HENRY A. WAXMAN, CALIFORNIA, CHAIRMAN

EDOLPHUS TOWNS, NEW YORK
PAUL E. KANJORSKI, PENNSYLVANIA
CAROLIVN B. MALONEY, NEW YORK
ELIJAH E. CUIMMINGS, MARYLAND
DENNIS J. KUCINICH, OHIO
DANNY K. DAVIS, ILLINOIS
JOHN F. TIERNEY, MASSACHUSETTS
WM. LACY CLAY, MISSOURI
DIANE E. WATSON, CALIFORNIA
STEPHEN F. LYNCH, MASSACHUSETTS
BRIAN HIGGINS, NEW YORK
JOHN A. YARMUTH, KENTUCKY
BRUCE L. BRALEY, IOWA
ELEANOR HOLMES NORTON,
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
BETTY MCCOLLUM, MINNESOTA
JIM COOPER, TENNESSEE
CHRIS VAN HOLLEN, MARYLAND
PAUL W. HODES, NEW HAMPSHIRE
CHRISTOPHER S. WURPHY, CONNECTICUT
JOHN P. SARBANES, MARYLAND

JACKIE SPEIER, CALIFORNIA

ONE HUNDRED TENTH CONGRESS

Congress of the United States

House of Representatives

COMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT AND GOVERNMENT REFORM
2157 RAYBURN HOUSE OFFICE BUILDING
WASHINGTON, DC 20515-6143

MAJORITY (202) 225–5051 FACSIMILE (202) 225–4784 MINORITY (202) 225–5074

www.oversight.house.gov

August 5, 2008

The Honorable Michael B. Mukasey Attorney General U.S. Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20530

Dear Mr. Attorney General:

On July 16, 2008, the Justice Department informed me that the President asserted executive privilege over documents relating to the White House leak of the CIA identity of Valerie Plame Wilson that were subpoenaed by the Committee on June 16, 2008. I am writing to request additional information that would assist the Committee in evaluating this claim of privilege.

In particular, I ask that you provide a specific description of each document withheld from production on the basis of executive privilege. For each document being withheld, please include (a) the type of document; (b) the subject matter of the document; (c) the date, author, and addressee; and (d) the relationship of the author and addressee to each other. Please provide this information no later than August 22, 2008.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Henry A. Waxman

Chairman

cc: Tom Davis

Ranking Minority Member

TOM DAVIS, VIRGINIA, RANKING MINORITY MEMBER

DAN BURTON, INDIANA
CHRISTOPHER SHAYS, CONNECTICUT
JOHN M. MCHUGH, NEW YORK
JOHN L. MICA, FLORIDA
MARK E. SOUDER, INDIANA
TODD RUSSELL PLATTS, PENNSYLVANIA
CHRIS CANNON, UTAH
JOHN J. DUNCAN, JR., TENNESSEE
MICHAEL R. TURNER, OHIO
DARRELL E. ISSA, CALIFORNIA
KENNY MARCHANT, TEXAS
LYNN A. WESTMORELAND, GEORGIA
PATRICK T. MCHENRY, NORTH CAROLINA
VIRGINIA FOXX, NORTH CAROLINA
BILL SALI, IDAHO
JIM JORDAN, OHIO