#### § 1700.735-108

#### § 1700.735-108 Specific provisions of Commission regulations governing special Government employees.

- (a) The term "special Government employee" as used in this part means an officer or employee who is retained, designated, appointed, or employed by the Commission to perform, with or without compensation, for not more than 130 days during any period of 365 consecutive days, temporary duties either on a full-time or intermittent basis.
- (b) Special Government employees shall adhere to the standards of conduct applicable to employees set forth in this part and adopted under §1700.735–101, except that §735.203(b) of this title is not applicable to a special Government employee.
- (c) Pursuant to \$735.305(b) of this title, the Commission authorizes the same exceptions concerning gifts, entertainment, and favors for special Government employees as are authorized for employees by \$1700.735–104.

### § 1700.735-109 Statements of employment and financial interests.

(a) In addition to the employees required to submit statements of employment and financial interests under §735.403(a) of this title, employees in the following named positions shall submit statements of employment and financial interest to the Executive Director:

Assistant Director, Taxation and Finance.

Assistant Director, Governmental Structure and Functions.

Assistant Director, Program Implementation

- (b) The statement of employment and financial interest required by this section shall be submitted by the Executive Director to the Chairman of the Commission.
- (c) An employee who believes that his position has been improperly included in this section as one requiring the submission of a statement of employment and financial interests may obtain a review of his complaint under the agency's grievance procedure.
- (d) A statement of employment and financial interest is not required under this part from Members of the Commission. Members of the Commission are

subject to 3 CFR 100.735-31 and are required to file a statement only if requested to do so by the Counsel to the President.

Note: Notwithstanding the filing of the annual supplementary statement required by 5 CFR 735.406, each employee shall at all times avoid acquiring a financial interest that could result, or taking an action that would result, in a violation of the conflicts-of-interest provisions of section 208 of title 18, United States Code or the regulations in this part or adopted under §735.101.

# PART 1701—ORGANIZATION AND PURPOSE

Sec.

1701.1 Establishment and locations.

1701.2 Name.

1701.3 Purpose.

1701.4 Membership of the Commission.

1701.5 Bipartisan nature of Commission.

1701.6 Organization of Commission, vacancies, quorum.

1701.7 Commission personnel.

1701.8 Activities of the Commission.

1701.9 Step-by-step development of Commission recommendations.

1701.10 Other activities of the Commission.

AUTHORITY: Pub. L. 86-380 of Sept. 24, 1959, 73 Stat 703 (42 U.S.C. 4271).

SOURCE: 51 FR 24800, July 9, 1986, unless otherwise noted

#### § 1701.1 Establishment and locations.

The Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations was established as a permanent independent and bipartisan agency of the Federal Government by Pub. L. 86–380; 73 Stat 703 (43 U.S.C. 4272), enacted in 1959. The Commission's offices are located at 1111 20th Street, NW., Washington, DC 20575.

#### §1701.2 Name.

The formal name of the agency is "Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations." It is also known, and sometimes referred to, as the "Commission," or simply "ACIR."

#### § 1701.3 Purpose.

The underlying purpose of the Commission is to strengthen the ability of the United States federal system of government to meet the problems of an

increasingly complex society by promoting greater cooperation, understanding and coordination of activities between the separate levels of government. More specifically the purpose of the Commission includes the objectives of:

- (a) Bringing together representatives of the Federal, State, and local governments for the consideration of common problem;
- (b) Providing a forum for discussing the administration and coordination of Federal grant and other programs requiring intergovernmental cooperation:
- (c) Giving critical attention to the conditions and controls involved in the administration of Federal grant programs:
- (d) Making available technical assistance to the executive and legislative branches of the Federal Government in the review of proposed legislation to determine its overall effect on the Federal system;
- (e) Encouraging discussion and study at an early stage of emerging public problems that are likely to require intergovernmental cooperation;
- (f) Recommending within the framework of the Constitution, the most desirable allocation of governmental functions, responsibilities, and revenues amount the several levels of government; and
- (g) Recommending methods of coordinating and simplifying tax laws and administrative practices to achieve a more orderly and less competitive fiscal relationship between the levels of government and to reduce the burden of compliance for taxpayers.

### § 1701.4 Membership of the Commission.

The Commission is composed of twenty-six members, as follows:

- (a) Six appointed by the President of the United States, three of whom are officers of the executive branch of the Government, and three private citizens, all of whom have had experience of familiarity with relations between the levels of government;
- (b) Three appointed by the President of the Senate, who are Members of the Senate:

- (c) Three appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, who are Members of the House;
- (d) Four appointed by the President from a panel of at least eight Governors submitted by the Governors' Conference;
- (e) Three appointed by the President from panel of at least six members of State legislative bodies submitted by the board of managers of the Council of State Governments;
- (f) Four appointed by the President from a panel of at least eight mayors submitted jointly by the American Municipal Association and the United States Conference of Mayors;
- (g) Three appointed by the President from a panel of at least six elected county officers submitted by the National Association of County Officials.

### § 1701.5 Bipartisan nature of Commission.

The members appointed from private life under paragraph (a) of §1701.4 are appointed without regard to political affiliation; of each class of members enumerated in paragraphs (b) and (c) of §1701.4, two are from the majority party of the respective houses; of each class of members enumerated in paragraphs (d), (e), (f) and (g) of §1701.4, not more than two may be from any one political party; of each class of members enumerated in paragraphs (e), (f) and (g) of §1701.4, not more than one from any one State; at least two of the appointees under paragraph (f) are from cities under five hundred thousand population. The term of office of each member of the Commission is two years, but members are eligible for reappointment.

## § 1701.6 Organization of Commission, vacancies, quorum.

- (a) The President designates a Chairman and a Vice Chairman from among members of the Commission.
- (b) Any vacancy in the membership of the Commission is filled in the same manner in which the original appointment was made; except that where the number of vacancies is fewer than the number of members specified in paragraphs (d), (e), (f) and (g) of \$1701.4, each panel of names submitted in accordance with the aforementioned