## THE WHITE HOUSE

# Office of the Press Secretary

# Familiaria Dalagas

## For Immediate Release

February 14, 2005

President George W. Bush today announced the recipients of the nation's highest honor for science and technology, naming the laureates to receive the 2003 National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology. The honorees will receive the medals at a White House ceremony on March 14, 2005.

The National Medal of Science honors individuals in a variety of fields for pioneering scientific research that has led to a better understanding of the world around us, as well as to the innovations and technologies that give the United States its global economic edge. The National Science Foundation administers the award, established by Congress in 1959. For more information about the National Medal of Science visit www.nsf.gov/nsb/awards/nms/medal.htm.

The National Medal of Technology recognizes men and women who embody the spirit of American innovation and have advanced the nation's global competitiveness. Their groundbreaking contributions commercialize technologies, create jobs, improve productivity and stimulate the nation's growth and development. This award, established by Congress in 1980, is administered by the Department of Commerce. For more information about the National Medal of Technology visit <a href="https://www.technology.gov/medal">www.technology.gov/medal</a>.

The 2003 National Medal of Science Laureates:

#### Behavioral/Social Sciences

R. Duncan Luce, University of California, Irvine, Irvine, Calif.

## **Biological Sciences**

- J. Michael Bishop, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, Calif.
- Solomon H. Snyder, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Md.
- Charles Yanofsky, Stanford University, Palo Alto, Calif.

### Engineering

John M. Prausnitz, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, Calif.

#### **Mathematics**

Carl R. De Boor, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Madison, Wis.

## **Physical Sciences**

- G. Brent Dalrymple, Oregon State University, Corvallis, Ore.
- Riccardo Giacconi, The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Md.

### The 2003 National Medal of Technology Laureates:

- Jan D. Achenbach, Northwestern University, Evanston, III.
- Watts S. Humphrey, Software Engineering Institute, Pittsburgh, Pa.
- Robert M. Metcalfe, Polaris Venture Partners, Waltham, Mass.
- Team of: Rodney D. Bagley, retired Corning Incorporated, Corning, N.Y., Irwin Lachman, retired –
  Corning Incorporated, Corning, N.Y., Ronald M. Lewis, former employee Corning Incorporated, Corning,
  N.Y.
- UOP LLC, Des Plaines, III.
- Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, Madison, Wis.