November 20, 2006

Ms. Deborah Jordan Director of Air Management Division **United States Environmental Protection Agency** 75 Hawthorne Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Re: ConocoPhillips – San Francisco Refinery - Facility #A0016

Minor and Significant Revisions to Major Facility Review Permit pursuant to Application 13690

Dear Ms. Jordan:

This is to advise you that the Bay Area Air Quality Management District is proposing minor and significant revisions to the Major Facility Review Permit for ConocoPhillips – San Francisco Refinery (Facility Number A0016).

The purpose of this action is to remove restrictions on barge loading at S425 and S426, Marine Terminals, to incorporate recent changes in BAAQMD Regulation 8, Rule 44, and to approve an alternative monitoring plan for 40 CFR 60, Subpart J, for the marine terminal thermal oxidizer.

The District is inviting public comment on the significant revisions. The notice inviting written public comment will be published in the Contra Costa Times. The final date for comments is December 27, 2006. The proposal has been submitted to EPA for concurrent review. The minor revisions are effective immediately. The significant revisions will not be effective until they are issued.

Attached is a Statement of Basis that includes the revised parts of the permit.

If you have any questions on this matter, please call **Barry Young, Air Quality Engineering** Manager, at (415) 749-4721.

Very truly yours,

Jack P. Broadbent Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer

SANTA CLARA COUNTY Erin Garner

Yoriko Kishimoto Liz Kniss Patrick Kwok

Enclosures

SOLANO COUNTY John F. Silva

SONOMA COUNTY Tim Smith Pamela Torliatt

Jack P. Broadbent EXECUTIVE OFFICER/APCO JPB:BGY:bfc

H:\Engineering\TITLE V Permit Appls\1 ALL T5 Application Files here\A0016\sig-13691\A0016sig proposal-13691.DOC

Tom Bates Scott Haggerty Janet Lockhart Nate Miley

ALAMEDA COUNTY

CONTRA COSTA COUNTY Mark DeSaulnier Mark Ross (Vice-Chair) Michael Shimansky Gayle B. Uilkema (Chair)

MARIN COUNTY Harold C. Brown, Jr.

NAPA COUNTY Brad Wagenknecht

SAN FRANCISCO COUNTY Chris Daly Jake McGoldrick Gavin Newsom

SAN MATEO COUNTY Jerry Hill

(Secretary) Carol Klatt