increasingly complex society by promoting greater cooperation, understanding and coordination of activities between the separate levels of government. More specifically the purpose of the Commission includes the objectives of:

- (a) Bringing together representatives of the Federal, State, and local governments for the consideration of common problem;
- (b) Providing a forum for discussing the administration and coordination of Federal grant and other programs requiring intergovernmental cooperation:
- (c) Giving critical attention to the conditions and controls involved in the administration of Federal grant programs:
- (d) Making available technical assistance to the executive and legislative branches of the Federal Government in the review of proposed legislation to determine its overall effect on the Federal system;
- (e) Encouraging discussion and study at an early stage of emerging public problems that are likely to require intergovernmental cooperation;
- (f) Recommending within the framework of the Constitution, the most desirable allocation of governmental functions, responsibilities, and revenues amount the several levels of government; and
- (g) Recommending methods of coordinating and simplifying tax laws and administrative practices to achieve a more orderly and less competitive fiscal relationship between the levels of government and to reduce the burden of compliance for taxpayers.

§ 1701.4 Membership of the Commission.

The Commission is composed of twenty-six members, as follows:

- (a) Six appointed by the President of the United States, three of whom are officers of the executive branch of the Government, and three private citizens, all of whom have had experience of familiarity with relations between the levels of government;
- (b) Three appointed by the President of the Senate, who are Members of the Senate:

- (c) Three appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, who are Members of the House;
- (d) Four appointed by the President from a panel of at least eight Governors submitted by the Governors' Conference;
- (e) Three appointed by the President from panel of at least six members of State legislative bodies submitted by the board of managers of the Council of State Governments;
- (f) Four appointed by the President from a panel of at least eight mayors submitted jointly by the American Municipal Association and the United States Conference of Mayors;
- (g) Three appointed by the President from a panel of at least six elected county officers submitted by the National Association of County Officials.

§ 1701.5 Bipartisan nature of Commission.

The members appointed from private life under paragraph (a) of §1701.4 are appointed without regard to political affiliation; of each class of members enumerated in paragraphs (b) and (c) of §1701.4, two are from the majority party of the respective houses; of each class of members enumerated in paragraphs (d), (e), (f) and (g) of §1701.4, not more than two may be from any one political party; of each class of members enumerated in paragraphs (e), (f) and (g) of §1701.4, not more than one from any one State; at least two of the appointees under paragraph (f) are from cities under five hundred thousand population. The term of office of each member of the Commission is two years, but members are eligible for reappointment.

§ 1701.6 Organization of Commission, vacancies, quorum.

- (a) The President designates a Chairman and a Vice Chairman from among members of the Commission.
- (b) Any vacancy in the membership of the Commission is filled in the same manner in which the original appointment was made; except that where the number of vacancies is fewer than the number of members specified in paragraphs (d), (e), (f) and (g) of §1701.4, each panel of names submitted in accordance with the aforementioned