As noted below, some databases are restricted to specific NOAA Washington D.C. area campuses, while others are freely available to anyone. For NOAA employees outside of the Washington, D.C. area, check with your NOAA library.

• AGRICOLA*
  (Abstracts available to anyone)
  Bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators.
• American Fisheries Society (AFS)*
  (Abstracts available to anyone. Full-text available only to Silver Spring campus only)
  Search abstracts of AFS journals.
• American Meteorological Society (AMS)*
  (Full-text available only to NOAA staff serviced by the NOAA Central Library and Camp Springs; abstracts available to anyone)
  Search full-text of AMS journals.
• Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)*
  (Available NOAA-wide)
  International bibliography of science, technology and management of marine, brackish, and freshwater environment and organisms from 1971 to present.

• BioOne.1 and BioOne Open Access*
  (Available NOAA-wide)
  BioOne brings to the Web an aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals previously only available in print. The BioOne.1 database currently contains 84 peer-reviewed journals and bulletins published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. BioOne Open Access titles are available to all BioOne users, regardless of subscription.
• CiteSeer.IST*
  (Available to anyone)
  CiteSeer.IST indexes computer and information science literature, utilizing Autonomous Citation Indexing (ACI) to compute citation statistics for all articles cited in the database.
• Conference Papers Index*
  (Available NOAA-wide)
  Provides citations to Life sciences, environmental sciences, aquatic sciencespapers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world from 1982 to present.
• Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
  (Available to anyone)
  Provides centralized access to all of Department of Defense's scientific and technical information on DoD's multidisciplinary research, development, engineering, and studies programs.
• Dialog*
  (Available to NOAA staff serviced by the NOAA Central Library)
  Dialog aggregates hundreds of databases through its search service, including news, social sciences, business, science, and more. Contact library staff for customized searches at Library.Reference@noaa.gov or call the Reference Desk at 301-713-2600 ext. 124.
• Directory of Open Access Journals*
  (Available to anyone)
  Browse free, full-text quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals by title or subject. Covers biology, earth and environmental sciences, social sciences, and more. Includes international titles.
• EconLit Full-Text*
  (Available to NOAA Fisheries staff NOAA-wide and at NOAA Central Library public access PCs)
  The American Economic Association's source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969 plus full text for more than 400 publications.

• Elsevier Science*
  (Abstracts available to anyone)
  Search article abstracts and table of contents of Elsevier journals, books and more. See also Science Direct.
• First Search Databases*
  (Available only to NOAA staff serviced by the NOAA Central Library)
  Over 30 online, subject-specific databases, including Books in Print, BusIndustry, BusManagement, ERIC, Geobase, Medline, and WorldCat. A username/password is required to access this database. Information can be obtained at the Reference Desk at (301)-713-2600 ext. 124 or Library.Reference@noaa.gov.
• Google Scholar*
  (Available to anyone)
  Searches scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, book, abstracts and articles from academic publishers and professional societies, preprint repositories and more; try 'Advanced Search' to search Author names in combination with titles, or to limit search to a certain web domain, publication, or subject areas.
• GreenFile*
  (Available to anyone)
  GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

• HeinOnline*
  (Available NOAA-wide)
  Online access to legal periodical content in the original page-image (PDF) format. Includes Law journals, American Law Institute library, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Foreign & International Law Resources, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), International Law Association Reports, Political Science journals, Treaties, and more. Complete list of resources (.xls format)
• Homeland Security Digital Library
  (Available only at public workstations of the NOAA Central Library)
  A database of over 57,000 non-classified Presidential directives, policy and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources related to Homeland Security.
• IngentaConnect*
  (Abstracts available to anyone)
  Searches article abstracts from over 30,000 academic and professional publications and includes a Browse feature to browse titles by subject area such as Biology/Life Sciences, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Social Sciences, etc.
• ISI Highly Cited*
  (Available to anyone)
  Search for the top researchers in the life sciences, medicine, physical sciences, engineering and social science by name, category, country, or institutional affiliation.
• Journal Citation Reports Science Edition*
  (Available NOAA-wide)
  Journal Citation Reports allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 5,900 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science and technology.

• JSTOR: the Scholarly Journal Archive*
  (Available NOAA-wide)
  Complete full-text archives of core scholarly journals, some dating from the 1800s. Search by topic, keywords, titles, authors and dates.
• Lexis-Nexis*
  (Available to NOAA staff serviced by the NOAA Central Library)
  Lexis-Nexis offers news, business and legal information. Contact library staff for customized searches at Library.Reference@noaa.gov or call the Reference Desk at 301-713-2600 ext. 124.
• Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts*
  (Available only to NOAA staff at Silver Spring, Camp Springs, Miami, and Seattle.)
  Index of the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, and hydrology from 1977 to present.
• National Academies Press (NAP)*
  (Available to anyone)
  Search over 2,500 reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health.
• National Research Council Canada*
  (Abstracts available to anyone)
  Browse abstracts and table of contents of the publications of NRCC Research Press.

• NetLibrary*
  (Available NOAA-wide)
  Features more than 300 online book titles, including 200 Information Technology (IT) books on subjects including HTML, XHTML, XML, Visual Basic.Net, CGI, Dreamweaver, PHP, Apache, MySQL Web Development, and more.

• NTIS/DARTS
  (Available only at public workstations of the NOAA Central Library. Ask librarian for assistance with login information.)
  The NTIS/GPO Document Access & Retrieval Test (DART) System makes approximately 240,000 documents dating from 1964 to 2000 available free for viewing and provide the full text of these reports as free downloadable PDF files. For information on NTIS publications available in print or microfiche only, search the main NTIS site instead of NTIS/DARTS.
• Oceanic Abstracts*
  (Available NOAA-wide)
  Indexes and abstracts worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment from 1981 to present.
• Science Accelerator
  (Available to anyone)
  Searches, via a single query, important scientific and technical information resources of the U.S. Department of Energy containing R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more.
• ScienceDirect*
  (Available only to NOAA Staff at Silver Spring)
  Provides access to 38 online full-text journals from Elsevier Science.
• STAT-USA*
  (Available only at public workstations of the NOAA Central Library. Ask librarian for assistance with login information.)
  STAT-USA/Internet, a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for one-stop shopping for authoritative U.S. business, economic and trade information. Includes USA Trade Online, NTDB, Fish and Fishery Product Imports and Exports, Country Background Notes, FedBizOpps, World Factbook, and much more.
• Toxline*
  (Available NOAA-wide)
  Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the care journal literature in toxicology from the last five years.
• USA Trade Online
  (Available only at public workstations of the NOAA Central Library. Ask librarian for assistance with login information.)
  A STAT-USA service for researching U.S. imports and exports.
• Water Resources Abstracts*
  (Available NOAA-wide)
  Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
• Web of Science - Science Citation Index Expanded*
  (Available NOAA-wide)
  Indexes over 5,800 leading international scientific journals, provides author, cited reference and keyword searching, and provides links to the original full-text if the library has a subscription. Current subscription covers the years 1984-present. PLEASE NOTE: this log-in link provides access to both Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, and free ISI databases.
• Web of Knowledge Additional Resources* (Available NOAA-wide)
  Includes ISI HighlyCited, BiologyBrowser, Index to Organism Names, In-cites, Researcher ID, Science Watch, and Special Topics.
• Wiley Interscience Journals*
  (Available NOAA-wide)
  Over 400 full-text journals from Wiley. Complete list of Wiley journal titles (.xls format)
• Worldcat.org *
  (Available to anyone)
  Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. The database contains all the records cataloged by Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) member libraries; offers millions of bibliographic records.
• Worldcat via First Search Databases*
  (Available only to NOAA staff serviced by the NOAA Central Library)
  Worldcat via First Search provides additional functionality. A username/password is required to access this database. Information can be obtained at the Reference Desk at (301)-713-2600 ext. 124.