THE WHITE HOUSE

WASHINGTON

Office of Media Affairs

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 19, 2003 **Contact: Kathryn Harrington** (202) 456-6124

PRESIDENT BUSH HONORS NATION'S TOP MATH AND SCIENCE TEACHERS Mrs. Bush Congratulates Teachers at White House Today

The White House today announced the 167 educators to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) for 2002. The teachers were greeted by Mrs. Laura Bush today and had their picture taken with her in the East Room of the White House. The White House recognizes the best of the nation's K-12 mathematics and science teachers with this high honor. The award is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF).

"Our nation needs excellent educators at the elementary and secondary levels," says White House Office of Science and Technology Policy Director and Science Advisor to the President Dr. John Marburger. "The talent and motivation it takes to cultivate young minds deserves recognition. Today, we honor those mathematics and science teachers who bring innovation into the classroom and spark the desire to learn in our children."

The presidential awardees, representing the states, U.S. territories and the U.S. Department of Defense schools, were selected from over 600 national finalists. After an initial selection process at the state or territorial level, a national panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians and educators recommends teachers to receive a presidential award. There are approximately 2 million science and mathematics teachers across the country eligible for this singular honor.

Awardees receive a \$7,500 educational grant for their schools and a trip to Washington, D.C. to accept the citation. The teachers are in the nation's capitol from March 17 - 23, 2003 to participate in a variety of events, meet with members of Congress and the Administration and share their expertise with colleagues. They will receive their awards on Friday evening, March 21, during a ceremony at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center.

This award, established in 1983, honors the nation's leading mathematics and science teachers in four categories – elementary mathematics, elementary science, secondary mathematics and secondary science.

For a complete listing of the awardees visit: https://www.ehr.nsf.gov/pres_awards.