Earth Observatory Home NASA Data and Images Features News Reference Missions Experiments
NASA's Earth Observatory
Earth Observatory Navigation Bar

The purpose of NASA’s Earth Observatory is to provide a freely-accessible publication on the Internet where the public can obtain new satellite imagery and scientific information about our home planet. The focus is on Earth’s climate and environmental change. In particular, we hope our site is useful to public media and educators. Any and all materials published on the Earth Observatory, including images, are freely available for re-publication or re-use, including commercial purposes, with the following exceptions:

  • where copyright is indicated, you must obtain the copyright holder’s permission; we usually provide links to the organization that holds the copyright,
  • images from the SeaWiFS sensor older than five years are in the public domain and can be re-used or re-published for any purpose. Images less than five years old can be re-used only for educational or scientific purposes; any commercial use of such images must be coordinated with ORBIMAGE.

We ask that NASA’s Earth Observatory be given credit for its original materials; the only mandatory credit is NASA.

We encourage Earth scientists and science writers from all NASA centers, as well as all agencies and universities affiliated with NASA’s Earth Science Enterprise, to submit articles and/or images for publication on the Earth Observatory. Prospective contributing authors and graphic artists should refer to our Online Style Guide before submitting.

Kevin Ward
team leader
technical/development lead
Rebecca Lindsey
chief editor
Robert Simmon
art director

Jesse Allen
data visualizer / images & data editor
Steve Cole
newsroom editor
Goran Halusa
programmer / dba / designer
Holli Riebeek
writer / natural hazards editor
Michon Scott
writer / programmer
Reto Stöckli
data visualizer

Jeannie Allen, Clare Averil, Gretchen Cook-Anderson, Mike Betwy, Steve Graham, Steve Lang, Laura Rocchio, Alan Ward, the Image Science and Analysis Group at NASA’s Johnson Space Center, the MODIS Rapid Response Team at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center, and NASA Earth Science Data Centers Communications Team

Michael King
eos senior project scientist
Jon Ranson
terra project scientist
Claire Parkinson
aqua project scientist
Darrel Williams
landsat 7 project scientist
Mark Abbott
Oregon State University
Michael Abrams
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
John Gille
University of Colorado
James Hansen
Goddard Institute for Space Studies
Ralph Kahn
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
V. Ramanathan
Scripps Institute
Steven Running
University of Montana
Bruce Wielicki
NASA Langley Research Center

David Herring, Dan Singhal, Tara Hess, John Weier, Dave Olsen, Krishna Ramanujan, Alex McClung, Stephen Cole, Mike Heney, Craig Mayhew, Greg Shirah, Ereni Gleason, Kelly An, Barbara Summey, Marit Jentoft-Nilsen, Lori Perkins, Tom Bridgman, Stuart Snodgrass, Alex Kekesi, Jacqueline Anderson, Teresita Metzbower, Diane Musick, Hailey King, Melanie Flanagan, Nina Hoffman, Jessica Phelan, Donald Walker, William Bandeen, Annette Langley, Laurie Schmidt, Jennifer Bohlander, Laura Naranjo, Rachel Hauser, Robin Williams

Webby Awards People's Voice Winner (2008)   Webby Awards People's Voice Winner (2007)
Webby Awards Winner (2003)   Webby Awards People's Voice Winner (2003)
  Webby Awards People's Voice Winner (2002)  
NSTA Scientific Link   Scientific American Sci/Tech Web Awards 2002
2001 NASA Group
Achievement Award
  Goddard Space Flight Center Logo
2001 Goddard Public Service
Group Achievement Award
STC Best of Show 1999 Educating.Net Featured Site Popular Science 50 Best of the Web
Study Web Academic Excellence Award   Internet Scout Project Science and Engineering Selection
GovSpot Site of the Week   N.A.A. Astronomy Site of the Week

Subscribe to the Earth Observatory
About the Earth Observatory
Contact Us
Privacy Policy and Important Notices
Responsible NASA Official: Lorraine A. Remer
Webmaster: Goran Halusa
We're a part of the Science Mission Directorate