MICHAEL BILIRAKIS, FLORIDA
JOE BARTON, TEXAS
FRED UPTON, MICHIGAN
CLIFF STEARNS, FLORIDA
PAUL E. GILMOR, OHIO
JAMES C. GREENWOOD, PENNSYLVANIA
CHRISTOPHER COX, CALIFORNIA
NATHAN DEAL, GEORGIA
STEVE LARGENT, OKLAHOMA
RICHARD BURR, NORTH CAROLINA
ED WHITFIELD, KENTUCKY
GREG GANSKE, IOWA
CHARILE NORWOOD, GEORGIA
BARBARA CUBIN, WYOMING
JOHN SHIMKUS, ILLINOIS
HEATHER WILSON, NEW MEXICO
JOHN SHIMKUS, ILLINOIS
HEATHER WILSON, NEW MEXICO
JOHN B. SHADEGG, ARIZONA
CHARLES "CHIP" PICKERING, MISSISSIPPI
VITO FOSSELLA, NEW YORK
ROY BLUNT, MISSOURI
TOM DAVIS, VIRGINIA
ED BRYANT, TENNESSEE
ROBERT L. EHRILCH, JR., MARYLAND
STEVE BUYER, INDIANA
GEORGE RADANOVICH, CALIFORNIA
CHARLES F. BASS, NEW HAMPSHIRE
JOSEPH R. HITTS, PENNSYLVANIA
MARY BONO, CALIFORNIA
GREG WALDEN, OREGON

ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH CONGRESS

U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Energy and Commerce Washington, DC 20515-6115

W.J. "BILLY" TAUZIN, LOUISIANA, CHAIRMAN

December 23, 2002

JOHN D. DINGELL, MICHIGAN
HENRY A. WAXMAN, CALIFORNIA
EDWARD J. MARKEY, MASSACHUSETTS
RALPH M. HALL, TEXAS
RICK BOUCHER, VIRGINIA
EDOLPHUS TOWNS, NEW YORK
FRANK PALLONE, JR., NEW JERSEY
SHERROD BROWN, OHIO
BART GORDON, TENNESSEE
PETER DEUTSCH, FLORIDA
BOBBY L. RUSH, ILLINOIS
ANNA G. ESHOD, CALIFORNIA
BART STUPPAK, MICHIGAN
ELIOT L. ENGEL, NEW YORK
TOM SAWYER, OHIO
ALBERT R. WYNN, MARYLAND
GENE GREEN, TEXAS
KAREN MCCARTHY, MISSOURI
TED STRICKLAND, OHIO
DIANA DEGETTE, COLORADO
THOMAS M. BARRETT, WISCONSIN
BILL LUTHER, MINNESOTA
LOIS CAPPS, CALIFORNIA
MICHAEL F. DOYLE, PENNSYLVANIA
CHRISTOPHER JOHN, LOUISIANA
JANE HARMAN, CALIFORNIA

DAVID V. MARVENTANO, STAFF DIRECTOR

The Honorable C.W. Young Committee on Appropriations H-218 Capitol Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable David R. Obey Committee on Appropriations 1016 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Young and Ranking Member Obey:

We are writing to oppose the inclusion of any language in the 2003 omnibus spending bill that would authorize the collection of fees by the Federal Trade Commission (FTC or Commission) to implement its proposed amendments to the Telemarketing Sales Rule. Although the goals of this request are laudable, it authorizes the FTC to conduct new activities. This new authorization must be subject to regular order and be debated in the appropriate committee of jurisdiction, the Committee on Energy and Commerce.

The Commission's proposed language would authorize the FTC to collect fees from telemarketers to fund a national do-not-call list. There is no question that abusive telemarketing is a problem that should be addressed. This authorization, however, may be controversial and the Committee on Energy and Commerce has not had an opportunity to review and appropriately evaluate the language that would authorize this new authority. Therefore, we respectfully request that you refrain from acting on any fee collection authorization during the consideration of the omnibus appropriations bill early next year.

December 23, 2002 Page 2

Thank you for your attention to this issue. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

Sincerely

Tauzin

Chairman

John D. Dingell Ranking Member