

Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President Eisenhower Executive Office Building Washington, DC 20502

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 23, 2004

Contact: Bob Hopkins (202) 456-6098

rhopkins@ostp.eop.gov

PRESIDENT BUSH NOMINATES EIGHT TO NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

President Bush today nominated eight candidates to serve on the National Science Board. The nominees are:

Dan Arvizu of Colorado

Chief Technology Officer for Industrial and Federal Businesses, CH2M Hill Companies, Ltd. and Executive Director for Energy and Technologies at the University of Chicago

Steven C. Beering of Indiana

President Emeritus, Purdue University

G. Wayne Clough of Georgia

President, Georgia Institute of Technology

Kelvin Kay Droegemeier of Oklahoma

Regents' Professor of Meteorology, School of Meteorology Roger and Sherry Teigen Presidential Professor Director, Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms University of Oklahoma

Louis J. Lanzerotti of New Jersey

Distinguished Professor of Physics, Center for Solar Terrestrial Research, Department of Physics, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Alan I. Leshner of Maryland

CEO, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Jon C. Strauss of California

President, Harvey Mudd College

Kathryn D. Sullivan of Ohio

President and CEO, Center of Science and Industry (COSI)

"These nominations continue a tradition of outstanding appointments to this important Board," said John H. Marburger III, Science Advisor to the President and Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy. "The National Science Board plays an important role in the science policymaking process and I am confident that the highly qualified and distinguished individuals named today will be critical in strengthening the nation's science enterprise."

The National Science Board is an independent policy body established by Congress in 1950 with dual responsibilities to:

- Oversee and guide the activities of, and establish policies for, the National Science Foundation;
- Serve as an independent national science policy body that provides advice to the President and the Congress on policy issues related to science and engineering that have been identified by the President, Congress or the Board itself.

The Board has 24 members appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate, plus the NSF Director as an *ex officio me*mber.

About the Office of Science and Technology Policy

Congress established OSTP in 1976 with a broad mandate to advise the President and others within the Executive Office of the President on the impacts of science and technology on domestic and international affairs. The 1976 Act also authorizes OSTP to lead an interagency effort to develop and to implement sound science and technology policies and budgets and to work with the private sector, state and local governments, the science and higher education communities, and other nations toward this end. The Director of OSTP serves as co-chair of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology and oversees the National Science and Technology Council on behalf of the President. For more information visit www.ostp.gov.