## April 12, 2005

Ms. Deborah Jordan, Director Air Management Division **United States Environmental Protection Agency** 75 Hawthorne Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Dear Ms. Jordan:

The requirements for public and EPA review of the following proposed reopening to a Major Facility Review Permit pursuant to Application 11699 have been completed:

Facility #	Facility Name	Address, City	Type of Operation
A0016	ConocoPhillips – San Francisco Refinery	1380 San Pablo Ave. Rodeo, CA 94572	Petroleum Refinery

The purpose of the reopening is to make throughput conditions for furnaces in BAAQMD Condition 1694, part A.1, federally enforceable and to delete inaccurate citations from 40 CFR 60, Subparts VV and QQQ.

The District sent the formal notice of reopening pursuant to BAAQMD Regulation 2-6-415 on December 16, 2004. The District invited public comment on the proposed changes to the permit and on changes made to the draft permit published February 1, 2005. The notice was published in the Contra Costa Times on February 15, 2004. The final date for comments was March 15, 2005. The District received comments from Pillsbury Winthrop on the facility's behalf and on behalf of ChevronTexaco and Valero Refining.

The minor revisions pursuant to Application 10871 are also being issued. EPA has not commented on these revisions.

The District has decided to issue the Major Facility Review Permit. Enclosed are copies of the final permit, the comments, and the responses to comments. If you have any questions regarding this project, please call Steve A Hill, Air Quality Engineering Manager, at (415) 749-4673.

Sincerely,

Jack P. Broadbent Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer

SAH:BFC:myl

Enclosures

H:\PUB\_DATA\TITLE V Permit Appls\1 ALL T5 Application Files here\A0016\Reopen (Rev 1.5) 11699\1.0 Working docs/A0016\_1.5\_Issuance.doc.0 Working docs/A0016\_1.5\_Issuance.doc

Roberta Cooper Scott Haggerty Nate Miley Shelia Young

ALAMEDA COUNTY

CONTRA COSTA COUNTY Mark DeSaulnier Mark Ross (Secretary) Michael Shimansky Gayle B. Uilkema (Vice-Chairperson)

MARIN COUNTY Harold C. Brown, Jr.

NAPA COUNTY Brad Wagenknecht

SAN FRANCISCO COUNTY Chris Daly Jake McGoldrick Gavin Newsom

SAN MATEO COUNTY Jerry Hill Marland Townsend (Chairperson)

SANTA CLARA COUNTY Erin Garner Liz Kniss Patrick Kwok Julia Miller

> SOLANO COUNTY John F. Silva

SONOMA COUNTY Tim Smith Pamela Torliatt

Jack P. Broadbent EXECUTIVE OFFICER/APCO