September 25, 2007

Ms. Deborah Jordan Director, Air Division **United States Environmental Protection Agency** 75 Hawthorne Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Dear Ms. Jordan:

This is to advise you that the Bay Area Air Quality Management District is proposing a minor revision to the Major Facility Review Permit for Waste Management of Alameda County, Facility Number A2066, and is submitting the permit to EPA for review.

The purpose of the minor permit revision is to modify permit conditions for the landfill gas fired IC Engines (S-23 and S-24). These condition revisions will clarify the daily CO monitoring requirements for these engines and will eliminate the need to test for CO on weekends and holidays when the engine facility is not staffed and when the engine is not operating in a normal mode. This revision is minor pursuant to BAAQMD Regulation 2-6-215.

This action will not result in any emission increase. The proposed minor revision will be effective immediately. The permit will be formally re-issued after EPA review. This revision is not subject to public comment and therefore, requires no public notice.

The proposed Major Facility Review Permit and the statement of basis can be viewed and downloaded on the BAAQMD website at <u>http://www.baaqmd.gov/pmt/title\_v/public\_notices.htm</u>. We will also send the documents to you via the Electronic Permit Submittal System. If you have any questions on this matter, please call Dennis Jang, Senior Air Quality Engineer, at: (415) 749-4707, fax (415) 749-5030.

Sincerely,

Signed by Jack P. Broadbent Jack P. Broadbent Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer

JB:BFB:myl

Jack P. Broadbent EXECUTIVE OFFICER/APCO H:\Engineering\TitleV Permit Appls\01 All TV Application Files Here\A2066\Minor Rev –15454\Propose\ A2066minorletters\_15454.doc

## ALAMEDA COUNTY Tom Bates

Janet Lockhart Nate Miley

## CONTRA COSTA COUNTY

John Gioia Mark Ross (Chair) Michael Shimansky Gayle B. Uilkema

MARIN COUNTY Harold C. Brown, Jr.

NAPA COUNTY Brad Wagenknecht

SAN FRANCISCO COUNTY Chris Daly Jake McGoldrick Gavin Newsom

SAN MATEO COUNTY Jerry Hill (Vice-Chair) Carol Klatt

SANTA CLARA COUNTY Erin Garner Yoriko Kishimoto Liz Kniss Patrick Kwok

> SOLANO COUNTY John F. Silva

SONOMA COUNTY Tim Smith Pamela Torliatt (Secretary)