NIAGARA ERIE REGIONAL COALITION

275 OAK ST. SUITE 150 BUFFALO, NEW YORK 14203 NE: 716-856-6525 x121 FAX: 856-6754

PHONE: 716-856-6525 x121 FAX: 856-6 E-MAIL: tkniazuk@ecidany.com

www.erie.gov/regionalcoalition

Co-Chairs:

Hon. Clyde Burmaster Hon. Barry Weinstein, MD

Members:

James Allen Hon. Vince Anello Dr. Ruth Bereson Colleen DiPirro Tim Doolittle Hon. Wright Ellis Matthew Enstice Andrew Eszak Samuel Ferraro Hon. Joel Giambra Robert Gower Hon. Timothy Kennedy Hon. Kathy Konst David Lacki Celeste Lawson Gregory Lewis Hon. Cynthia Locklear Hon, Peter McMahon Hon. John Mills Hal Morse Hon. Jason Murgia Jo Nasoff-Finton Hon. Sean O'Connor John Percy Dr. Gary Praetzel David Roll Hon. William Ross Laura St. Pierre Smith Christopher Schoepflin Hector Titus Timothy Wanamaker Peter Wendel

Ad Hoc:

Michael Casale Melinda Rath Sanderson Lawrence Witul

Executive Director:

Tod A. Kniazuk

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Contact Tod A. Kniazuk, 912-8236

AREA OFFICIALS LAUNCH NIAGARA ERIE REGIONAL COALITION

Focus on economic development, tourism, transportation

Officials from the area's public, private, and non-profit communities today launched the Niagara Erie Regional Coalition to pursue collaborative projects and policy in the fields of economic development, government affairs, tourism and culture, and transportation.

Co-Chaired by Niagara County Legislature Chairman Clyde Burmaster and Erie County Legislator Barry Weinstein, MD, the Regional Coalition is already working on major initiatives such as an economic impact analysis of the two counties' cultural organizations, a regional economic development strategy, outreach to local governments to better include them in the economic development process, and a project to make assistance information more accessible for small businesses.

Also in leadership positions are the Coalition's four subcommittee chairs: economic development, Hector Titus of the Niagara County Building Trades; government affairs, Grand Island Supervisor and Erie County Association of Local Governments representative Peter McMahon; tourism & culture, Buffalo Niagara Convention & Visitors Bureau Director of Tourism David Lacki; transportation, Peter Wendel, president of The Peter Wendel Group.

The Regional Coalition is supported through a commitment of time and financial contribution of its member agencies. "It's important for people and organizations who want to think and act regionally to have a forum for pursuing their initiatives that's independent of any partisanship or parochialism," Co-Chair Weinstein said.

"Membership is open to progressive thinkers and doers who want to be leaders in collaborative action," added Co-Chair Burmaster. "We're not a group that just sits around and talks about what's wrong; we act on how to make things better."

The group is a successor to the Erie-Niagara Regional Partnership (ENRP), an ad hoc subcommittee of the two counties' legislatures formed in 1998.

Following are the Niagara Erie Regional Coalition's member organizations:

Amherst Chamber of Commerce

Amherst Industrial Development Agency

Arts Council in Buffalo & Erie County

Buffalo Niagara Convention & Visitors Bureau

Buffalo Niagara Medical Campus

Buffalo Niagara Partnership

Canisius College Women's Business Center (ad hoc)

City of Buffalo

City of Niagara Falls

Empire State Development

Erie County

Erie County Association of Local Governments

Erie County Industrial Development Agency

Erie County Legislature

Greater Buffalo Niagara Regional Transportation Council

National Electrical Contractors Association

Niagara County

Niagara County Building Trades

Niagara County Center for Economic Development

Niagara County Legislature

Niagara County Supervisors Association

Niagara Frontier Transportation Agency

Niagara Tourism & Convention Corporation

Niagara University College of Hospitality & Tourism Management

The Peter Wendel Group

University at Buffalo Arts Management Program

USA Niagara Development Corporation