/rtupdate.phtml
http://www.marinelab.sarasota.fl.us/~mhenry/WREDTIDE.phtml
http://www.marinelab.sarasota.fl.us/~mhenry/rtchrono.phtml

Oyster Warning - Food and Drug Administration raw oyster warning - information on microorganisms  that could kill you.
http://vm.cfsan.fda.gov/~lrd/oyster.html

Pfiesteria and seafood.  A public service page developed by MSNBC for determining the possibility of encountering Pfiesteria related illness and/or other health hazards from eating various types of common seafood.
http://www.msnbc.com/onair/nbc/dateline/RedTide/default.asp

Pfiesteria from the North Carolina State University Aquatic Botany Laboratory.  Dr. JoAnn Burkholder made the original discovery of the Pfiesteria organism at this laboratory.  Site includes description of life cycle of this bizarre creature and photographs of the various forms Pfiesteria can take.
http://www2.ncsu.edu/unity/lockers/project/aquatic_botany/

Pfiesteria from the University of Maryland Sea Grant Office.  All that one could hope to discover about Pfiesteria including bibliographies, links to recent news articles, and links to many other Pfiesteria sites.
http://www.mdsg.umd.edu/fish-health/pfiesteria/

Phytoplankton research at Scripps Institution of Oceanography - Peter Franks Home Page.
http://spiff.ucsd.edu/index.html

Malacology and Conchology

The Cephalopod page from Dalhousie University.  Octopi and squid, but not the nautiloids.
http://is.dal.ca/~ceph/TCP/index.html

Conchologists of America
http://coa.acnatsci.org/conchnet/  (home)
http://coa.acnatsci.org/conchnet/edushell.html (discussions of marine, terrestrial, freshwater shells)

Conchology 101
Hosted by the Academy of Natural Sciences, Philadelphia
http://coa.acnatsci.org/conchnet/c-101a.html

The Giant Octopus Web Page
From David Scheel, Alaska Pacific University
http://marine.alaskapacific.edu/octopus/

Giant Squid from the Smithsonian and NASA Ocean Planet.
http://seawifs.gsfc.nasa.gov/squid.html

The Illinois Natural History Survey Mollusk Collection
http://www.inhs.uiuc.edu/cbd/collections/mollusk/molluskintro.html

Zebra Mussels - from the Sea Grant non-indigenous species site.  Includes sequential maps showing  invasion rate of zebra mussels and status reports.  The bibliography from this site is really nice as it allows  access to both summaries and full-text versions of most references.
http://ag.ansc.purdue.edu/EXOTICSP/zebra_mussel.htm

Mangroves

Plankton

Phytoplankton research at Scripps Institution of Oceanography - Peter Franks Home  Page.
http://spiff.ucsd.edu/index.html

Phytoplankton - Emiliana huxleyi Home Page. All that one could hope to wish to know about this particular species of phytoplankton.
http://www.soc.soton.ac.uk/SUDO/tt/eh/index.html

Reptiles of the Sea

Crocodilians Natural History and Conservation
from the Florida Museum of Natural History, Crocodile Specialists Group
http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/natsci/herpetology/brittoncrocs/cnhc.html

Sea Turtles
from the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, Fish and Wildlife Research Institute
http://research.myfwc.com/features/category_main.asp?id=1289

Sea snakes information from Diving Medicine Online.
Includes description of sea snakes venom, symptoms, treatment, and several photos.
http://www.scuba-doc.com/seasnks.html

Sea Turtle Information
US Fish and Wildlife Office, North Florida Field Office
http://northflorida.fws.gov/SeaTurtles/seaturtle-info.htm

Sea Turtle Protection and Conservation
NOAA Fisheries, Office of Protected Resources
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/prot_res/PR3/Turtles/turtles.html

Sea Turtles: Archie Carr Center for Sea Turtle Research - Site has searchable bibliography of over 5,000 entries.
from the University of Florida
http://accstr.ufl.edu/

Seagrass

The Seagrass Ecosystems Research Laboratory of the Florida International University.  Primary emphasis is on seagrass studies and ecology of Florida Bay Ecosystem.
http://www.fiu.edu/~seagrass/

Western Australian Seagrass Web Site.
http://wwwscience.murdoch.edu.au/centres/others/seagrass/

Seaweed - Macroalgae

Algae Base
http://www.algaebase.org/about.lasso

International Phycological Society
http://www.intphycsoc.org/default.lasso

Journal of Phycology
http://www.psaalgae.org/pubs/pubs.html

The Phycological Society of America.
http://www.psaalgae.org/

Provasoli-Guillard National Center for  Culture of Marine Phytoplankton at the Bigelow Marine Laboratory.
http://ccmp.bigelow.org/

Marine Birds

Birds of the World Postage Stamps - a private site, but has a truly beautiful collection of stamps illustrating bird species from around the world.  Many marine birds are shown on these stamps.  Site is searchable by species and country.
http://www.bird-stamps.org

Marine Ecology

Coastal Program of  the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. - concentrates on 11 high-priority coastal ecosystems.
http://www.fws.gov/coastal/CoastalProgram/

Galveston Bay - a characterization of the marine ecology of the bay.
 http://riceinfo.rice.edu/armadillo/Galveston/

GLOBEC home page. A program to understand the marine ecosystem response to global climate change.
http://www.pml.ac.uk/globec/

Marine Ecology glossary from Rice University.  An addenda to the Galveston Bay characterization.
http://riceinfo.rice.edu/armadillo/Galveston/Glossary/glossary.html

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Site Characterization.  A description of Monterey Bay   geology, oceanography, marine biology, and human interaction with the bay system.  Work developed by  Marine Sanctuary but has input from other government agencies and academic institutions.
http://montereybay.nos.noaa.gov/sitechar/welcome.html

Tropical Marine Ecology of the Florida Keys, Bahamas, and San Salvador Island.  A fun view of a field course from Miami University of Ohio.
http://jrscience.wcp.muohio.edu/html/TropEcoImages.html#anchor965336

Marine Geology

This Dynamic Earth - a short textbook on plate tectonics from the United States Geological Survey.
http://pubs.usgs.gov/publications//text/dynamic.html

Marine Mammals

Bottlenose Dolphins: A Sea World Education Department Resource
http://www.seaworld.org/animal-info/info-books/bottlenose/index.htm

Cetacean Society International - includes electronic newsletter Whales Alive! and many links to other cetacean sites.
http://csiwhalesalive.org/

Elephant Seals at Ano Nuevo State Reserve on the California Central Coast.
http://www.anonuevo.org/elephant.html

International Whaling Commission - an international body dedicated to managing and preserving the Earth's whale population. Conducts studies of whale populations and sets quotas for catch.
http://www.iwcoffice.org/

NOAA Fisheries National Marine Mammal Laboratory
Conducts research on marine mammals important to the mission of NOAA Fisheries, with particular attention to issues related to marine mammals off the coasts of California, Oregon, Washington and Alaska
http://nmml.afsc.noaa.gov/
Education site

Polar Bear information from Sea World
http://www.seaworld.org/animal-info/info-books/polar-bear/index.htm

Society for Marine Mammalogy dedicated to the study of marine mammals.  Includes marine mammal and separate manatee newsletters, career page, and great posters of cetacea and pinnipedia.
http://www.marinemammalogy.org/

WhaleNet at Wheelock College. This has many links to other marine mammal sites and to oceanography sites.
http://whale.wheelock.edu/

Marine Protected Areas (MPAs)

Marine Protected Areas of the United States Web site managed jointly by the Departments of Commerce and the Interior, provides information on marine protected areas (MPAs) as required by Executive Order 13158.
http://mpa.gov

Marine Pollution

Applied Science Associates - Marine and freshwater environmental and engineering services.  Products include oil spill trajectory predictions, physical and biological oceanographic studies, etc.
http://www.appsci.com/index.htm

EXXON VALDEX Oil Spill Trustee Council website is the definitive source for information about the Exxon Valdez oil spill and its aftermath. The Council was formed to oversee restoration of the injured ecosystem through the use of the $900 million civil settlement.
http://www.evostc.state.ak.us

Marine Pollution Education from the Bridge Program
http://www.vims.edu/bridge/pollution.html

NOAA Damage Assessment and Restoration Program
http://www.darp.noaa.gov/

NOAA Fisheries Office of Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Damage Assessment and Restoration
http://www.fakr.noaa.gov/oil/default.htm

NOAA's Marine Debris Program
http://marinedebris.noaa.gov/welcome.html

NOAA Office of Response and Restoration
http://response.restoration.noaa.gov/index.html

Texas Automated Buoy System (TABS) from the Texas General Land Office and Texas A&M.  This system monitors offshore wind and currents and helps predict the trajectory of oil and chemical spills.
http://tabs.gerg.tamu.edu/Tglo/

U.S. Coast Guard
http://www.uscg.mil/USCG.shtm

U.S. EPA Marine Debris Abatement
http://www.epa.gov/owow/oceans/debris/

U.S. EPA Ocean Regulatory Programs - Ocean dumping, dredged matter, and marine, ocean, and vessel discharges
http://www.epa.gov/owow/oceans/regulatory/index.html

Metrology

Oak Ridge National Laboratory
http://www.ornl.gov

NOAA - The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

NOAA Browser from the NOAA Central Library - links to over 500 NOAA office, project, etc.Home Pages.
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/noaainfo/browser/browse1.html

NOAA Photosites - links to NOAA photosites both great and small.
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/researchtools/subjectguides/wind/photosite.html

Main Line Components

NOAA Fisheries (NMFS)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/

NOAA National Ocean Service (NOS)
http://www.nos.noaa.gov/

NOAA National Weather Service (NWS)
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/

NOAA Research (OAR) - The Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research
http://www.oar.noaa.gov/

Major Offices and Programs

Office of NOAA Corps Operations - Links to NOAA Fleet, NOAA Aircraft, NOAA Diving, and NOAA Corps.
http://www.nc.noaa.gov/

NOAA Office of Public, Constituent and Intergovernmental Affairs - Lots of good information about NOAA and its mission and products.
http://www.publicaffairs.noaa.gov

NOAA Office of Program Planning and Integration (PPI)
http://www.ppi.noaa.gov/

Directory, Handbook, and Locator

NOAA Organization Handbook - Want to find the right place in NOAA? Find out the missions of the many offices, divisions, laboratories, and administrative centers.
http://www.rdc.noaa.gov/~ohb/toc.html

NOAA National Locator - Know the name of a NOAA employee?  This is the place to find phone number and organization.
http://www.corporateservices.noaa.gov/~noaa/natlocnoaa.html

"It is perhaps a more fortunate destiny to have a taste for collecting
shells than to be born a millionaire." -- Robert Louis Stevenson

Next Page
Back to Index