Joint Subcommittee on Ocean Science and Technology (JSOST)

Membership List (as of January 11, 2007)

Dr. Dan Walker, OSTP, Co-Chair Dr. Richard Spinrad, DOC/NOAA, Co-Chair Dr. Margaret Leinen, NSF, Co-Chair

Arctic Research Commission John Farrell Executive Director

Department of Agriculture

Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service Louie Tupas National Program Leader for Global Change and Climate

Alternate: Meryl Broussard National Program Leader for Aquaculture and Animal Section

Department of Commerce National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Richard Spinrad Assistant Administrator for Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research

Steve Murawski Director of Scientific Programs and Chief Science Advisor, NOAA Fisheries Service

Alternate: Marie Colton Technical Director, National Ocean Service

Department of Defense U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Charles Chesnutt Institute for Water Resources

Alternate: Joan Pope Engineering Research and Development Center

Department of Defense

Office of Naval Research Frank Herr Head (Acting) Ocean, Atmosphere, and Space Department

Alternate: Melbourne Briscoe Director for Processes and Prediction Division

Department of Energy

Office of Science Jerry Elwood Director for Climate Change Research Division

Alternate: James Ahlgrimm Wind and Hyodropower Technologies Program

Department of Health and Human Services Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Michael McGeehin Director, Division of Environmental Hazards and Health Effects National Center for Environmental Health

Alternates: Lorraine Backer Team Lead, Division of Environmental Hazards and Health Effects National Center for Environmental Health

G. David Williamson Director, Division of Health Studies Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry

Department of Health and Human Services Food and Drug Administration

William Jones Chief, Policy Guidance Branch Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition

Department of Health and Human Services National Institutes of Health

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences Allen Dearry Associate Director for Research Coordination, Planning, and Translation

Department of Homeland Security U.S. Coast Guard Jonathan Berkson Marine Science Advisor

Department of the Interior Minerals Management Service James Kendall Chief Scientist

Department of the Interior

United States Geological Survey P. Patrick Leahy Associate Director, Geology

Alternate: John Haines Coordinator for Coastal and Marine Geology Program

Department of Justice Environmental and Natural Resources Division Kristen Gustafson Attorney Advisor, Law and Policy Section

Department of State David Balton Deputy Assistant Secretary for Oceans *Alternate*: Liz Tirpak Foreign Affairs Office for Ocean Science Policy **Department of Transportation Maritime Administration** Todd Ripley

Environmental Protection Agency George Gray Assistant Administrator Office of Research and Development

Alternate: Steven Hedtke National Health and Environmental Effects Laboratory Deputy Associate, Director for Ecology

Executive Office of the President

Council on Environmental Quality Gerhard Kuska Associate Director for Ocean and Coastal Policy

Executive Office of the President

Domestic Policy Council Elizabeth Sykes Deputy Associate Director

Executive Office of the President Office of Management and Budget Emily Woglom Program Examiner

Alternate: Kimberly Miller Program Examiner

Executive Office of the President Office of Science and Technology Policy Dan Walker Senior Policy Analyst

Joint Chiefs of Staff Robert Winokur Technical Director, Oceanographer of the Navy

Alternate: Commander James Kraska Oceans and Maritime Policy

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Science Mission Directorate Jack Kaye Director, Earth-Sun System Division Research and Analysis Program

Alternate: Eric Lindstrom Earth-Sun System Division Oceanography Program Scientist

National Science Foundation Margaret Leinen Assistant Director for Geosciences

Julie Morris Director, Division of Ocean Sciences

Alternate: H. Larry Clark Ocean Sciences Section Head

Marine Mammal Commission Tim Ragen Director of Science Programs

Smithsonian Institution Leonard Hirsch Senior Policy Advisor

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS

JSOST Interagency Working Group on Facilities (IWG-F) Robert Winokur, Acting Chair, JCS

JSOST Interagency Working Group on Harmful Algal Blooms, Hypoxia and Human Health (IWG-4H) Paul Sandifer, Co-Chair, NOAA

Lorrie Backer, Co-Chair, CDC

JSOST Interagency Working Group on Ocean and Coastal Mapping (IWG-OCM) John Haines, Acting Chair, USGS

JSOST Interagency Working Group on Ocean Observations (IWGOO) Richard Spinrad, Chair, NOAA

Melbourne Briscoe, Vice-Chair, Navy

Julie Morris, Vice-Chair, NSF

Lucia Tsaoussi, Vice-Chair, NASA

JSOST Interagency Working Group on Ocean Partnerships (IWG-OP) Mel Briscoe, Co-Chair, ONR

Eric Lindstrom, Co-Chair, NASA

Ocean Research and Resources Advisory Panel (ORRAP) Ellen Prager, Chair

Stephen Weisberg, Vice-Chair

Debra Hernandez, Vice-Chair

Subcommittee for Integrated Management of Ocean Resources (SIMOR) Mary Glackin, Co-Chair, NOAA

Chris Kearney, Co-Chair, DOI

Gerhard Kuska, Co-Chair, CEQ

Suzanne Schwartz, Acting Co-Chair, EPA

Subcommittee on Oceans Policy of the Global Environment Policy Coordinating Committee (Oceans Sub-PCC) David Balton, Chair

STAFF

Shelby Walker Project Manager

Co-Executive Secretaries

Emily Larkin GIS Specialist National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Laura Snow Science Assistant National Science Foundation