

Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President

New Executive Office Building Washington, DC 20502

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 12, 2007

Contact: Kristin Scuderi (202) 456-6124 kscuderi@ostp.eop.gov

PRESIDENT BUSH ANNOUNCES THE RECIPIENTS OF THE 2005 NATIONAL MEDAL OF TECHNOLOGY

WASHINGTON-- Today President George W. Bush announced the recipients of the Nation's highest honor for technology, naming the recipients of the 2005 National Medal of Technology.

This prestigious award honors America's leading innovators. The award is given to individuals, teams, and/or companies/divisions for their outstanding contributions to the nation's economic, environmental and social well-being through the development and commercialization of technology products, processes and concepts; technological innovation; and development of the Nation's technological manpower.

The Department of Commerce administers the award, which was established by an act of Congress in 1980. For more information about the National Medal of Technology visit: http://www.technology.gov/medal/

The 2005 National Medal of Technology Laureates:

Alfred Y. Cho, Lucent Technologies—Murray Hill, NJ Dean L. Sicking, University of Nebraska-Lincoln—Lincoln, NE Wyeth Pharmaceuticals Team —Madison, NJ

- --Ronald Eby, retired—Syracuse, NY
- --Velupillai Puvanesarajah—Sanford, NC
- --Dace Madore, retired—Pittsford, NY
- --Maya Koster—Pearl River, NY

Genzyme Corporation—Cambridge, MA Semiconductor Research Corporation—Durham, NC Xerox Corporation—Stamford, CT