History of the NCO/IT R&D and the NITRD Subcommittee

Part 1. Names of the NCO

National Coordination Office for High Performance Computing and Communications (NCO/HPCC) was established in September 1992.

Per FY 1997 Blue Book the name of the NCO/HPCC was changed to the National Coordination Office for Computing, Information, and Communications (NCO/CIC).

Per FY 2001 Blue Book the name of the NCO/CIC was changed to the National Coordination Office for Information Technology Research and Development (NCO/IT R&D) effective October 2000.

National Coordination Office for Networking and Information Technology Research and Development effective July 1, 2005.

Part 2. NCO Directors

Donald A.B. Lindberg (September 1992 to March 1995)

John C. Toole (March 1995 to July 1997)

Sally E. Howe (Acting) (July 1997 to December 1997)

Kay Howell (December 1997 to September 2000)

Cita M. Furlani (October 2000 to November 2002)

David B. Nelson (December 2002 to April 2005)

Simon Szykman (May 2005 to January 2007)

Charles Romine, Acting (January 2007 to October 2007)

Christopher L. Greer (October 2007 to present)

Part 3. IWG/ IT R&D (1992 to February 2005) and NITRD Subcommittee (February 2005 to present)

FY 1991 (per FY 1992 Blue Book)

• Federal Coordinating Council for Science, Engineering, and Technology (FCCSET) which included the:

September 2007

- Committee on Physical, Mathematical, and Engineering Sciences (CPMES) which included the:
 - Subcommittee on High Performance Computing, Communications, and Information Technology (HPCCIT), chaired by David B. Nelson, DOE

FY 1992 (per FY 1993 Blue Book)

Same as FY 1991

FY 1993 (per FY 1994 Blue Book)

- FCCSET
 - CPMES
 - HPCCIT Subcommittee chaired by Donald A.B. Lindberg

FY 1994 (per FY 1995 Blue Book)

- National Science and Technology Council (NSTC)
 - Committee on Information and Communications (CIC)
 - HPCCIT Subcommittee chaired by Lindberg

FY 1995 (per FY 1996 Blue Book)

- NSTC
 - CIC
 - HPCCIT Subcommittee chaired by Lindberg till March 1995, then by John C. Toole who became NCO Director at that time

FY 1996 (per FY 1997 Blue Book)

- NSTC
 - Committee on Computing, Information, and Communications (CCIC)
 - Computing, Information, and Communications (CIC)
 Subcommittee chaired by Toole

FY 1997 (per FY 1998 Blue Book)

- NSTC
 - CCIC
 - CIC R&D Subcommittee chaired by Toole till July 1997 then by Sally E. Howe as Acting Director of the NCO till December 1997

FY 1998 (per FY 1999 Blue Book)

September 2007

- NSTC
 - Committee on Technology (CT)
 - Subcommittee on CIC R&D chaired by Kay Howell, NCO Director, as of December 1997

FY 1999 (per FY 2000 Blue Book)

Same as FY 1998

FY 2000 (per FY 2001 Blue Book)

- NSTC
 - Senior Principals Group
 - Interagency Working Group on IT R&D chaired by Ruzena Bajcsy, NSF/CISE Assistant Director, as of October 1999

FY 2001

- NSTC
 - CT
 - IWG/IT R&D chaired by Bajcsy

FY 2002

- NSTC
 - CT
 - IWG/IT R&D co-chaired by George Strawn, NSF/CISE Acting Assistant Director, and Cita Furlani, NCO Director, until May 2002, when Peter Freeman became NSF/CISE Assistant Director and succeeded Strawn as IWG Co-Chair

FY 2003

- NSTC
 - CT
 - IWG/IT R&D co-chaired by Peter Freeman, NSF/CISE Assistant Director, and Cita Furlani, NCO Director, until December 2002, when David Nelson became NCO Director and succeeded Furlani as IWG Co-Chair

FY 2004

NSTC

September 2007

- CT
 - IWG/IT R&D co-chaired by Peter Freeman, NSF/CISE Assistant Director, and David Nelson, NCO Director

FY 2005

- NSTC
 - CT
 - Subcommittee on Networking and Information Technology Research and Development (NITRD) succeeds IWG/IT R&D on February 14, 2005.
 - NITRD Subcommittee co-chaired by Peter Freeman, NSF/CISE Assistant Director, and David Nelson, NCO Director, until May 2005, when Simon Szykman became NCO Director and succeeded Nelson as NITRD Subcommittee Co-Chair

FY 2006

- NSTC
 - CT
 - NITRD Subcommittee co-chaired by Peter Freeman, NSF/CISE Assistant Director, and Simon Szykman, NCO Director

FY 2007

- NSTC
 - CT

 - July 2007, Jeannette Wing became NSF/CISE Assistant Director and succeeded Deborah Crawford as NITRD Subcommittee Co-Chair

FY 2008

- NSTC
 - CT
 - NITRD Subcommittee co-chaired by Jeannette Wing, NSF/CISE Assistant Director, and Charles Romine, Acting NCO Director, until October 2007, when Christopher Greer became NCO Director and NITRD Subcommittee Co-Chair

September 2007 4