

Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President New Executive Office Building Washington, DC 20502

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 16, 2005

Contact: Bob Hopkins

(202) 456-6098

rhopkins@ostp.eop.gov

## White House Honors Science, Math and Engineering Mentors

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The White House today announced nine individuals and five institutions who will receive the 2004 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM). This Presidential Award recognizes individuals and organizations that have demonstrated a commitment to mentoring students and increasing the participation of minorities, women and disabled students in science, mathematics and engineering. The individual and institutional awardees were honored at an awards ceremony in Washington, DC presided over by John H. Marburger, science advisor to President George W. Bush and director, Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President.

The annual award, administered by the National Science Foundation, includes a \$10,000 grant for continued mentoring work and a Presidential commemorative certificate. The PAESMEM program seeks to identify outstanding mentoring efforts and programs designed to enhance the participation of groups underrepresented in science, mathematics and engineering. The awardees will serve as exemplars to their colleagues and will be leaders in the national effort to more fully develop the Nation's human resources in science, mathematics and engineering.

The 2004 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring awardees are:

## **INDIVIDUAL AWARDEES:**

Dr. Lenore Blum Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Dr. Barbara A. Burke California Polytechnic Pomona Foundation, Inc. Pomona, California Ms. Charlena H. Grimes Washington State University Pullman, Washington

Dr. Richard E. Ladner University of Washington Seattle, Washington Dr. Jeffrey S. Russell University of Wisconsin, Madison Madison, Wisconsin

Dr. Herbert P. Schroeder University of Alaska, Anchorage Anchorage, Alaska

Dr. John C. Warner University of Massachusetts, Boston Boston, Massachusetts Dr. Steven F. Watkins Louisiana Sate University & A&M College Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Dr. Elizabeth G. Yanik Emporia State University Emporia, Kansas

## **INSTITUTIONAL AWARDEES:**

American Society for Cell Biology Bethesda, Maryland Ms. Elizabeth M. Marincola, Accepting

Department of Mathematics University of Iowa Iowa City, Iowa Dr. David C. Manderscheid, Accepting

Miami Museum of Science, Inc. Miami, Florida Dr. Judy A. Brown, Accepting Native Americans in Marine and Space Sciences Program Oregon State University Corvallis, Oregon Dr. Judith R. Vergun, Accepting

Society for the Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science Santa Cruz, California Dr. Refugio I. Rochin, Accepting

For more information on the awards and winners, visit: http://www.nsf.gov/news/news\_summ.jsp?cntn\_id=104137

###