NEWS FROM NOAA NATIONAL OCEANIC & ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION • US DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Contact: Connie Barclay FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

(301) 713-2370 June 29, 2006

COMMERCE ANNOUNCES 2006 OCEAN FISHERY COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS

The Commerce Department today announced the appointment of 29 members to the eight regional fishery management councils. The councils, established by the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act, prepare fishery management plans for marine fish stocks in their respective geographical areas of responsibility. NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service submits the management plans to the Secretary of Commerce for review and approval.

"With passage of a reauthorized Magnuson-Stevens Act, the council's members will not only focus on continuing the progress we've made managing our Nation's living marine resources, they will implement the new statutory provisions," said Dr. Bill Hogarth, NOAA Fisheries Service Director. "Again this year, we have selected a group of highly qualified and dedicated individuals to serve on the eight regional fishery management councils."

Council members represent diverse interests, including commercial and recreational fisheries, as well as environmental, academic and other interests from each geographic area. The Secretary of Commerce appoints a total of 72 obligatory and at-large members to the eight regional councils. Council members serve three-year terms, and may be reappointed to serve up to three consecutive terms. Approximately one-third of the terms expire annually.

Each year on behalf of the Secretary, the director of the National Marine Fisheries Service solicits nominations from the governors of fishing states, and oversees the annual appointment process. The Secretary selects council members from the list of nominees provided by the governors to fill obligatory and at-large seats that have become available due to an expiring term, a resignation or other reason. Obligatory seats are state-specific, while at-large seats are regional in scope.

New England Council

The New England Council includes members from the states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. The appointees for 2006 fill obligatory seats for Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Rhode Island, and one atlarge seat.

Obligatory seats:

Sally E. McGee – Connecticut

James A. Odlin - Maine

Rodney M. Avila – Massachusetts

David E. Preble - Rhode Island

At-large seat:

Dana B. Rice, Sr. - Maine

Mid-Atlantic Council

The Mid-Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Virginia. The appointees for 2006 fill obligatory seats for New Jersey and Virginia, and two at-large seats.

Obligatory seats:

Edward L. Goldman - New Jersey

Jeffrey D. Deem - Virginia

At-large seats:

Laurie A. Nolan – New York

Dennis L. Spitsbergen – North Carolina

South Atlantic Council

The South Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Florida, Georgia, North Carolina and South Carolina. The appointees for 2006 fill obligatory seats for Georgia and Florida, and two at-large seats:

Obligatory seats:

Charles D. Harris – Georgia

Anthony L. Iarocci – Florida

At-large seats:

John A. Wallace -Georgia

Benjamin M. Currin -North Carolina

Caribbean Council

The Caribbean Council includes members from the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The appointees for 2006 fill the obligatory seat for the Virgin Islands and one-at large seat.

Obligatory seat:

Virdin C. Brown – U.S. Virgin Islands

At-large seat:

Marcos R. Hanke Herrero – Puerto Rico

Gulf Council

The Gulf Council includes members from the states of Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas. The appointees for 2006 fill obligatory seats for Alabama, Florida and Louisiana and two at-large seats.

Obligatory seats:

Bobbi M. Walker – Alabama

Robert P. Gill – Florida

Susan S. Villere - Louisiana

At-large seats:

Harlon H. Pearce - Louisiana

Pacific Council

The Pacific Council includes members from the states of California, Idaho, Oregon and Washington. The appointees for 2006 fill obligatory seats for California and Oregon. and two at-large seats.

Obligatory Seats: Kathleen A. Fosmark - California Frank R. Warrens – Oregon

At-large seats: Donald K. Hansen – California Dale D. Myer - Washington

North Pacific Council

The North Pacific Council includes members from the states of Alaska and Washington. The appointees for 2006 fill obligatory seats for Alaska and Washington.

Obligatory seats:
Arne J. Fuglvog – Alaska
Edward B. Rasmuson – Alaska
David Benson – Washington

Western Pacific Council

The Western Pacific Council includes members from the American-flagged Pacific islands of American Samoa and Guam, the state of Hawaii and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. The appointees for 2006 fill the obligatory seats for American Samoa and Guam.

Obligatory seats: Stephen Haleck – American Samoa Manuel P. Duenas, II – Guam

NOAA is dedicated to enhancing economic security and national safety through the prediction and research of weather and climate-related events and information service delivery for transportation, and by providing environmental stewardship of our nation's coastal and marine resources. Through the emerging Global Earth Observation System of Systems (GEOSS), NOAA is working with its federal partners and more than 60 countries to develop a global monitoring network that is as integrated as the planet it observes.

###

NOAA Fisheries Service: www.nmfs.noaa.gov

NOAA: www.noaa.gov

The 2005 Report to Congress on Apportionment of Membership on the Regional

Fishery Management Councils is available on the Internet at:

http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/reg_svcs/councils.htm

Magnuson Stevens Reauthorization on the web: http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/msa2005/