Link to HHS Web Site
Healthy People 2020 logo

Healthy People Home > Healthy People 2020 > Secretary's Advisory Committee > Committee Members

Healthy People 2020 logo Secretary’s Advisory Committee Members

The members of the Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Health Promotion and Disease Prevention Objectives for 2020 are:


  • Jonathan Fielding, MD, MPH, MA, MBA, Director Public Health and Health Officer, Los Angeles County; Professor, Schools of Public Health and Medicine, University of California at Los Angeles; Los Angeles, CA.


  • Shiriki Kumanyika, PhD, MPH, Associate Dean for Health Promotion & Disease Prevention, Professor of Epidemiology, Department of Biostatistics & Epidemiology, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine; Philadelphia, PA.

Committee Members

  • W. Douglas Evans, PhD, Vice President for Public Health and Environment, RTI International; Washington, D.C.
  • Vincent Felitti, MD, Founding Chairman, Department of Preventive Medicine, Kaiser Permanente, San Diego; Clinical Professor of Medicine, University of California, San Diego; San Diego, CA.
  • Everold Hosein, PhD, Communication Advisor-Consultant, WHO Communicable Diseases Section, WHO Mediterranean Center for Vulnerability Reduction, WHO Geneva and Tunis; Co-Director and Adjunct Professor, Indiana University, Global Health Communication Research and Resources Center; Coordinator, WHO/NYU Integrated Marketing Communication for Behavioural Impact Summer Institute; Carmel, IN.
  • Lisa Iezzoni, MD, MSc, Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Associate Director, Institute for Health Policy, Massachusetts General Hospital; Boston, MA.
  • Abby King, PhD, Professor, Departments of Health Research & Policy and Medicine, Stanford Prevention Research Center, Stanford University School of Medicine; Stanford, CA.
  • Ronald Manderscheid, PhD, Director of Mental Health and Substance Use Programs, Global Health Sector, SRI International; Adjunct Professor, Department of Mental Health, Bloomberg School of Public Health, Johns Hopkins University; Rockville, MD.
  • David O. Meltzer, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, Departments of Medicine and Economics, and School of Public Policy Studies, The University of Chicago; Chicago, IL.
  • Eva Moya, LMSW, TB Division Director, United States-Mexico Border Health Association; ACSM Technical Consultant, Project Concern International; UTEP College of Health Sciences Interdisciplinary Health Sciences PhD Program Student; El Paso, TX.
  • Patrick Remington, MD, MPH, Professor, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health; Public Health Director, University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute; Madison, WI.
  • David Siegel, MD, MPH, Assistant Director, Health Care Operations and Programs, General Motors Health Services; Detroit, MI.
  • Adewale Troutman, MD, MPH, Director, Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and Wellness; Associate Professor, School of Public Health and Information Sciences, University of Louisville; Louisville, KY.

Content for this site is maintained by the Office of Disease Prevention & Health Promotion,
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Last revised: February 4, 2008