October 1, 2007

Ms. Deborah Jordan Director, Air Management Division **United States Environmental Protection Agency** 75 Hawthorne Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Dear Ms. Jordan:

This to advise you that the Bay Area Air Quality Management District is issuing a renewal of the Major Facility Review (Title V) Permit for Browning-Ferris Industries of CA, Inc. (Facility Number A2266) pursuant to Application # 14391.

The District proposed a renewal of the Major Facility Review permit for Facility # A2266 and issued a notice inviting public comments on July 19, 2007. The public comment period ended on August 31, 2007. The EPA comment period ended on September 7, 2007. No comments on this proposed MFR permit renewal were received from the public or EPA.

The District received comments from the consultant for this facility on August 16, 2007 and August 31, 2007. In response to these comments, the District is making the following non-substantial revisions to the permit:

- Correct the gas collection system descriptions in Table II-A and in Condition #10164, Part 17a.
- Correct the description of Condition #10164, Part 17 in Table IV-A.
- Add missing text to Condition #10164, Parts 17 and 18.

The final revised permit can be viewed on the BAAQMD website at http://www.baaqmd.gov/pmt/title_v/public_notices.htm. We will also send a copy of the final permit to you via the Electronic Permit Submittal System. If you have any questions regarding this permit, please call Dennis Jang, Senior Air Quality Engineer, at: (415) 749-4707.

Sincerely yours,

Jack P. Broadbent Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer

JPB:BFB:csa

H:\Engineering\TITLE V Permit AppIs\1 ALL T5 Application Files here\A2266\Renew 14391\Issue\ A2266_14391_Issltr.doc

ALAMEDA COUNTY Tom Bates Scott Haggerty Janet Lockhart Nate Miley

CONTRA COSTA COUNTY

John Gioia Mark Ross (Chair) Michael Shimansky Gayle B. Uilkema

MARIN COUNTY Harold C. Brown, Jr.

NAPA COUNTY Brad Wagenknecht

SAN FRANCISCO COUNTY Chris Daly Jake McGoldrick Gavin Newsom

SAN MATEO COUNTY Jerry Hill (Vice-Chair) Carol Klatt

SANTA CLARA COUNTY Erin Garner Yoriko Kishimoto Liz Kniss Patrick Kwok

> SOLANO COUNTY John F. Silva

SONOMA COUNTY Tim Smith Pamela Torliatt (Secretary)

Jack P. Broadbent EXECUTIVE OFFICER/APCO