Committee on Science, Democratic Caucus
About Us Subcommittees Our Legislation Our Investigations Tracking R and D Funding Press Room Hearings and Publications For Members and Citizens Comment Online

In This Section

Search the Web site

Comment Online
Get Email Updates
Get Press Updates
View Web Sitemap


printer friendly
Committee on Science and Technology

About the Committee on Science and Technology

Led by Representative Bart Gordon of Tennessee, the Members of the House Committee on Science and Technology are tenured, knowledgeable and committed to careful oversight of the Committee's far-reaching jurisdiction.

That jurisdiction includes all non-defense federal scientific research and development (R&D) at a number of federal agencies, including (either completely or in part): National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), Department of Energy (DOE), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), National Science Foundation (NSF), Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), U.S. Fire Administration, the U.S. Geological Survey, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

The Committee is responsible for overseeing research and development programs at all of these federal agencies. Our Members understand that scientific advancement is one of the keys to U.S. competitiveness in a global marketplace. Though federal budgets have not been kind to R&D in recent years, Committee Members are committed to increasing awareness of the importance of a sustained R&D commitment as well as responsible federal budgeting. We understand that productivity drives economic growth and new technology drives productivity. If we don't invest in tools that help our businesses and manufacturers compete, they can't create jobs.

The Committee was established in the wake of the Russian launch of Sputnik in 1957 and in the beginning it was primarily focused on space exploration. In 1959, the Committee became the first new permanent committee established in the House since 1892. Over the years, the Committee's jurisdiction grew to include almost all non-defense federal scientific research and development [ House Rule X(1)(o) ]:

  1. All energy research, development, and demonstration, and projects therefor, and all Federally owned or operated nonmilitary energy laboratories.
  2. Astronautical research and development, including resources, personnel, equipment, and facilities.
  3. Civil aviation research and development.
  4. Environmental research and development.
  5. Marine research.
  6. Commercial application of energy technology.
  7. National Institute of Standards and Technology, standardization of weights and measures, and the metric system.
  8. National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
  9. National Space Council.
  10. National Science Foundation.
  11. National Weather Service.
  12. Outer space, including exploration and control thereof.
  13. Science Scholarships.
  14. Scientific research, development, and demonstration, and projects therefor.

The Committee also has special authority to "review and study on a continuing basis laws, programs, and Government activities relating to nonmilitary research and development." [ House Rule X(3)(k) ]

2321 Rayburn Building Washington, D.C. 20515 | Phone: (202) 225-6375 Fax: (202) 225-3895 | Contact Us Online