Appendix B. MPA Federal Advisory Committee and Ex Officio Members

Marine Protected Areas Federal Advisory Committee* (30 members**) Dr. Tundi Agardy, Sound Seas Charles Beeker, Indiana University Robert Bendick, The Nature Conservancy David Benton, commercial fishing Dr. Daniel Bromley, University of Wisconsin Dr. Anthony Chatwin, The Nature Conservancy Dr. Michael Cruickshank, Marine Minerals Technology Center Associates Eric Gilman, Blue Ocean Institute Ellen Goethel, fishing and ocean education Dr. John Halsey, Michigan Department of State Dr. Dennis Heinemann, The Ocean Conservancy Dr. Mark Hixon, Oregon State University George Lapointe, Maine Department of Marine Resources Dr. Bonnie McCay, Rutgers University Dr. Steven Murray, California State University, Fullerton Dr. John Ogden, Florida Institute of Oceanography, University of South Florida Terry O'Halloran, tourism industry Lelei Peau, American Samoa Department of Commerce Dr. Walter Pereyra, Arctic Storm Management Group, Inc. Max Peterson, International Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies (retired) Gil Radonski, sport fishing Dr. James Ray, Oceanic Environmental Solutions, LLC Andrew Sansom, Texas State University, San Marcos Dr. Daniel Suman, University of Miami Kay Williams, Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council Jim Woods, Makah Tribe Robert Zales II, recreational fishing

* As of June 2006. (Note: The Committee membership listed here varies from the group that authored the initial set of recommendations delivered in May 2005. The membership of that group can be found in their report at http://www.mpa.gov.)

** three (3) vacancies to be filled

Federal Ex-Officio Representatives Marine Protected Areas Federal Advisory Committee

Department of Agriculture TBD

Department of Commerce Mary Glackin, Assistant Administrator for Program Planning and Integration, NOAA

Department of Defense/Navy Donald Schregardus, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Environment

Department of Defense/U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Joseph Wilson, South Atlantic Division

Department of the Interior Kameran Onley, Assistant Deputy Secretary, Office of the Secretary

Department of State Margaret Hayes, Director of Ocean Affairs

Department of Homeland Security TBD

Environmental Protection Agency Dr. Brian Melzian, Oceanographer/Project Officer

National Science Foundation Roxanne Nikolaus, Staff Associate, Division of Ocean Sciences

U.S. Agency for International Development Jacqueline Schafer, Deputy Assistant Administrator, Bureau for Economic Growth, Agriculture & Trade