May 17, 2007

Ms. Deborah Jordan Director, Air Division **United States Environmental Protection Agency** 75 Hawthorne Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Dear Ms. Jordan:

This is to advise you that the Bay Area Air Quality Management District is issuing an administrative amendment and is proposing a minor revision to the Major Facility Review Permit for Waste Management of Alameda County, Facility Number A2066, and is submitting the permit to EPA for review.

The administrative amendment will remove two diesel engines (S-191 and S-192) from the permit that have been permanently shut down and replaced with electric motors.

The main purpose of the minor permit revision is to modify permit conditions for the S-140 and S-141 Aerated Biological Reactors, which are part of the wastewater treatment system for the Altamont Landfill. These condition revisions will allow Waste Management to demonstrate compliance with precursor organic compound (POC) emission limits in lieu of meeting wastewater throughput and VOC concentration limits. The proposed conditions retain the current wastewater testing frequency and record keeping requirements and add a POC emission calculation procedure. This revision is minor pursuant to BAAQMD Regulation 2-6-215.

These actions will not result in any emission increases. The administrative amendment and proposed minor revision will be effective immediately. The permit will be formally re-issued after EPA review. This revision is not subject to public comment and therefore, requires no public notice.

The proposed Major Facility Review Permit and the statement of basis can be viewed and downloaded on the BAAQMD website at <u>http://www.baaqmd.gov/pmt/title_v/public_notices.htm</u>. We will also send the documents to you via the Electronic Permit Submittal System. If you have any questions on this matter, please call Dennis Jang, Senior Air Quality Engineer, at: (415) 749-4707, fax (415) 749-5030.

Sincerely,

Signed by Jack P. Broadbent Jack P. Broadbent Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer

ALAMEDA COUNTY Tom Bates Scott Haggerty Janet Lockhart Nate Miley

CONTRA COSTA COUNTY John Gioia Mark Ross (Chair) Michael Shimansky Gayle B. Uilkema

MARIN COUNTY Harold C. Brown, Jr.

NAPA COUNTY Brad Wagenknecht

SAN FRANCISCO COUNTY Chris Daly Jake McGoldrick Gavin Newsom

SAN MATEO COUNTY Jerry Hill (Vice-Chair) Carol Klatt

SANTA CLARA COUNTY Erin Garner Yoriko Kishimoto Liz Kniss

> SOLANO COUNTY John F. Silva

Patrick Kwok

SONOMA COUNTY

Tim Smith Pamela Torliatt (Secretary)

Jack P. Broadbent EXECUTIVE OFFICER/APCO

JB:BFB:myl