

Phone: (202) 606-9200 • Fax: (202) 606-9203 E-Mail: info@nclis.gov • Web: www.nclis.gov

1800 M Street, NW ◆ Suite 350 North Tower Washington, DC 20036-5841

News Release

Contact: Information Officer 1-202 606 9200 info@nclis.gov

For Immediate Release

AWARDS PRESENTED AT ANNUAL FEDERAL-STATE COOPERATIVE SYSTEM (FSCS) PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT CONFERENCE

Washington, DC USA, January 9, 2006—The 2005 Helen M. Eckard Award for Exemplary Use of FSCS Data was presented by Data Use Subcommittee Chair Lynn Shurden to Al Zimmerman, Wisconsin State Data Coordinator, on behalf of the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. This year's award criteria was given for the most user friendly State Library Agency website providing their state's statistics and other statistical sites. The website also had charts using historical data for public libraries of Wisconsin. The Eckard Award, first presented in 1995, is named for an NCES staff member who provided outstanding leadership as a professional librarian for the support of the Library Statistics Program.

The 2005 Francis Keppel Awards were presented to 39 states during the annual FSCS Professional Development Conference on Wednesday, December 14, 2005. The Keppel Award is named after Francis Keppel, a U.S. Commissioner of Education who served from 1962 to 1965. He also served as a distinguished member of the U.S. National Commission on Libraries and Information Science (NCLIS) from 1978 to 1983. Dr. Keppel was an early and enthusiastic advocate of reliable and regularly reported national, state, and local library statistics that would provide a basis for public policy formulation and the improvement of library services to the entire spectrum of the U.S. population. Patience Frederiksen, Chair of the FSCS Steering Committee presented the Award to 8 first-time State Data Coordinator (SDC) winners. The first Awards were earned by four states at the 1992 annual Training Workshop. To date, all but two territories have earned the Award.

The Award is presented each year to the qualifying Chief Officers (listed first) and SDCs (listed second) of state library agencies. The Award is given for submitting prompt, complete, and high-quality public library data and is in the form of an abacus with a mounted engraved brass plate. Beginning this year, a new criteria based on points earned (minimum 25; maximum 30) was used for receiving the award.

Following is a list of the 2005 Keppel Award recipients (First time winners name in bold; # in parentheses after State name denotes # of awards the State has received including 2005. This is for FY 2004 data submission):

ALABAMA (7) Rebecca Mitchell, Hulen Bivens

ARIZONA (8) GladysAnn Wells, **Laura Stone** ARKANSAS (11) Jack Mulkey, Carolyn Ashcraft

CALIFORNIA (9)
Susan Hildreth, Ira Bray

COLORADO (10)

Gene Hainer, Keith Lance

CONNECTICUT (10)
Kendall Wiggin, Joanne Turschmann

Rendan Wiggin, Joanne Turschmann

DELAWARE (12)

Annie Norman, Despina Wilson

DIST. OF COLUMBIA (7)
Richard L. Jackson, **Bette Ann Hubbard**

FLORIDA (12) Judith Ring, Amy Johnson

GEORGIA (8) Lamar Veatch, Susan Roberts

IDAHO (13) **Ann Joslin**, Frank Nelson

IOWA (15) Mary Wegner, Gerry Rowland

KENTUCKY (13) James Nelson, Jay Bank

LOUISIANA (10) **Rebecca Hamilton**, Gretchen Fairbanks

MAINE (10)
J. Gary Nichols, Felicia Kennedy

MASSACHUSETTS (12) Robert C. Maier, Dianne Carty

MISSISSIPPI (13) Sharman Smith, Lynn Shurden

MISSOURI (7) Sara Parker, **Michaela Hansen**

MONTANA (12) **Darlene Staffeldt**, Suzanne Reymer

NEBRASKA (12) Rod Wagner, Kit Keller

NEVADA (7) Sara Jones, Holly Van Valkenburgh NEW MEXICO (8) Richard Akeroyd, **Geraldine Hutchins**

NORTH CAROLINA (13)
Sandra Cooper, Timothy Owens

NORTH DAKOTA (13) Doris Ott, Cheryl Haldorson

OHIO (14)

Joanne Budler, Darla Cottrill

OKLAHOMA (7) Susan McVey, **Cathy Van Hoy**

OREGON (5) James Scheppke, Ann Reed

PENNYSLVANIA (8)

Mary Clare Zales, Matthew Kane

RHODE ISLAND (14) Anne Parent, Ann Piascik

SOUTH CAROLINA (14)

Patti Butcher, Libby Law

TENNESSEE (13)

Jeanne Sugg, Shelley Fugitt

TEXAS (12)
Peggy Rudd, Margaret Whitehead

UTAH (14) Donna Jones Morris, **Douglas Abrams**

VERMONT (12)
Sybil Brigham McShane, Marianne Kotch

VIRGINIA (9) Nolan Yelich, Carol Adams

WASHINGTON (14) Jan Walsh, **Evelyn Lindberg**

WEST VIRGINIA (13) J.D. Waggoner, Steve Fesenmaier

WISCONSIN (13)
Richard Grobschmidt, Alan Zimmerman

WYOMING (12) Lesley Boughton, Debbie Buchmeier FSCS is a cooperative program of the National Center for Education Statistics and the U.S. National Commission on Libraries and Information Science that has been in operation since 1988. The purpose of the Professional Development Conference is to improve the annual collection, reporting, and use of national public library data. Participants included Data Coordinators from all of the States and Territories.

"The mission of the Statistics Center shall be (1) to collect and analyze education information and statistics in a manner that meets the highest methodological standards; (2) to report education information and statistics in a timely manner; and (3) to collect, analyze, and report education information and statistics in a manner that (A) is objective, secular, neutral, and nonideological and is free of partisan political influence and racial, cultural, gender, or regional bias; and (B) is relevant and useful to practitioners, researchers, policymakers, and the public." — Section 151(b) of the Education Sciences Reform Act, as amended (P.L. 107-279).

The U.S. National Commission on Libraries and Information Science (NCLIS) is a permanent, independent agency of the Federal government charged by Public Law 91-345 to advise the President and Congress on national and international library and information policies, to appraise and assess the adequacies and deficiencies of library and information resources and services, and to develop overall plans for meeting national library and information needs.