Ms. Deborah Jordan Director, Air Management Division **United States Environmental Protection Agency** 75 Hawthorne Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Dear Ms. Jordan:

This is to advise you that the Bay Area Air Quality Management District is issuing a significant revision to the Major Facility Review Permit for Sonoma County Central Landfill. (Facility # A2254) pursuant to Application # 9277.

> The District proposed a significant permit revision for this facility on July 20, 2005. The purpose of this revision is to change the parameter monitoring for the Landfill Gas Fired IC Engines at the facility from exhaust gas temperature to exhaust gas oxygen content as an equivalent means of demonstrating ongoing compliance with NMOC destruction efficiency requirements.

No comments were received from EPA or the public. However, the following minor comments were made by the facility:

- Change the title of the facility contact, Alex Sebastian, from "Plant Site Manager" to Senior Civil Engineer.
- Update the numbers of gas collection wells and collectors given in Table II-A and Permit Condition #4044, Part 4 to account for recent construction activities and include Application #9584 in the list of applications describing system components.
- Add a clause to Permit Condition #19933, Part 11 to give the facility up to 90-days from the permit issuance date to comply with the new IC engine parameter monitoring requirements.

The District supports the comments made by Sonoma County and has made the appropriate minor changes to the permit.

Enclosed is a copy of the final revised permit and a copy of the comments from the facility. If you have any questions regarding this project, please call Steve A Hill, Air Quality Engineering Manager, at (415) 749-4673.

Sincerely yours,

SANTA CLARA COUNTY

Patrick Kwok Julia Miller

SOLANO COUNTY Jack P. Broadbent

Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer

Pamela Torliatt

SAH:rth

Enclosure

EXECUTIVE OFFICER/APCO

ALAMEDA COUNTY Roberta Cooper Scott Haggerty Nate Miley Shelia Young

CONTRA COSTA COUNTY

Mark DeSaulnier Mark Ross (Secretary) Michael Shimansky Gayle B. Uilkema (Vice-Chairperson)

MARIN COUNTY Harold C. Brown, Jr.

NAPA COUNTY Brad Wagenknecht

SAN FRANCISCO COUNTY Chris Daly Jake McGoldrick

Gavin Newsom

SAN MATEO COUNTY Jerry Hill Marland Townsend (Chairperson)

Erin Garner Liz Kniss

John F. Silva

SONOMA COUNTY Tim Smith

Jack P. Broadbent