H.R. NO. 324

HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING PASCALE PINNER AS THE 2008 HAWAII STATE TEACHER OF THE YEAR, AND CORI LEI CHONG, DAVID ARAKAKI, SHARI TAKAHASHI, SUZANNE CUMMINGS, LEIGHTON NAKAMOTO, AND KEVIN MATSUNAGA AS THE 2008 HAWAII STATE DISTRICT TEACHERS OF THE YEAR.

1 WHEREAS, in light of the important role the public 2 education system plays in solidifying Hawaii's future, it is 3 always the pleasure and privilege of the Hawaii State House of 4 Representatives to recognize those exceptional individuals who 5 have made significant achievements in the profession of 6 education and have thus inspired our state's youth and otherwise 7 encouraged and involved people in surrounding communities; and 8

9 WHEREAS, PASCALE PINNER, who has taught science at Hilo
10 Intermediate School since 1988, earned a certificate in early
11 adolescent science from the National Board for Professional
12 Teaching Standards in 2002, won the Presidential Award for
13 Excellence in science teaching in 2004, was named the 2008
14 Hawaii District Teacher of the Year, and has now been named the
15 2008 Hawaii State Teacher of the Year; and

WHEREAS, since fulfilling her goal to become a teacher in 1992, CORI LEI CHONG has taught kindergarten and first grade at Kaewai Elementary School and strives to instill a love of learning and a positive attitude in all her students, and her achievements do not go unnoticed as she has been named the 2008 Honolulu District Teacher of the Year; and

24 WHEREAS, DAVID ARAKAKI, who has not only taught seventh and 25 eighth grade math at Moanalua Middle School since 1999, but has 26 coached the school's robotics team to state, national, and 27 international wins, merits the title of 2008 Central District 28 Teacher of the Year; and



16

7

14

22

H.R. NO. 324

1 WHEREAS, SHARI TAKAHASHI, who has served as librarian and 2 fifth- and sixth- grade teacher at Nanaikapono Elementary School 3 since 1993, applies her experience as a non-traditional learner 4 to help students understand concepts they have difficulty 5 understanding, earning her the honor of being chosen the 2008 6 Leeward District Teacher of the Year; and

8 WHEREAS, SUZANNE CUMMINGS, who discovered her passion for 9 teaching while tutoring in Washington state, began teaching at 10 Dole Middle School in 1999 and transferred to Kailua High School 11 in 2000 to teach math, and gives freely of her time to mentor 12 new teachers, warranting her being named the 2008 Windward 13 District Teacher of the Year; and

15 WHEREAS, LEIGHTON NAKAMOTO, who not only earned his 16 bachelor's degree in athletic training but also a masters degree 17 in kinesiology, has taught physical education and health at 18 Kalama Intermediate School since 1994 and has innovated the 19 physical education curriculum by creating a "New PE" with a 20 focus on lifetime fitness, earning him recognition as the 2008 21 Maui District Teacher of the Year; and

WHEREAS, KEVIN MATSUNAGA, who has served as a technology coordinator and media production teacher at both Lehua Elementary School from 1993 to 2000, and Chiefess Kamakahelei Middle School, since 2000, has guided his students on the path to many awards and honors, and has been acknowledged as the 2005 Kauai Wal-Mart Teacher of the Year, and as the 2008 Kauai District Teacher of the Year; and

- 31 WHEREAS, through their dedication and commitment to serving 32 our children in the schools, PASCALE PINNER, CORI LEI CHONG, 33 DAVID ARAKAKI, SHARI TAKAHASHI, SUZANNE CUMMINGS, LEIGHTON 34 NAKAMOTO, and KEVIN MATSUNAGA have proven themselves worthy of 35 being honored as inspirational teachers and role models for our 36 public school community; now, therefore,
- 37

30

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the
Twenty-fourth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular
Session of 2008, that this body hereby recognizes,
congratulates, and honors PASCALE PINNER, CORI LEI CHONG,



H.R. NO. 324

DAVID ARAKAKI, SHARI TAKAHASHI, SUZANNE CUMMINGS, LEIGHTON
 NAKAMOTO, and KEVIN MATSUNAGA for their outstanding
 accomplishments and for being recognized as Hawaii's 2008
 Teachers of the Year, and extends to all of them its most
 sincere mahalo for a job well done.

