

Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President New Executive Office Building Washington, DC 20502

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 13, 2005

Contact: Bob Hopkins (202) 456-6098 rhopkins@ostp.eop.gov

White House Announces 2004 Awards for Early Career Scientists and Engineers

The White House today announced the recipients of the 2004 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the nation's highest honor for professionals at the outset of their independent research careers. Fifty-eight researchers will be honored today in a ceremony presided over by John H. Marburger III, Science Advisor to the President and Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

The Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, established in 1996, honors the most promising researchers in the nation within their fields. Eight federal departments and agencies annually nominate scientists and engineers at the start of their independent careers whose work shows exceptional promise for leadership at the frontiers of scientific knowledge during the twenty-first century. Participating agencies award these talented scientists and engineers up to five years of funding to further their research in support of critical government missions.

The recipients of the 2004 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, along with their nominating federal department or agency are:

Department of Agriculture

Edward S. Buckler, IV, Agricultural Research Service Devin G. Peterson, Pennsylvania State University Michael K. Schwartz, USDA Forest Service

Department of Commerce

Daniel J. Cziczo, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Michael J. Fasolka, National Institute of Standards and Technology Philip Roni, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Joel N. Ullom, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Department of Defense

Ali Adibi, Georgia Institute of Technology Marija Drndic, University of Pennsylvania David S. Ginger, University of Washington John C. Howell, University of Rochester Raadhakrishnan Poovendran, University of Washington Mark J. Schnitzer, Stanford University

Department of Energy

John R. Arrington, Argonne National Laboratory William J. Ashmanskas, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory Wei Cai, Stanford University William P. King, Georgia Institute of Technology Yunfeng Lu, Tulane University Hong Qin, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory Robert B. Ross, Argonne National Laboratory Paul Vaska, Brookhaven National Laboratory Zhangbu Xu, Brookhaven National Laboratory

Department of Health and Human Services: National Institutes of Health

Luis R. Garcia, Texas A&M University Catherine M. Gordon, Boston Children's Hospital Joanna C. Jen, University of California, Los Angeles Yuhong Jiang, Harvard University Neil L. Kelleher, University of Illinois Tejvir S. Khurana, University of Pennsylvania Robin F. Krimm, University of Louisville Suneeta Krishnan, University of California, San Francisco Kenneth D. Mandl, Children's Hospital of Boston Marisela Morales, National Institute on Drug Abuse Teresa A. Nicolson, Oregon Health and Science University Brenda A. Schulman, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Department of Veterans Affairs

William M. Grady, University of Washington Kevin G. Volpp, University of Pennsylvania

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

David Alexander, Rice University Michael G. Bosilovich, National Aeronautics and Space Administration

National Science Foundation

David V. Anderson, Georgia Institute of Technology Paul H. Barber, Boston University Michael A. Bevan, Texas A&M University Derrick T. Brazill, City University of New York, Hunter College Frank L. H. Brown, University of California, Santa Barbara Marianella Casasola, Cornell University Elaine Chew, University of Southern California Martin L. Culpepper, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Oscar D. Dubon, Jr., University of California, Berkeley Michael J. Garvin, II, Columbia University Sean Gavin, Wayne State University Jennifer A. Jay, University of California, Los Angeles Jun Jiao, Portland State University Shalinee Kishore, Lehigh University Wei Li, University of Washington Donna L. Maney, Emory University Daniel J. Mindiola, Indiana University Becky W. Packard, Mount Holyoke College Russell S. Schwartz, Carnegie Mellon University ChengXiang Zhai, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

About the Office of Science and Technology Policy

Congress established OSTP in 1976 with a broad mandate to advise the President and others within the Executive Office of the President on the impacts of science and technology on domestic and international affairs. The 1976 Act also authorizes OSTP to lead an interagency effort to develop and to implement sound science and technology policies and budgets and to work with the private sector, state and local governments, the science and higher education communities, and other nations toward this end. The Director of OSTP serves as co-chair of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology and oversees the National Science and Technology Council on behalf of the President. For more information visit www.ostp.gov.

###