### APPENDIX 22. STUDY PANELS AND GROUP OF EXPERTS MEMBERSHIPS

Note: This is a final list of members for each of the four panels, and for the Group of Experts, as of October 23, 2000. These are special groups that NCLIS established to assist the Commission in formulating findings, conclusions, and recommendations, and/or reviewing and critiquing those findings and recommendations, for the Comprehensive Assessment of Public Information Dissemination.

## FINAL PANEL AND GROUP OF EXPERTS MEMBERSHIPS FOR THE NCLIS COMPREHENSIVE ASSESSMENT OF PUBLIC INFORMATION DISSEMINATION<sup>24</sup>

## PANEL ONE—NTIS BUSINESS MODEL

*Chair:* **Peter Urbach**, Retired, former Deputy Director, National Technical Information Service (NTIS), former publishing industry executive

#### Members:

**Kenneth Allen**, Executive Vice President & CEO National Newspaper Association, formerly OMB/OIRA Staff

Steve Arnold, President, Arnold Information Technology

**Ernest G. Baldwin**, Director, Library Program Service, Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO)

**Mel Day**, Retired, former Director, National Technical Information Service (NTIS), former Deputy Director, National Library of Medicine (NLM)

Mike Majcher, Retired, former Manager, Technical Information Center, Xerox Corporation

Steve Needle, Assistant to Director, National Technical Information Service (NTIS)

Kent Smith, Deputy Director, NLM

Tim Sprehe, Sprehe Information Management Associates, formerly OMB/OIRA

Kenneth Wiggin, State Librarian, Connecticut State Library

**Jay Young**, Retired, former Director, Sales Service and Director, Library Programs, Superintendent of Documents/GPO

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>24</sup> Available at <a href="http://www.nclis.gov/govt/assess/assess.appen22.pdf">http://www.nclis.gov/govt/assess/panelmem.html</a>.

#### PANEL TWO—INTERNAL GOVERNMENT USERS

Chair: Kurt Molholm, Administrator, Defense Technical Information Center, and Chair, CENDI

Members:

**Owen Ambur**, Systems Analyst, Division of Information Resources Management, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Department of the Interior

Lawrence Brandt, Program Director for Digital Government, National Science Foundation (NSF)

Jonda Byrd, National Library Network Program Manager, Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Bonnie Carroll, Executive Director, CENDI, and President, Information International Associates

**Blane Dessy**, Director, Library Staff, Department of Justice, and Vice Chair, Federal Library and Information Center Committee (FLICC)

**T. C. Evans**, Assistant Director, Office of Electronic Information Dissemination Services, U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO)

Walter Finch, Associate Director for Business Development, National Technical Information Service (NTIS)

Patrice McDermott, Co-Director, Agenda for Access, OMB Watch

**Ray Mosley**, Director, Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)

**Al Pesachowitz**, Director, IT Consulting, Grant Thornton LLP, formerly CIO, Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and Vice Chairman, CIO Council

**George J. Roncaglia**, Head, Scientific and Technical Information Program Office, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

John A. Shuler, Richard J. Daily Library, University of Illinois at Chicago

**Kent Smith**, Deputy Director, National Library of Medicine (NLM)

**J. Timothy Sprehe**, Sprehe Information Management Associates, Inc.

**Susan Tarr**, Executive Director, Federal Library and Information Center Committee (FLICC), Library of Congress

Walter Warnick, Director, Office of Scientific and Technical Information, Department of Energy

Observers: **Ann Miller**, Duke University and President, Government Documents Roundtable (GODORT) of the American Library Association (ALA), and **Lynne Bradley**, Washington Office, American Library Association (ALA)

# PANEL THREE—EXTERNAL (TO GOVERNMENT) USERS

Chair: Miriam Drake, Dean and Director of Libraries, Georgia Institute of Technology

Members:

Prudence Adler, Association of Research Libraries

**Lewis Bellardo**, Deputy Archivist of the United States, National Archives and Records Administration

Kevin Donovan, Environmental Protection Agency

Sharon Hogan, University of Illinois, Chicago

Barbie Keiser, Information Resources Management Consultant

Diane Nester Kresh, Library of Congress

Bernie Margolis, Boston Public Library

Jim McGinty, Cambridge Information Group

Barbara Peterson, 3M Library and Information Services

Barbara Quint, Searcher Magazine

Dale Stanley, Pfizer, Inc.

Rick Weingarten, American Library Association

Freida Weise, University of Maryland

Gladys Ann Wells, Director and State Librarian, Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records

#### PANEL FOUR—PUBLIC-PRIVATE SECTOR PARTNERSHIPS

Chair: Wavne Kelley, Retired, former Superintendent of Documents, GPO, former industry executive

Members: Mary Alice Baish, American Association of Law Libraries

Francis Buckley, Superintendent of Documents, U.S. government Printing Office

Anne Caputo, Special Libraries Association

Blane Dessy, Director, Library Staff, Department of Justice

**Dan Duncan**, Consultant, former Vice President for Public Relations, Software and Information Industry Association, and previously Information Industry Association

Wally Finch, Associate Director for Business Development, National Technical Information Service

Neal Gregory, Consultant

Donald Hagen, Bernan Associates

**Richard Kaser**, Executive Director, National Federation of Abstracting and Information Services (NFAIS)

Nancy Kranich, President, American Library Association

David LeDuc, Software and Information Industry Association

Edwin Levine, Chief Information Officer, Environmental Protection Agency

Eric Massant, Reed Elsevier, Inc.

Peyton Neal, Consultant, PRN Associates

James Nelson, State Librarian and Commissioner for Libraries and Archives, Kentucky

Roxanne Williams, formerly U.S. Department of Agriculture

Observers: Lynne Bradley, American Library Association; Steve Buckley, Radian, Inc.

## **GROUP OF EXPERTS**

Christopher Burns, President, Christopher Burns Inc.

**Edward A. Fox**, Director, Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations, NDLTD, and Professor, Department of Computer Science, Virginia Tech

Robert M. Hayes, Professor Emeritus, Graduate School of Education and Information Studies, UCLA

Don Langenberg, Chancellor, University System of Maryland

**M. Stuart Lynn**, Retired, and formerly Associate Vice President, Information Resources & Communications, Office of the President, University of California

Deanna Marcum, President, Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR)

Raymond T. Nimmer, Leonard Childs Professor of Law, University of Houston Law Center

Henry Perritt, Dean, Vice President and Professor of Law, Chicago-Kent College of Law, Chicago

Ron Plesser, Piper Marbury Rudnick & Wolfe LLP

William H. Price, Retired, and Former Director, Foreign Affairs Information Center, Department of State

Carol A. Risher, Senior Vice President, Business Development, Savantech, Inc.

Thomas Susman, Ropes & Gray

Paul Uhlir, National Academy of Sciences

Paul Zurkowski, Newspaper Editor, and former President, Information Industry Association