HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES TWENTY-FOURTH LEGISLATURE, 2008 STATE OF HAWAII H.R. NO. 327

HOUSE RESOLUTION

RECOGNIZING AND CONGRATULATING THE MEMBERS OF THE LEILEHUA HIGH SCHOOL MULES VARSITY FOOTBALL TEAM ON WINNING THE 2007 DIVISION I HAWAII HIGH SCHOOL ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION STATE FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.

1 WHEREAS, school athletics has provided Hawaii's youth with 2 a countless array of rewarding, challenging, and enjoyable 3 opportunities that allow students to continually test their 4 physical and mental skills in active competition; and 5

6 WHEREAS, the close-knit community of Wahiawa began the 2007 football season with the belief that the LEILEHUA HIGH SCHOOL 7 MULES VARSITY FOOTBALL TEAM -- consisting of: head coach Nolan 8 9 Tokuda; assistant coaches Jon Acohido, Jake Kawamata, Pat San Nicholas, Esmond Kilaulani, Tui Alailima, Antonio Brown, Ed 10 Kama, Mark Kurisu, Darrin Matsumiya, Jon Morikawa, Len Nakasone, 11 Burt Souza, Richard Townsend, Al Viloria, and Joe Watts; 12 athletic trainers Michelle Harrington, Lenny Baum, Lauren Maeda, 13 14 and Brittany Kaleo-Castillo; team physicians Joan Delto, Maxine Karimoto, Kris Lindshield, and Kazu Hernandez; managers Tiff 15 Honda, Jodene Miram, Kiana Surell, Jeon Santos, Taylor Souza, 16 17 Joy Wong, and Shy Billedo; equipment managers Mathew Smithe, Kevin Tosaka, and Wesley Ohori; statisticians Sheryl Higa, 18 Kristie Sasamura, Pam Dumlao, and Ronya Honda; ball boys Jarrin 19 20 Morikawa, Angelito Sambrano, and Albert Talaroc; video crew Duriza Capps, Ferdinand Navarro, Krystina Navarro, Jennine 21 22 Tosaka, and Deena Yoneda; principal Aloha Coleman; former 23 principal Norman Minehira; vice principals Malaea Wetzel, Garett Yukumoto, and Bob Davis; athletic director James Toyota; 24 25 assistant athletic director Nate Higa; dean of students Brian Fukuda; players Robert Siavii, Hoku Kama, Garrison Garma, Micah 26 Cruz, Allan Macam, Zaire Macapagal, Andrew Manley, Edieson 27 28 Dumlao, Kaipo DeRego, Kaipo Kea, Marcus Breakfield, Chase Acohido, Bronson Pausa, Peter DeSaulniers, Sean Kenigton, Rico 29 30 Newman, Garett Maki, Joedee Taua, Ire Macapagal, Allan DeGuzman-

HR HMS 2008-3339

14

22

26

37

H.R. NO. 327

Pacheco, Brendan Mahuka, Art Laurel, Rick Jones, Josh Cruz, 1 2 Jaydon Cuesta, Christian Collado, Keala Pascua, Brad Iaulualo, Greg Tialavea, Stanford Salavea, Maunaloa Aitaoto, Kawika Fuga, 3 Alii Tuitoelau, Kalua Ellis, Chris Atualevao, Gerald O'Reilly, 4 Melchor Moises, Kyle Ontiveros, Genesis Ponce, Raymond 5 Cartwright, Haani Aitaoto, Josh Quinn, Bronson Smithe, Tavana 6 Alailima, Ryan DeSaulniers, Jordan Jenks, Charles Robinson, Noel 7 8 Cabato, Blaine Edra, Nate Hall, Elijah Manaea, Ronald Santos, Joe Ruane, Jermaine Schuster, Kaumu Delos Santos, Sione Sami, 9 10 Jeremy Suguitan, Kamana Akagi, Nate Schuster, Alex Ruiz, and Jiniki Timoteo -- could match the accomplishments of the 11 legendary 1984 Leilehua football team that became Prep Bowl 12 champions; and 13

15 WHEREAS, despite not knowing what to expect during the 2007 16 season, the sixty-one young men who joined the varsity team 17 worked extremely hard under the expert tutelage of their 18 coaching staff to pursue a common objective -- to become 19 champions -- and together they persevered by exemplifying hard 20 work, dedication, sacrifice, humility, and teamwork to achieve 21 their goal; and

23 WHEREAS, "BELIEVING" was paramount to the success of the
 24 LEILEHUA HIGH SCHOOL MULES VARSITY FOOTBALL TEAM during the 2007
 25 season; and

WHEREAS, after defeating Kailua by the score of 6-3, and Radford by the score of 41-0 in their first two season games, the LEILEHUA HIGH SCHOOL MULES VARSITY FOOTBALL TEAM fell on hard times in which the team suffered loses to Punahou by the score of 19-28 and Mililani by the score of 14-16; and

WHEREAS, it became a rollercoaster of a season for the next few weeks as the LEILEHUA HIGH SCHOOL MULES VARSITY FOOTBALL TEAM secured a win over Wai'anae by the score of 8-0, followed by a loss to Kapolei by the score of 0-20; and

WHEREAS, the Kapolei game was followed by a win over Aiea
by the score of 21-6, and a loss to Campbell by the score of 2140 22; and

HR HMS 2008-3339

H.R. NO. 327

1 WHEREAS, the loss to Campbell would be the last loss of the 2 season for the LEILEHUA HIGH SCHOOL MULES VARSITY FOOTBALL TEAM, as the team finished off the regular season by defeating Castle 3 by the score of 36-13, and Mililani by the score of 27-21, to 4 finish off the regular season with a record of 6-4; and 5 6 WHEREAS, momentum from winning their last two regular 7 8 season games propelled the team through the playoffs as they prevailed in three straight playoff victories against Farrington 9 by the score of 7-3, Wai'anae by the score of 12-3, and Baldwin 10 by the score of 41-34 leading the LEILEHUA HIGH SCHOOL MULES 11 VARSITY FOOTBALL TEAM to the State championship game; and 12 13 WHEREAS, on November 30, 2007, the LEILEHUA HIGH SCHOOL 14 15 MULES VARSITY FOOTBALL TEAM demonstrated the essence of Carpe Diem by putting all of their hopes and aspirations into the 16 17 final, heart-pounding 6 minutes and 13 seconds of regulation in the State championship game to come from behind and dethrone 18 perennial Interscholastic League of Honolulu powerhouse Saint 19 Louis Crusaders by the score of 20-16, to win the 2007 Division 20 I Hawaii High School Athletic Association State Football 21 22 Championship; and 23 WHEREAS, the LEILEHUA HIGH SCHOOL MULES VARSITY FOOTBALL 24 TEAM has demonstrated that any dream, any goal, no matter how 25 big, no matter how difficult, can be obtained through hard work, 26 27 discipline, sacrifice, humility, and the steadfast belief in 28 oneself and ones teammates; and 29 30 WHEREAS, the heroic efforts of the LEILEHUA HIGH SCHOOL MULES VARSITY FOOTBALL TEAM to overcome adversity with courage 31 and humility, despite the limitations that existed have made the 32 33 team a source of great pride not only for the Wahiawa community but for the entire State of Hawaii; now therefore, 34 35 BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the 36 Twenty-fourth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular 37 38 Session of 2008, that this body hereby recognizes and congratulates the outstanding members of the LEILEHUA HIGH 39 SCHOOL MULES VARSITY FOOTBALL TEAM on winning the 2007 Division 40 41 I Hawaii High School Athletic Association State Football

HR HMS 2008-3339

H.R. NO. 327

- 1 Championship, applauds their commitment and enthusiasm, and
- 2 extends to each member its warmest aloha and best wishes for
- 3 continued success in all future endeavors.

OFFERED nothe lor Ellatti

